TEOTWAWKI

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)



#93:Henry Drake : On the Bridge

..............................................................................................................................................

Henry Drake was minding his own business when out of nowhere a voice said.“Hi…”

Henry’s heart almost stopped. He’d jumped a foot into the air. He hadn’t heard another voice in, he didn’t know how long. He’d lost track of time. It had definitely been a while though. He looked around to see who was talking to him and saw a plump purple dragon, hovering like a humming bird, nearby.


“What’s a matter?” the dragon said “you look like you’ve seen a ghost”

“Um, not a ghost, exactly.” Henry said “Are you from around here? I just arrived a while back. I haven’t met any of the locals yet.”

The Dragon was stunned. Then it started laughing. It almost fell out of the sky it was laughing so hard.

“Oh! That was a good one!“ It said “You got me there!”

Henry grinned. He had no idea what was happening but he was going to play along.

“You seen drones before?” the Dragon said “How do you like this one?”

“Looks good to me.” Henry replied. Drones? What drone? What the hell was it talking about drones. Wasn’t that a dragon, oh. A light dawned.

“I admit it’s a bit unusual.’ The Dragon continued. “The ArchMage had the plans in stock. He didn’t see any need to design something else. I agree. It looks kinda gnarly too. What do you think?”

“Oh no.” Henry said, ArchMage?. “If you already had the plans available there’s certainly no reason to do anything else. One off custom work is very expensive. Oh yeah. It looks eh, gnarly.”

Gnarly? One of his buddies kids had used that word, a LOT. The kid had been about eight. Who was he talking to anyway he wondered.

“That’s what I thought.” The dragon said “So how are you doing? Do you need anything? It looks like you have things pretty much under control.”

“I’m ok. “ Henry said. “All these trucks have everything I need, for now. Until someone comes along.”

“How long do you think that might be?” The dragon said “None of my business really, just curious.”

“I was thinking about that myself.” Henry told him. ” I’d have thought that they would be here by now. Lucky for me that I’ve got everything I need right here or I’d have died by now. If I leave I’d have to leave everything except what I could carry. I’d have to rough it. I’m not sure I want to do that.”

“Good point.” The Dragon replied. “You might not be aware, but the flood is a big one. Really big. Every river in the country is over it’s banks. You’d have to go a long, long ways to find land. I mean a LONG ways. Maybe fifty, a hundred, even two hundred miles. Maybe more I’m not sure. It would depend on which direction you go. If you go due south you’ll never see land for a thousand miles or more. The water is still rising.“

Henry was stunned. He had thought so, it seemed unseasonably cold too. He’d not wanted to admit it but it was. Early on he had walked to the end of the bridge and saw that the levee had overtopped. He’d seen the still water where there was farmland before. But hundreds of miles, a thousand? That was incredible.

“What about the towns?” Henry asked.

“Flooded.” The dragon replied “All the levees are overtopped, and I mean ALL the levees. They’re not just overtopped they’re underwater. Everything is underwater except for a few high buildings here and there, and some high bridges. They won’t last long.”

“Um, I think you might have made up my mind for me.” He said. “Fifty miles would be hard to do in a kayak, let alone more.”

The Dragon nodded. “Me and my Buds are kinda looking for folks like you, in case someone needs help. You haven’t seen anyone else have you?”

“Uh, no.” Henry said “I sure haven’t. I woke up here and I seem to be the only one on the bridge.”

“Yup, I think you are.” The dragon nodded. “You missed the boat somehow. It won’t be back for a while either, if ever. They got other fish to fry. Like I say, the whole middle part of the country is flooded. It’s starting to look a lot like an inland sea. The rain hasn’t stopped and the water is still rising.”

Henry just stared. ”The whole country?”

“Yup, the whole world actually, or it will be eventually.” The dragon continued “We have a regular Noah’s flood in progress. Everything but the highlands and mountains will be underwater soon if the rain doesn’t let up. There is no sign that it’s going to stop.“

Henry nodded.

“Oh, one other thing.” The dragon said.

Henry looked at the dragon in anticipation.

“You need this. Hold out your hand.” The dragon said.

“What?” Henry asked.

“Hold out your hand.” The dragon repeated. “I got something for you.”

The dragon produced a SCrystal pendant from somewhere.

“We call em Dragon Tears.” the little Dragon said proudly. “Put it on, around your neck. It’ll sting a little bit. Ignore that part.”

Why not? He stuck his head thru the loop. It fit pretty good. He normally didn’t wear any jewelry but this might - OUCH! Yup, It stung.

The cutest little black girl materialized out of thin air in front of him. She was sitting cross legged, Indian style as they’d said in his youth. She was floating on a little puffy white cloud in front of him so their heads were at about the same level.

“My name is Lucy, and I have some ‘splaining’ to do.” She stood up and waved at him, still floating in the air.

........................
The Next Episode Is
#94: Henry Drake :Deal
The Previous Episode was
#92: Anette - Shopping…
The First Episode was
# 1 : Prologue…
..............
Book One: SoulStone
..................................................
I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
My books on Amazon.
I engage in political commentary
and
generally talk about anything that strikes my fancy
on
Steemit
and
Sola

When watching the LameStream FakeNews Media

it's hard to tell what’s true or when they are lying isn’t it? It seems that they are more interested in influencing public opinion than they are reporting the facts.
SteemPunk Snail Image from Pixabay

Sort:  

Henry Drake reappeared, another one of the millions of victims forgotten and abandoned by the authorities; Fortunately, Shelby's hand and his technology have reached him to help him ... let's see what the strategy will be to help him; since, it is very far from the water tribe.

What, a blue dragon in this article?

it's a story..
not an article
there's a difference.

yes, thats right. I came from a steem article to your blog and did read some posts. Then I saw the cute little blue dragon and was pleased about ;)

i liked that bit, don't know why, nothing super special stood out in it, but it flowed so nice, yep, I liked it. Looks like Henry is going to have a little friend show him the ropes. I like that the people are so...I don't know...real feeling somehow. If I haven't mentioned it, Your a pretty damn good Author.

ah...well thank you.
I appreciate the kind words.

I could not remember if I ever let you know, I have enjoyed, and commented on a lot of your stories, but could not remember if I ever really said thanks. And with the way things have been getting busy for me I didn't want to forget.

I appreciate it.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Henry Drake reappeared, another one of the millions of victims forgotten and abandoned by the authorities; Fortunately, Shelby's hand and his technology have reached him to help him ... let's see what the strategy will be to help him; since, it is very far from the water tribe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60944.89
ETH 2608.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67