TEOTWAWKI

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)



#94: Henry Drake :Deal

.........................................................................................................................................................

They talked for a long time. Finally when Lucy had done all her ‘splaining she said. “I got to go. There’s another drone signaling that it found a survivor. I need to go ‘splain things to him now, just like I did for you. If you have any more question you might find the answer in the MagLib.”

She gave him a link then she was gone. The Dragon was still there, ‘the lights were on’ , but no one was home.

***

Henry stayed on that bridge for a long time. After smoking a few cigars and thinking about the situation he decided to consolidate his resources. The way he saw it everything on the bridge qualified. There was no one else there to say otherwise. He reviewed what he knew about SSmoke, absorbed a number of articles in the MagLib that Lucy had directed him to and got to work.


‘Never can have too much SSmoke.’ He didn’t have nearly enough. The only way he could get more SSmoke was to feed material that contained carbon to his dragon.

“It says right here” Henry said to himself ‘That the Avatar’s have a combination molecular furnace and SSmoke Forge built right into them.’

Huh. Sounds reasonable he thought. He read on. “Aerodynamics and stuff. mumble,mumble the Dragon should be unable to fly, but it did. mumble, numbers, equations, power available, wing span, etc, etc, mumble some more. It can’t replicate either.”

“Well damn” he thought “there went that idea.”

He continued to read “Many of the parts for the SmokeForge and the Furnace are produced by OmniForges. Since they are atomically precise they can not be emulated by SSmoke.”

sigh New words, new terms. One thing for sure was he wasn’t going to be able to make another Avatar. One Avatar one Dragon Tear it appeared. At least for the here and now. Good thing, he suspected, because it took his entire attention to teleoperate the one he had. No way could he control a large number of them. Ok. What else.

Suddenly it struck him like a sledge hammer between the eyes. What if he were doing this all wrong. He looked thru the MagLib and sure ‘nuff. there was the contact number for that cute little gal who had brought him the dragon.

He gave her a call.

“Hello?” she said. Quarter scale head and shoulders video hologram formed in front of him. It was a standard video call it appeared.

“Hi” Henry responded slow. He hadn’t expected video.

“Well HI there Sugah!” she seemed happy to see him. “How’s the bridge?”

“Bridge is fine” Henry said “I’m doing a little remodeling and I thought I’d ask for some advice.”

“What kind of advice honey?” she said.

“Can I buy some parts to make a bigger and more powerful Smoke Furnace/Forge?” He asked.

“I don’t know.” Lucy said “I’ll check. I’ll be right back.”

She vanished for a time then returned. “The ArchMage can help you. Nice to talk to you honey. Come see me if you get up his way. Bye now.”

Blink, Blink” Henry was dumbfounded. A white bearded guy had replaced the young girl, as if by magic. “Just wow.”

“Yeah I know” The ArchMage chuckled “ Lucy is a force of nature all to herself. What can I do for you? I hear you want to buy parts?”

“Oh.” Henry focused “Yeah I do. I want to build a bigger SmokeForge than what I have in the avatar ya’ll gave me. I have all this plastic, rubber, diesel and gasoline just sitting here.”

“Yes.” Shelby nodded. “I believe I understand. Let me get back with you on that. This is the first call we’ve had. I need to consult with my engineers. I think we can make things easier for you. Sub-Assemblies? hmmm.”

“How “bout a prebuilt machine?” Henry was always one to push. All they could do was say no. “a custom built machine. With options.”

Shelby looked Henry dead in the eye, and smiled “I think I like you. I do believe we’ll get along just fine. Tell me what you have in mind.”

Henry did. It took a long time. Finally he was done and Shelby spoke. “I’m not sure we can provide all of those options. I’m sure we can provide some of them though. I’ll consult with my design team.”

“How much will it cost?” Henry said

“If you have to ask you can’t afford it” Shelby said.

“Oh”. Henry replied.

“Just kidding” Shelby said. “I’ll get back to you tomorrow. Same time”.

***

Shelby had immediately called a meeting among the Maggi and the ’elders’. They were all to meet as soon as possible in Ernie's.

***

........................
The Next Episode Is
#95: Bananna Slug: Change of Plans…
The Previous Episode was
#93:Henry Drake : On the Bridge…
The First Episode was
# 1 : Prologue…
..............
Book One: SoulStone
..................................................
I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
My books on Amazon.
I engage in political commentary
and
generally talk about anything that strikes my fancy
on
Steemit
and
Sola

When watching the LameStream FakeNews Media

it's hard to tell what’s true or when they are lying isn’t it? It seems that they are more interested in influencing public opinion than they are reporting the facts.
SteemPunk Snail Image from Pixabay

Sort:  

Looks like Henry, got some wheels rolling, all them truck and Ssmoke materials available.

Well, total efficiency at the service of the victims ... to ensure that the victims with the right information and tools can help themselves; since, the distance of the attention centers are very large. This, at least, allows the victims to survive while a firm help arrives ... Shelby is developing an efficient emergency care system to help the victims.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65