"Q" Chapter 23

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



The Harder I work...the Luckier I am.

.......................................................................................................................................................................


GREENS
(years earlier)

The next morning, the Tribe fed the Greens at no charge, then briefed them on how to live in the swamp and said that they were welcome to stay, fish and hunt birds. Shooting large animals was not recommended since it would spoil before they ate it all. That was waste.

Waste not want not. So eat fish, eggs and fowl.

They were each welcome to work for the tribe about 20 hours a week. This was unpaid actually but they accumulated good will.

Richard thought that the tribe’s good could very well be vital to their survival. He was right.

Charlie ran errands, pulled weeds, took out the trash and pretty much anything that he was asked to do.

Shirley waited tables and cooked. She was actually a pretty good cook, she had done so professionally before Charlie was born.

Richard was a natural mechanic. There wasn’t much that he could fix. Most times after he took the offending mechanism apart it worked better than it ever had after he had put it back together.

That took up about one day a week. Other than that they were pretty much free to do what ever they wanted to. The Chief had given each one of them a small badge..

Wear this where it can be easily seen.” he informed them.

This will let the Tribe know that although they don’t personally know who you are that you have my permission to be on our land.” The Chief said.

Folks who do NOT have one of my badges seem to run into trouble. Beats me why. I’m sure it’s just bad luck. Sometimes fatally so.” He concluded.

The Greens looked at the Badge in their hands, then they looked at the Chief as he walked away. Then they looked at each other.

Bad luck huh?” Charlie was a little bit pale.

Fatal?” Shirley was queasy.

The better we prepare ourselves the better luck we will have” Richard told his family. "THIS is good preparation. Perhaps we’ll be lucky. Perhaps our luck will be good.



Next Chapter
Previous Chapter
The Beginning

Sort:  

upvoted to keep you motivated !

Hope you enjoyed my rant! (the 'freedom isn't free' one)

I'm finding this entertaining, and frustrating, because I couldn't get from chapter 8 to chapter 9, but had to skip to 12.

It's a good read.

Thanks!

Edit: I had to go backwards from this post to the beginning, then got to 8, then had to go backwards from here again to 12, and etc... A good idea to link the chapters, but not perfectly executed.

Imma do it to "The Wasteland", which I have written 6 chapters of so far. Thanks for the idea!

Thanks!

I take it this means you're not gonna fix the links in the chapters themselves? Gonna hafta add a few to the ToC, since it only goes to 20.

after they 'time out' I can't fix them.
I reposted chapter 8..
I'll add a TOC update every ten chapters.

I had no problem in reading every single episode. All I do is change the number at the end of the url ((https://steemit.com/fiction/@everittdmickey/q-chapter-23))

Thanks for sharing

Ur tittle remember this ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99