TEOTWAWKI

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)



# 9:Wilbur - Ernie's

..............................................................................................................................................

.............

The sight of Ernie’s cafe almost brought tears to Wilbur’s eyes when he saw it. He was transported in time back to his childhood. If it had a bike rack in front it would have been perfect.

“Reckon anyone will mind if I leave my boat outside?” he asked Shelby as they settled in for a landing on the sidewalk in front.

“It’ll be just fine” Shelby said. He could relate to what Wilbur was experiencing. He’d had similar feelings the first time he saw Ernie's himself.

Ernie, somehow, had managed to dig up something more than just omelettes. His breakfast steak was to die for. Then again Wilbur was hungry enough that eating a truck tire might have been appealing.

That would have been no more surreal than the situation in which he found himself. He was sitting at a table with four, count em FOUR men with no legs who were totally unconcerned by that little detail. Two of them were the biggest men he had ever seen in his life. Even without legs he just knew they could snap his spine like a match stick with one hand if they got the urge. The two seemed to be chain-dogs for an older oriental woman, who spoke with a West Texas accent. Wilbur was from West Texas so he knew.

It was just so weird, so he concentrated on the breakfast steaks. They were familiar.

“These are really good” he said “Just passing through are you or are you going to hang around for a while? I hope you stay. This could be my favorite best place to eat!”

The Dragon Lady smiled. He was handling it well. There were several ways to deal with catastrophe. Humor was by far the best. Over the course of the next few hours they brought him up to speed.

“So that’s the way it is” Shelby finished. “You know just about all that we do now.”

“Except for the source of your alien technology” Wilbur teased.

Shelby got a surprised look on his face. “That’s right. I haven’t given you a Dragon Tear. How delinquent of me. Here”

Shelby handed Wilbur a gold necklace with diamonds on it that must have been worth a kings ransom. The look on Wilbur’s face was comical.

“Wait. I mean. I was only kidding. I was trying to be funny!” he stuttered.

“Nevertheless” Shelby said “It’s yours, as well as the drone of your choice. You can pick anyone that you want as soon as you Don the Dragon Tear. With the dragon tear you can use the technology. Some, like young Cody, have discovered new things. We like new things. We welcome your help.”

“You’re serious?” Wilbur said “ That thing must be worth thousands of dollars!”

“Oh I’m sure that it is worth far more than that, possibly millions or even billions.” Shelby assured him. “They can’t be made by any contemporary technology. It’ll sting some when you first put it on, when it keys to your DNA after that it’ll be fine. Soon you won’t even notice that you are wearing it.”

........................
The Next Episode will be
#10: Naomi - Bad Times Are Coming
The Previous Episode was
# 8: Wilbur - Looks Like We Have Live One…
The First Episode was
# 1 : Prologue…
..............
Book One: SoulStone
..................................................
I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
My books on Amazon.
I engage in political commentary
and
generally talk about anything that strikes my fancy
on
Steemit
and
Sola

When watching the LameStream FakeNews Media

it's hard to tell what’s true or when they are lying isn’t it? It seems that they are more interested in influencing public opinion than they are reporting the facts.

Sort:  

"it's hard to tell what’s true or when they are lying isn’t it?"
are their lips moving?

Waaaaaw! So sure I made the right choice by following you sir. First of all the site of that artistic picture really attracted me alot , really love it. Secondly, I took my time to go through this awesome write -up, and I must say it is splendid. Well organised and chronologicaly arranged. Mental creativity is one of the most difficult task one can embark on especially when it involves creative writing but you made it a cake walk, that's the power of highly intellectual people like you. Can't wait to read the next episode. Great and lovely masterpiece sir... Kudos!

The steempunk snail grabed my intrest. Glad i read you message to. Spot on.

I think Wilbur handled that quite well, free food, I think I'd think food first, then story if I was real hungry also. As a tinkerer, Wilbur is going to find himself in hog heaven soon.

imagine living off fish and frogs for (indeterminate period of time).
fish once or twice a week is oK
but every meal every day. ...for weeks or months?

yeah..Wilber loves to tinker...(heh...yeah he does)

I lived off the land for a summer in Alaska. Fish runs made it trivially easy not to starve, but as you note, a hankerin' for red meat develops.

I spent a day hunting squirrels. The Pine Squirrels where I'm from are between the size of mice and rats, but damn tasty. Took about a dozen to make a decent meal.

Back to fish.

After about a week of that, hankered for red meat again. Didn't have enough ammo for a dozen squirrels, was down to three rounds for the Nylon 66. Found a ginormous porcupine though. Looked bigger than 100 squirrels.

Took three rounds to the noggin and kept on going, so I whacked it with the butt of the plastic .22.

After the butt broke off, I finished the job with the barrel, as I should have done in the first place.

You ever skin a porcupine?

It is a delicate process.

Well, porcupines eat the cambium (the inner bark) of evergreens, which is where turpentine comes from, and that's what they taste like. I tried a half dozen ways to eat that porcupine, but just couldn't choke it down.

I went back to fish. The cat I kept with me, though, loved it. It took Woolly Bear a week or so, but he ate every scrap of that nasty critter. About how long it took me to get all the quills worked out after the skinning.

To this day I don't eat much salmon.

I must read your next episode to finish locating the story. I Understand that Wilbur is getting involved with people of a very high technological level and personality very different; but he is being amazed by the power of all the characters including Shelby. I think Wilbur is going to be manipulated so that he executes actions that are not very correct or easy. They have been preparing Wilbur. Let's see what happens ...

you should read book one to get up to speed on shelby..and the . others.

OK I will do it.

hey so nice I really like your post! Thanks for it! I actually wrote my 2nd part of my introduceyouself and I write about that I went to jail because of cryptos... lets make steemit together to a better place with our content! I would like to read a bit more about you and maybe do you have some more pictures? Maybe you upvote me and follow me swell as I do? https://steemit.com/counterfeit/@mykarma/2-jail-review-counterfeit-euro-speeeeending-time

in the wait for the next episode

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67629.08
ETH 3788.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56