Ride The Lightning

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Part 23: Legs and SmokePole Returned


....................................................................................................................................................................................

“Mr. Allen. I’m here to return your personal effects.” A pretty serious lady had entered my room. I had just finished getting dressed as best as I could. I still needed my “stuff” before I left…my legs for example. I was using any excuse… NOT to think about the stone hidden in the Amulet, or calling those wimmin.

Yup…she was right. That was my stuff. I could see my legs and my SmokePole from here…and other things. Legs would be handy. It’s hard to get around without them, and people looked at me funny. The medics had removed them earlier when they tucked me into bed.

“These are your belongings?” She asked.

“Yes ma’am. So it would appear.” I told her. ”Not all that stuff is mine though.”

“We’ve included the personal effects of your deceased friend. You have the best claim. There is no one else to give it to.” She explained.

“Oh…” I said. I suppose that made sense. Mighty honest of them. Some places would just take it, and sell it later, perhaps at an auction. ”By the way, what about Chris’s body. Will there be a funeral?”

“His body has been cremated.” She said. “That would be standard procedure for bodies for whom we could find no next of kin. We had nothing to go on with him. No identification.”

“He’s been cremated?” I repeated. I’d dithered too long before calling his sister. I’d deprived her of any choice about Chris's body. One more grievous sin on my head. In my defense..I’d been mostly unconscious until just recently.

“Yes..we have the ashes in a nice urn for you if you want to take it. If you’ll thumbprint here then please?” she pointed to a spot on her electronic device.

After she left I finished getting dressed. I felt much better wearing my legs and in possession of my smoke pole. I also discovered what kind of weapon Chris had.

Here come ‘da JUDGE!


To Be Continued

.
The Next Episode is
Part 24: Phone Home…
The Last episode was
Part 22 : I Hate to deal with crying women.…
the first episode was
Part 1 : Winter Storm


I'm

@everittdmickey
I surf the net, find the GOOD stuff.
and write posts about it
So you don't have to.
I also write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
This book is available from Amazon on Kindle
If you can’t wait to finish it on Steemit
I have other books on Amazon
AND
I comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

great working,nice writing and good posting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55885.64
ETH 2358.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31