Ride The Lightning

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Part 22 : I Hate to deal with crying women.


....................................................................................................................................................................................




I slept relatively peacefully then I woke up.

The whisky worked. It dulled the dreams. I recalled having very strange and disturbing dreams but the whisky had buffered them. I could barely remember them. They quickly faded from memory when I awoke, much like normal.

Even so, I did NOT want to think about what they implied.…so I thought about something else.

The calls I needed to make. One to Chris’s Sister and the other to my family….

I really needed to..

I really ought to…

………..nooooooope!

I purely hate to hear women cry. I’d rather face enemy fire. I wasn’t ready for it yet.

Instead…I dithered..and considered the nested ThumBrains hanging from the torque around my neck. I examined them. I removed the one that Chris had given me and held it in my hands. I directed a thought to it .

The DiamondFog that the ThumBrain’s case was made of squirmed and moved…the alien stone from the head of the alien cat girl was revealed. It was beautiful. I stared into it’s depths . I was almost mesmerized by it’s beauty. It was unlike anything that I’d very seen before.

Abruptly I jerked my head and looked away. I felt that if I stared to long into those infinite depths I’d loose my soul.

Enough of that.

Another thought to the ThumBrain and the Stone was concealed. I’d consider this in depth later….when I got out of the infirmary.

The self imposed obligation to make the calls weighed heavily upon me. How else could I waffle and dither? Never put off something today that you can put off tomorrow…I always say.

Which…thinking about waffling, dithering and …eh… ducking…brought to mind the last time I was doing some serious ducking…in a gunfight at the OK Corral. I mean the truck parking lot...ok?

I’d done a LOT of shooting. Surely I was short on ammo. YES! I needed more AMMO!

Safe topic.

I could think about my shortage of ammo with no fear of live crying wimmen or dead wimmen that couldn’t cry cause their head had disintegrated into powder.

I’d order some more ammo!

I did…it only took about half an hour.

Now what else could I do to avoid making those calls?

Come to think of it…since I’d ordered that ammo for my Smoke Pole. Where was my smoke pole?

AHA!

A new topic of dither. A serious one. I certainly did NOT want to loose my smoke pole. It was a gift from my family. No way would I ever permanently part with it voluntarily.

I called the nurse.


To Be Continued
The Next Episode is
Part 23: Legs and SmokePole Returned…
The Last episode was
Part 21 : Delay Placing a Call…
the first episode was
Part 1 : Winter Storm

I'm

@everittdmickey
I surf the net, find the GOOD stuff.
and write posts about it
So you don't have to.
I also write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
and comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66201.27
ETH 3279.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70