SoulStone

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



#86: Rain

..............................................................................................................................................

It had been an exceptionally wet year. Point of fact it had been an exceptionally wet decade. It rained more than it ever had in living memory. The water rose almost to flood stage. People were getting nervous. Some had even began laying sandbags, re-enforcing levees and building them higher just in case.

The sky began to darken as rainclouds piled up in the sky, again. Thunder rumbled in the distance and in no time at all it was raining, again. It wasn’t a heavy driving rain so much as a “soaker” as the farmers would say.

(on the way home)

Shelby said “Elvira?”

“Yes Master” she replied.

“What’s the weather forecast?” he asked her.

“Rain. “ She replied almost instantly. “Rain, rain, and more rain. Rain for the foreseeable future. The weather casters are expressing some dismay about it. They seem to find the situation alarming.”

“Oh…well that doesn’t surprise me. They’ll always ‘viewing something with alarm’. That’s what they do. That’s not the point though. It’s not gonna dry out any time soon huh?” he asked.

The he blinked. “ Ummm. What’s with this ‘Master’ thing? I’ve been meaning to ask you about that. ”

Elvira asked in return “ Do you like it?”

Shelby replied “Um. Well yeah. Actually I do. I feel a little bit guilty about liking it but I do.”

Elvira said “No reason at all for you to feel guilty. There’s just you and me here. I was sorting through some of your memories the other day and I come across “I Dream of Genie.” You used to watch it when you were a child. You liked it.”

Shelby conceded “Oh yeah. I certainly did. I had a serious adolescent crush on Genie.”

Elvira said “I thought so. So think me as your Genie. The Genie and I are similar in a lot of ways come to think of it.”

Shelby replied while looking at the dragon avatar sitting at the bow. “Except Genie didn’t have a scales...or a tail, or wings...or....”

“I GET it!” Elvira said in exasperation.

“Other than that you are almost identical” Shelby said.

..........................
The Next Episode is
#87: Food…
The Previous Episode was
#85: I'm not a MAGE…
the First episode was
#1 : Prologue

I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
I have books on Amazon too.
Sometimes I also comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

I don't know Elvira seems to have a bit more going for her topside. Not quite as, I don't know how to put it and will just have to cause a ruckus, blonde. :-} (yes stereotypes are bad, me bad)

now you're in trouble.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60907.24
ETH 3249.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45