SoulStone

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



#85: I'm not a MAGE!

..............................................................................................................................................

“WHAT?” Chad exclaimed “ I’m not a Mage.”

“For our purposes you are.” Kamiko told him.

“Might as well get used to it son.” Shelby told him. “I had to.”

“But..but..but..” Chad stuttered.

“Only a Mage could do what you did to defeat Viper” Kamiko replied.

“But..but..but...that was mostly Akatsuki’s doing.” he said.

“Exactly right.” Kamiko replied. “only a mage or an arch-mage has a Daemon. You two are the Maggi.”

“But...but...but ....” he stuttered again.” Everyone in the room has a dragon. How am I special?”

“It’s not those dragons that are special.” Elvira said. “it’s me”

“...and me.” Akatsuki agreed.

“That’s correct” Kamiko said. “Elvira and Akatsuki are people. They each just happen to share a brain with another person, that would be you and Shelby. THEY control the robots not you. Not like the rest of us do. Everyone else’s little robots are just that... robots. Tele-operated robots to be sure...but just robots. Elvira and Akatsuki’s robots are avatars in actuality and not just in name.”

She thought for a minute then said “Just guessing but I’m wondering about the reason Elvira and Akatsuki came to life. Perhaps it was ‘death shock’? You and Shelby died or as near enough it makes no difference...then came back to life didn’t you?”

Chad nodded his head. “Death shock? Well yeah. I did, come to life, I guess you could say, on an autopsy table. That was shocking. Cold too. I was naked.”

Everyone chuckled at that.

“No one else did that?” Chad asked.

“Nope.” Captain said “Marc and I came close, but no cigar.”

Marc and Kamiko nodded agreement.

“So where does that leave us, you might wonder?” Kamiko said.

“It leaves us with the Maggi, who can directly control the nanites from the SoulStone. None of the rest of us can do that. We can only use the neuro-loops to operate the toys that you two make.” She answered her own question.

“So let’s get to making shall we?” Shelby said.

“Well when you put it like that. “Chad replied “ it makes sense. What do we need? What top priority?”

“The priority is bottom tier first then the second. Work your way up.” Kamiko said “ We need the bottom tier to be independent from outside control first. We need to make Flint Island self sustaining. Any ideas?”

“As a matter of fact I do" Chad grinned.

.............................
The Next Episode is
#86: Rain
The Previous Episode was
#85: Welcome Aboard…
the First episode was
#1 : Prologue
.............................
I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
I have books on Amazon too.
Sometimes I also comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

Looks like Chad took that a bit better than I thought, he is now officially in ssmoke heaven.

It is very nice to read the excellent poem, thank you for posting the poem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59026.89
ETH 2655.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50