“Q”

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Chapter 63: May I See It?


.......................................................................................................................................................................................

Shaniqua asked. "Up close I mean?”

“Certainly dear” Sally said.

Shaniqua caught the ‘dear’. Sally was from the South. Southern ladies have their own forms of denigration. ’Bless your heart’ did NOT mean what those ignorant of their ways thought it meant. Shaniqua hoped that when Sally said ‘dear’ to her it wasn’t something like that. Shaniqua was taking quite a liking to Sally. Roy too.

She didn’t say anything about it. They engaged in common ’small talk’ as they left the ‘sky box’ and proceeded down the stairs to the ground floor. From there Roy and Sally ushered her past the ring to what might be called ‘back stage’.

It wasn’t . It was a very nice, VERY large, multi family dwelling. It might have been an apartment building in it’s own right.

“You know.” Shaniqua said to herself, she thought.” I was just looking for something like this.”

“What was that dear?” Sally said " I didn’t hear what you said.”

“Oh..I’m sorry.” Shaniqua apologized” I didn’t realize that I was speaking aloud. I have been looking for a place to live. I currently live in a back room in the newspaper building.”

Sally looked at Roy. Roy shrugged.

“She IS a news paper person” Sally said with a smile.

“But I’m reformed!” Shaniqua said. "I’m trying to do better!”

Roy frowned slightly. Then they stepped out onto the rear deck and the subject was dropped.

Shaniqua took a DEEP breath. "Oh..it’s so much more impressive close up. It looks like a stairway to heaven.”

“Well it kinda is.” Roy said. "But we installed an escalator inside.”

“Would you like to ride to the top?” Sally asked "You’re not afraid of heights are you?”


Next Chapter
Previous Chapter
The Beginning

I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
I have other books on Amazon.
Sometimes I also comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

You win, I'm hooked. We need people like you, who aren't afraid to write and know how to write. Are you sure that you are a trucker? You're more like an old cowboy poet or a renaissance bard.

I was a trucker.
I'm retired.
You're thinking of my GrandFather..
.he was a cowboy poet.

oh nice. My coffee is a little on the cool side however, but hey, its weekend!

sorry for reading late dude was busy :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61046.72
ETH 2926.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69