TEOTWAWKI

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)



#127 : Melvin's Marauders -Tired of Tex-Mex

..............................................................................................................................................

Carlos and Karlee, Melvin and the TigerMom had just finished lunch. It had been delicious. It wasn’t TexMex.

“Since the Banana Slug rescued us I’ve eaten at Ernie's quite often.” Carlos said. “I must say that it’s quiet good. I’m familiar with Tex-Mex but Ernie has his own unique technique and talent.”

“I hear a ‘yeah but’ coming.” Melvin muttered.

“That you do.” Carlos grinned. “I have kin who are Cajun and I’ve also traveled extensively. Karlee’s parents hail from a small island near Indonesia in the Indian Ocean. We’ve discovered that there are other forms of cooking than MidWestern or Mexican Food.”

“NO!” Melvin said. Playing along. Ignoring for the moment that he'd just had a meal that was NOT Tex-Mex.” How can such a miracle be?“

Tiger-mom seemed to be VERY interested.

Inexplicably Karlee changed the subject.

“Old Weldon, bless his heart is my horticultural competitor, or rather I am his. He was first. He grows a bland fare, potatoes, tomatoes, cucumbers, beans and lettuce. He also grows a lot of corn, and wheat . I don’t think he grows any rice, bamboo, coconut, mango or taro root. I’d be amazed if he grew any bok toy. It’s been forever since I’ve seen any seafood such as eel, crawfish or squid.” Karlee said “I don’t believe that I’ve eaten any Asian dishes that I haven’t cooked myself since the Banana Slug rescued us. I miss it.”

“Other people might miss it too.” TigerMom actually spoke aloud NOT the Avatar.

“I propose we open an Oriental Restaurant to compete with Ernie. We’ll provide the labor to grow the food in your barge-farm.” TigerMom said. “I’ll do the cooking until you’re able to help if you want to.”

Melvin was relieved. To tell the truth he was actually getting a bit tired of sailing the seven seas so to speak. He had wondered how he would broach the subject of ‘beaching’ to the TigerMom or the Marauders. Now it was a done deal and it wasn't his fault. Some of the kids might have argued with Melvin, a little bit. NONE of them argued with TigerMom.

“Yes!” Melvin said perhaps a bit too forcefully. “We can do that. Let’s start right away.”

The Skirmishes, naturally were very happy. To give them credit they had a business plan all mapped out.

“That’s where Fluffy comes in” Carlos grinned. “We need it to capture a feral barge or several. The cargo doesn’t really matter, we want the barge, but carbon would naturally be a bonus. Have Fluffy convert any cargo into SSmoke. I understand that it’s a Fabricator, not just a Forge. THAT will come in really handy. Some things just can’t be made from SSmoke.”

That set them off. The three of them, Carlos, Karlee and Melvin engaged in an intense discussion. They considered the business plan, strategy and tactics. Occasionally a particular insightful remark was provided by the TigerMom.

........................
The Next Issue Is
#128: Henry Drake - Full Throttle…
The Previous Episode was
#126: Henry Drake - Hurt Her Like She Hurt Me…
The First Episode was
# 1 : Prologue…
..............
Book One: SoulStone
..................................................
I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
My books on Amazon.
I engage in political commentary
and
generally talk about anything that strikes my fancy
on
Steemit
and
Sola

When watching the LameStream FakeNews Media

it's hard to tell what’s true or when they are lying isn’t it? It seems that they are more interested in influencing public opinion than they are reporting the facts.
SteemPunk Snail Image from Pixabay

Sort:  

Some important agreements or business are given through a good lunch or dinner, this agreement was no exception ... Good decision TigerMom, it is important to achieve family and community stability, which allows you to straighten their lives in the middle of the tragedy lived ... The business around the Banana Slug and the Groats begins to expand.

When you get that second gas station or restaurant then you know you have a growing vibrant and alive community.

or a stoplight.
but in this case I don't think that applies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52