TEOTWAWKI

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)



#43: Banana Slug - Bar-B-Q

..............................................................................................................................................

The Bar-B-Que was being held in a formerly open field rather than in a building. Applause came from all around when the Maggi were seen to approach. A formation of bottles, mugs and glasses came sailing through the night air, suspended by SSmoke. The Maggi, as well as the Orcs helped themselves to liquid refreshment.

“WaterTribe!” Marc hollered toward the source, referring to their vessel and the quality of it’s crew. Not a one of them had a reverse gear. There just wasn’t any quitting to them.

“WaterTribe!, Tribe!-Tribe!, WaterTribe!, Tribe!-Tribe!, WaterTribe!, Tribe!-Tribe!, the return call wafted back over the buzz of conversation. Marc thought he heard the sound of drums. It was probably some just pounding on a table.

“That’s new.” Shelby said to Marc “WaterTribe huh?”

“Yessir. Trying to build a little unit cohesion” Marc replied.

“Good Man” Shelby replied. “I should have thought of that myself.”

“We’ve saved you some” the Dragon Lady, wearing an apron and holding a fearsome fork, said from near the grill “just a tiny bit. I had to beat them off.”

Shelby did a double take. What did he just see? Did he see a dragon wearing an apron cooking steaks? No. That could NOT be. It was a fabrication of his fevered imagination. He shook his head and blinked his eyes and looked again. Ah, it was indeed Kamiko Akiyama, the dragon lady. She appeared as she always had, as an elderly Japanese woman.

Had she spun an illusion using SSmoke? That would definitely be possible. He’d have to ask her about that later. It was appropriate to the occasion. He suspected it was going to get somewhat drunk out that night.

He said “We hurried the best we could, what’s that, Venison?“

Not much was said for some time. The beer, and the feast held their full attention.

............

Eventually they were at the cigars and brandy stage. Some were seated, some were floating , apparently unsupported in midair, as was their wont in an SSmoke environment, time for the after action report.

“Oh it was AWESOME” Tommy said

“Yeah” Sally chimed in “I got a deer.“

“Phew” Tommy said’

“Phew, Phew!”as the blow by blow description, complete with sound effects was depicted in full animation.

The ‘mighty hunters” were recounting the tale of the hunt much like young men had around the campfire of their peoples for thousands of generations. Shelby let them get it out of their system, in fact he encouraged them. This was what it was all about.

This was Family. Perhaps they were larger in number than a typical city dwelling nuclear family. Perhaps they were of many races and not connected by blood. That did NOT matter. They were family. Perhaps they were a Tribe.

The Orc brothers, lately called the HugThugs, were grinning from ear to ear. They were protectors of the family.

This was their reason to exist.

........................
The Next Episode Is
#44: Banana Slug - Coffee Briefing…
The Previous Episode was
#42: Naomi -CatFish on RollerSkates…
The First Episode was
# 1 : Prologue…
..............
Book One: SoulStone
..................................................
I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
My books on Amazon.
I engage in political commentary
and
generally talk about anything that strikes my fancy
on
Steemit
and
Sola

When watching the LameStream FakeNews Media

it's hard to tell what’s true or when they are lying isn’t it? It seems that they are more interested in influencing public opinion than they are reporting the facts.
SteemPunk Snail Image from Pixabay

Sort:  

She is old, maybe she was trying to show Shelby a little bit of what was to come, or his dragon shard was showing him what could be when the time came, with you I really have no clue, I mean who would-a thought a boy, an old man, and an electric eel could have such an impact on their little family.

We are watching a family unit, sharing before facing a challenge or a big battle: Shelby, The Maggi, The Orcs, Marc, Sally, Tommy, Dragon Lady ... Everything looks very calm in the Banana Slug. The assistants of Shelby, like Marc, must help him to maintain the motivation in the inhabitants of the Island; since I think it's going to be fundamental when the moment of confrontation arrives ...Shelby has other problems to solve...

wow this is really creative mickey,
love the mood of the story and the feeling you create.
I could really feel the mood and the characters!

Have you ever thought about writing more than such a great block.
I really like your style of writing - could imagine a lot people out here do :)

Keep up the good work,
cant wait to read more of you,
and also the images are appealing,

best greets from germany :)

Dammit! Now I'm hungry for BBQ. Nothing for it but to fire up the slow cooker and boil up some veggies and kielbasa. Don't have no BBQ sauce =/

I'm back!!! What I missed on Steemit most was your stories. Watertribe! Echo can sometimes sound scary. I'm glad Marc was not freaked out

where you been?

My Samsung tablet got bad. I had to get a new one with every penny I've made so far.
Currently in serious need of SP delegation to help me regain my lost bucks.
Anywhere, I hope everything has been smooth down here

ah...well good luck.

Thank you ✋✋

You are not active on steemchat. Would you delegate some? For a fee?

I was thinking about that....
but I don't know how..
If I could I would...in fact I'd give you a better price than BlockTrades

steemchat is one of the MANY things about steem that I haven't figured out...yet.
might do that one day.
haven't yet.

Great Post.

Was curious, Deep dude!

Lovely post sir thanks for bringing this to steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67104.23
ETH 3509.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.21