TEOTWAWKI

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)



#140 :Dinosaur

..............................................................................................................................................

A few days after the Fish Sale Chad floated into the Wizard’s keep. He’s serious about something.

“Shelby” he said “I’ve got something that’s buggin’ the hell out of me. Would you mind taking a look at it.”

“Sure” Shelby replied. “whatcha’ got?”

Chad opened a display in Augmented reality.

“Lookit this.” he said

“Have you ever seen anything like this before?” he asked.

“Nasty looking little guy isn’t he?” Shelby examined the display. He rotated the strange creature in front of him so that he could see it from all sides. “I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything like it.”

“Me neither.” Chad said “It’s one of the ‘trophy fish’ that Henry and Wilbur sold at auction when the Sue came in. I thought something was odd about it so I bought it. I had to pay a pretty Groat for it too. There were a lot of other’s bidding for it. It’s not little either.”

“Maybe we should call the other’s in here to consult.” Shelby said. “It’s got me curious. Maybe call Henry and Wilbur too?”

“Good plan.” Chad said “I’ll set up a VR conference.”

.............
Sometime later

“I bet you’re wondering why I called you all together like this.” Shelby said. He loved that line.

“Lookit this.” he displayed the beastie in question.

The DragonLady took a deep breath when she saw it. It must have meant something to her. The other’s expressed interest.

Henry said ”Oh. I remember that bastard.”

“Me too” Wilbur replied. “We liked to NEVER have landed that thing. It fought like a demon!”

“That’s right.” Chad replied “It’s one of the Wall Hanger’s you sold at auction there at the end after everything else had sold. That was a pretty smart idea ya’ll had getting Wall Hanger’s. If what I paid for this thing was any indication you made a mint off those.”

“Yup.” Henry replied. It had been his idea. “We got ten times more per pound for the Wall Hangers than we did anything else. I’m tempted to take the boat out just for fighting fish.”

“Might not be a bad idea” Joshua replied. “Hmmm. That looks familiar”

“Dinosaur” Cody said “That’s a dinosaur.”

Everyone perked up at that.

“Devil Fish.” The Dragon Lady said in an odd voice. “There are ancient legends of such.”

“Right off hand do you remember where you found it?” Chad asked Henry.

“ Oh yeah. It’s seared into my memory.” Henry replied “Seared. It was the last one we caught just before we saw the sea monster.

Total silence.

SeaMonster?” Captain said. “Did you say SeaMonster?

Apparently Shelby hadn’t passed on any details about the ‘dangerous creatures’ in the water when he issued the warning. Wilbur looked at Shelby. Shelby nodded approval. Wilbur continued.

“Yeah. It was attacking that Coastie that’s been trying to find us. We distracted it and the Coastie killed it we have a sample though.”

Wilbur displayed, via VR, a very LARGE piece of tentacle. “It’s bigger than a giant squid I think.”

Everyone was silent and in awe.

“Thank you gentlemen” Shelby said in obvious dismissal “You’ve been a great help.”

“No problem.” Henry replied. ”Any time.”

“Don’t hesitate to call if you need anything else.” Wilbur replied.

They signed off.

“Dinosaur” Cody breathed “They found a dinosaur and a giant Squid-like monster. It’s for real!”

“Or something that looks very much like one” Shelby replied.

“The ocean is a much more dangerous place than it was a few years ago” the Dragon Lady said.

........................
The Next Episode Is
#141 : Refugees: The Children…
The Previous Episode was
#139 : Your Ship has come In.…
The First Episode was
# 1 : Prologue…
..............
Book One: SoulStone
..................................................
I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
My books on Amazon.
I engage in political commentary
and
generally talk about anything that strikes my fancy
on
Steemit
and
Sola

When watching the LameStream FakeNews Media

it's hard to tell what’s true or when they are lying isn’t it? It seems that they are more interested in influencing public opinion than they are reporting the facts.
SteemPunk Snail Image from Pixabay

Sort:  

I love this fiction, your writings are superb, but I think the Dragon Lady knows Alot about the creature but was hiding from the truth.

I need a continuation of this particular write-up @everittdmickey

The dragon lady is old and wise in the ancient knowledge. She knows things that modern man does not.

Henry Wall hangers, kind of reminded me of Harvey Wall bangers for a minute or two. now where did I put that orange juice. A rather quick burst of larger creatures, but with the poles melting and all that water, and once landlocked lakes becoming part of the sea again, things like the Lake Champlain monster and the Loch Ness monster, could be on the prowl again. And well with all the bodies that drowned, food supply was plentiful for awhile at least in the oceans.

I like the style @everittdmickey and I agree with @mjphotograph that Dragon Lady knows what's going on with this monster but I just found you yesterday I think it was so now I gotta go back and read #139. thanks this was a great read!

you're welcome

This flood has awakened all the creatures that were asleep for thousands of years at the bottom of the sea ... new adventures are approaching in the defense of the territories ... Cody, can be key in the defense strategies that must be developed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65641.09
ETH 3479.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50