"Q"

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Chapter 77: “Now that you have a glimmer

..........................................................................................................................................................................


.......of what you will be able to do.” Kitty grinned at me.”It’s time to practice. Practice makes perfect and it’s best to make your mistakes in virtual reality. The stumbles and tumbles won’t hurt so much and you will make a LOT of them. You won’t accidentally break stuff either. If you don’t train here you will be like a bull in a china shop in the RW. You’ll be re-learning how to use your body much like a newborn baby. Time to train that muscle memory, so let’s get started.”

​So we did.

​I went into training. I trained harder and did more difficult things than a Seal did. The navy sea, air and land guys...not JUST the sea mammals. Oh don’t get me wrong. I trained with sea critters too. Gotta love that Virtual Reality.

​I also learned to fly.

​“Q is marvelous stuff.” I said as I was soaring high, very high, in the sky. I was flying with the wild geese, 33,000 thousand feet above the ground, over six MILES high.

“Oh you can go much higher than this.” Kitty told me.” You can not only get by with less oxygen than even a Griffon Vulture, or make a super-charger from Q, but you can also carry oxygen with you.”

​The reason I could fly was because of the Q. I could mentally command it to form into what ever shape that I wanted, like wings, and control it instinctively as if it was an extension of my own nervous system. It kinda was. That was one function of all those transceivers she mentioned. It also had it’s own power so my muscle strength wasn’t a factor. Q, or Quintessence was VERY strong but incredibly light thus the square cube law wasn’t violated.

​What it all added up to was that I had wings, HUGE wings as big as I needed them to be, ....when I wanted them. When I didn’t need them they turned into something else...like a cape or a trench coat.

​Flying wasn’t the only thing I learned to do..oh no. I learned to use all of those other new senses and abilities. Kitty drilled me harder any drill sergeant until it became second nature. I could transform the Quintessence from wings...to a ‘monkey suit’ or anything else in an instant.

​Q allowed me to out climb any arboreal creature that ever lived, fly like a bird and swim like a seal.

​Kitty taught me how to use the Q instinctively. I had a lot of fun.



Next Chapter
Previous Chapter
The Beginning

I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write

SPECULATIVE FICTION
I have other books on Amazon.
Sometimes I also comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

I'm sold, where do i sign up ?

I wish..
I write 'escapist' fiction..

you mean non of this is real?- damn! I was relying on that..now I'm depressed..

hey @everittdmickey,
Thanks for sharing


Another nice post..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61797.74
ETH 2429.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64