Ride The Lightning

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Part 21 : Delay Placing a Call


....................................................................................................................................................................................

Ok…I’m a coward. I really hate to hear women cry. I’d been putting this off. My ‘excuse’ was that I’d been unconscious most of the time. Was that an excuse or a reason? I wasn’t sure. I need to think about it.

I poured a stiff drink, drank it, and went back to sleep while I was still thinking….it was an accident. I really intended to make that call…THOSE calls…

I really HATE to hear women cry…

I woke up later. I felt better.

I ordered breakfast. I had a serious case of the HONGRIES.

A little bit later it was delivered…by Bob.

“Good to see you” I said.” That medicine you gave me worked wonders. I slept like a baby. I feel much better.”

“Glad to hear it” He told me. “I’ve got good news. I was chatting with my Dr. Buddy and he said that you can probably be released from the hospital pretty soon. For some reason you’ve healed much faster than normal. They had hesitated to tell you because…shrug …hospital policy? That seems stupid doesn’t it?”

I thought about that while eyeing the grub. He’d brought a huge breakfast…lots of protein. Steaks and Seafood. I really WAS hungry. “It certainly sounds stupid. After all, it’s MY body. I’m paying the bill. You’d think that I’d have a right to know?”

“I’ll certainly be glad to get out of here. I’m going stir crazy. Time to go truckin’” I said.

“I’ve seen your truck I think. Isn’t it the lightning truck? We don’t see many of them around here. None actually.” He said “Too far from the Bridge. Bad roads.”

“Ain’t they? I’m not looking forward to those goat trails between here and there either, but that’s the reason I’ve had my Truck modified so I can come down here. It gives me a competitive advantage” I told him the truth. I didn’t tell him the WHOLE truth. That wasn’t the ONLY reason I was down here. But I didn’t need to tell him that. He didn’t have the need to know.

We chatted for a while longer and then he had to leave. Oddly enough he managed to leave me another bottle of whisky.

I was going to make the call...that is… the calls. I was GOING to call Chris’s sister and my family…really…I really was going to but…

After a full meal and a glass of whisky I just naturally went to sleep.

Yup..I dreamed.


To Be Continued
The Next Episode is
Part 22 : I Hate to deal with crying women.…
The Last episode was
Part 20 : Tel-Com with the Broker…
the first episode was
Part 1 : Winter Storm
.
I'm

@everittdmickey
I surf the net, find the GOOD stuff.
and write posts about it
So you don't have to.
I also write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
and comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

Wonderful post. Hardwork pays more so keep working hard! @everittdmickey Love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66342.89
ETH 3280.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72