“Q2”

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)


#29: Levi - Slap-Squadding


.......................................................................................................................................................................................

“That would be Swat Team.” Corey said.

“Isn’t that the same thing?” Keith asked.

“No it’s not. It sounds silly when you say slap squad.” Corey said.

“Well I…” Keith began when Levi cut him off.

“Um…guys. That’s all very good, but I just got here. I have to use the bath room. I really got to go pee. I’ll see you guys later huh?”

“Oh…well…yeah….sorry.” Keith said taking Corey by the hand. “Let’s go. He’s got business to take care of.”

“Certainly” Cory said looking over his shoulder as he was led away. “ Nice to have met you. See you later”.

Levi Grinned as he rushed to the bathroom. He’d just located it when they’d knocked on the door. With a sigh of relief he relieved an over full bladder.

He had some strange neighbors. An odd couple for sure. They had walked back across the yard, arguing like an old married couple.

.................

A few days went by. Keith and Corey didn’t see much of their new neighbor. Levi kept to himself a lot.

....................

One day, a week or so after Levi had moved in Jeannie said ”Uh..boss. We got problems.”

“Don’t we always?” Levi replied. “Which one in particular are you referring to?”

“Cops. I’ve been monitoring them. Always keep track of the enemy if possible. They just dispatched a SWAT Team to Raid us.” She said.

“Why in the hell did they do that?” he asked.

“They can’t read? Who can tell why? The computer file for the warrant says one thing. The destination they just entered into their routing GPS says something else. They’ll be here soon.” She said.

Sigh “ he replied “Governments, you gotta love em. Are our neighbors out?”

“Yeah, they’re sitting on their porch like they always are this time of day.” She said.

“Ok, how bout we go visit? I’ve been a terribly unsociable neighbor. I really need to make amends.” he said as he slipped into his Duster. He picked up the Magic Wand on the way out the door. The door locked behind him. He began walking across the yard toward his neighbors house.

“Keith, Cory, glad to see ya’ll. You’re looking well. I’m sorry I’ve not been sociable the last few days. I had to clean up the place and make a fews repairs. I’ve been very busy. You’d be amazed at the mess the last renters left it in.” he called out to them as he got close.

“Here. I’ve got some beer and some popcorn, ya’ll want some?” he asked.

Keith looked at Corey and raised an eyebrow. Corey nodded slightly. “Why of course we’d love to sit and chat with you Mr, er, I’m afraid I forgot your name.“

“It’s Cupping. Levi Cupping” Levi said as he stepped up onto their porch.

“Here you go Levi. Sit between us. We can chat.“ Keith moved a chair and indicated where Levi should sit.

“That’s great.” Levi said. He sat down and swung a small basket up onto the small table that was in front of them. He opened it and pulled out a bottle of beer for each one.

“Here you go boys. Least I can do. I’ve been so rude. It’s really not like me.” he handed them the beer.

“And popcorn.” he said. Pulling bowls of hot buttered popcorn out of the basket also.

“Why thank you Levi.” Corey said “That looks like dark beer. I purely love dark beer. It’s so hard to find any around here. Everyone in the area seems to like Pilsner.”

..................................
Episodes
Next
Previous
First
.....................................
Book 1

.....................................

I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
I have other books on Amazon.
Sometimes I also comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

I do not visualize what will be the strategy of Levi in front of the next arrival of the SWAT Team. How can Keith and Corey help him?¿Slap squadding? ... Well, magic powers can always help...I find extremely special in the story, the change that Levi has undergone, from being a somewhat weak and insecure character to being a stable character with total personality... We'll see what happens.

having control of uber-powerful technology does wonders for your self esteem.

Yes, that's definitely the reason.

Popcorn and beer to watch the fireworks?

Keith looks like my kind of guy. Corey on the other hand, is at the other extreme. I am very impressed by your choice of words and the plot of the fiction. Please don't stop writing

thank you.
I don't intend to stop writing anytime soon.

Writers will soon take over the world

Your post was very great. The post is very useful to me, just why many of you would like this post to be very useful to me. I try to read all the texts you have written, your writing hands are very beautiful. Thank you for posting so beautiful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67421.82
ETH 2623.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68