Ride The Lightning

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Part 26: Call to Chris's Sister


....................................................................................................................................................................................

No more excuses… no more alibis…I had to call Chris’s sister. It was the right thing to do. I could NOT, in good conscious, delay it any longer. I made the call.

It didn’t go well.

“Ma’am? I’m sorry to be the one to inform you that Chris Sommerkorn has been killed.”

Waaaaaaa?…sob…sob….cry…wail..slobber-blubber
...bo-hoooo!

Ok..so maybe I didn’t do that just right. I knew this was going to happen. I’m so NOT good at this kind of thing.

“Yes Ma’am…I’m sure. Yes Ma’am…he is. He literally died in my arms. I was there. Yes ma’am. No ma’am.”

Sob..sob..cry..cry.

Damn I hate this…

“Yes Ma’am. He asked me to call you. He asked me to bring you an Amulet. I have it around my neck. It’s a long ways from where I am to where you are...but I’m coming. I’ll be there as soon as I can. I’ll give you the Amulet and his truck as well. I have it on my trailer.”

Yadda..yaaaaaaadaaa- aaaa!! sniff.

“ No ma’am. I have no Idea. I have no idea what the cargo is. Chris just contracted me to transport him and the truck to Norway…before he got killed. As far as I’m concerned the contract is still binding.”

whimper...snifff...sob sob

“No ma’am..there’s no reason to thank me. It's just the right thing to do.”

Yadda…yadda

“Yes Ma’am…I’ll be there as soon as I can.”

Nooooo I don’t want to saaaay it…but..sniff…cowboy up Austyn.. I lied like a rug.

“Yes Ma’am…you have my number in your phone? Yes…well call me anytime you need something. Oh no! It’s not any trouble…yes ma’am…good bye…take care..”

Gaaah!! She’d been crying almost the whole time..

I HATE to hear women cry…

Time to go…


To Be Continued
The Next Episode is
Part 27: Troglodyte…
The Last episode was
Part 25: Leaving the Infirmary…
the first episode was
Part 1 : Winter Storm

I'm

@everittdmickey
I surf the net, find the GOOD stuff.
and write posts about it
So you don't have to.
I also write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
This book is available from Amazon on Kindle
If you can’t wait to finish it on Steemit
I have other books on Amazon also
I also comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

I just found your work... You have a unique writing style! I like it! Looking forward to reading more from you!

Thank you. Glad you like it. More coming.
You might also like Private War, The Yggdrasil Highway Saga, #Q, and SoulStone

Well then, there goes the rest of my sunday. Will definitely check it out!

Nice one but couldn't get as haven't read previous ones sorry

no problem.

the blue color indicates a link

Congratulations it's beautiful @everittdmickey . Must feel great - that is a lot of work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66201.27
ETH 3279.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70