Ride The Lightning

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Part 20 : Tel-Com with the Broker


....................................................................................................................................................................................

I regained consciousness much later. I barely recalled the dreams. All I recalled was the grin.

The whisky had helped. The dreams weren’t so up close and personal now. More like watching a movie or TV.

Shudder

Strike that. I Don’t…I do NOT… watch TV…I tried it once…for about an hour. It psychologically scarred me for life.

Later that day I received a call from my freight broker. We talked about my health, women, beer, women, sports, women, guns, women, trucks, women, politics and of course…. Women. The guy’s a Satyr. He really likes wimmen.

Eventually….FINALLY…he got to the point.

“When do you think you will be needing a load?” he asked.

“I’d been meaning to tell you.” I told him “I found a load.”

“ No SHIT?” he said. “How did you manage to find a load on the Ass End of nowhere? Where’s it going?”

“It’s a long, sad and tragic story. I wouldn’t want you to cry so I can’t tell you how. I can, however, tell you where. You won’t believe this.” I said. “It’s going to Norway.”

“You’re right…if anyone other than you told me that I’d not believe it. Well that’s certainly good news then. No deadhead.” He said “Oh…I gotta go. I have some fires to put out. I’ll talk to you later. Let us know when you need another load. Norway’s a long way from where you are. Perhaps you’d like something more along the way. I’m pretty sure I can come up with something.”



To Be Continued
The Next Episode is
Part 21 : Delay Placing a Call…
The Last episode was
Part 19:Whisky…
the first episode was
Part 1 : Winter Storm
.
I'm

@everittdmickey
I surf the net, find the GOOD stuff.
and write posts about it
So you don't have to.
I also write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
and comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57142.21
ETH 2984.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25