Ride The Lightning

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Part 19:Whisky


....................................................................................................................................................................................




I finally woke up. I lay in bed and thought. I began to put the fragments of my memory together. I began to remember what had happened.

A while later Officer Bob walked into the room. He took one look at me and his expression turned serious. “I can see that you are still not resting. I talked to one of the EMTs. He’s a friend of mine. We have a plan. Try to hide it, or everyone will want some. If they catch you I’ll deny all knowledge of where this came from.”

Bob grinned and showed me with a bottle of Jack Daniels Black. Ah yes…good old Black Jack Whiskey. Bob poured a generous portion into one of the hospital’s plastic water glasses, and a lesser portion into another one.

Bob took the lesser and gave me the greater.

“Drink up…. Absent comrades.”Bob toasted…and followed his own advice.

“Absent Comrades” I echoed the toast. I drank. We sat and chatted for a few minutes until I began to nod off. I barely managed to set the, mostly empty, glass onto the nightstand before I fell asleep.



To Be Continued
The Next Episode Is
Part 20 : Tel-Com with the Broker…
The Last episode was
Part 18: I struggled to open my eyes.…
the first episode was
Part 1 : Winter Storm
.
I'm

@everittdmickey
I surf the net, find the GOOD stuff.
and write posts about it
So you don't have to.
I also write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
and comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

You left me hanging. Gripped. Now I need to read the previous posts to bring myself up to speed. Also looking forward to reading part#20.

was it the whisky that did it?

It was the whole scene. Is it a bad cop? Why is he in the hospital? Why are they smuggling jack?

nice post sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52