Pink Is The Most Painful Colour

in #fiction6 years ago

I was dressed in a completely inappropriate shade of pink. Pink... it was supposed to be light red. Apparently there is a difference. And my lipstick... I don't even. Such a mess. I exited the backdoor, ripped the skirt and threw it into the trash. I couldn't do a simple thing right. They wanted everybody to dress with the same color and I stood out like Moon in the middle of a dark night; hiding my dark side behind them. No one could've seen it ever when I kept my face on them like it was nothing. I'm afraid someone saw me as I was. On the other hand, I'm equally afraid of the opposite.


We were drinking champagne and losing our shirts. She had approached me from the back of the street with the rain rinsing the buildings. With a hood on she wondered why was I wasting my time being so sad half naked in a street with a single light illuminating from the wet asfalt. I was about to ask her the same - excluding the fact she wasn't sad and naked - but she folded her jacket onto me before I got to answer anything.

And here we had wondered; to her apartment, and the only wear I had on, the blank white top started to feel sweaty and uncomfortable on me. When I looked at her drinking from the glass in the living room I wanted to make myself feel more ease. Odd, considering it was the most comfortable cloth I've ever had; I would've traded all my clothes to this piece any day - except today.


The day Lillian learned to drive, I had to leave her. A life far away was waiting me. She was so excited to finally take me for a ride. But I was about to leave and I couldn't look her in the eye when telling I had no time for it. I knew she would be broken by that. Standing next to her mom's car she had barely gotten after assuring she wouldn't in any universe hurt the car when I would be in it with her.

I only glanced at her when she turned into the distance in denial. I wanted to say something, but words weren't going to fix this. So I stepped back into the van, with the image in my head of her cheek with my messy badly chosen lipstick on it while on bed asleep.


Introduction to freewriting by @mariannewest


My previous freewrites:


I set a daily freewrite to be on my experimental To-Do challenge for the next 30 days. Read more about it.

Sort:  

Moving on can be so hard, especially when you know it's going to hurt someone. Nice work with these weekend prompts!

Thank you for your input again @brisby!

Very good freewrite and use of the prompts to make the story flow so well!!!

Pieces of wonderful prose. What a great and artistic use for a blockchain!

Thanks for sharing and never stop.

Attention Freewriters!

Today's prompts are brought to you by Mr. Whiffle's Skywriters! Mrs. Whiffle, we ask that you please stop yelling and uncover your children's eyes. Your husband has assured us that he there was an error while flying and that intended ending was, "You lucky ducks!"

5 Minute Freewrite Day 143 - the military

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68854.36
ETH 3283.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67