The mistake of Jack - Chapter 6 - FICTION

in #fiction7 years ago

Not now, please Miranda!” Jack says nervously. “I am so tired and you heard the doctor say that I should rest. What is it with you now? We are both tired, let’s just get some sleep and then we could talk a little later.”

"What did Mr. Fischer want?” she asks, ignoring his excuses.

"He brought me my phone and some papers from work” he quickly replies.

Since when does the big boss himself do deliveries?” she asks, almost as if she doesn’t need an answer.

I don’t know love, maybe he was just passing by” he defends.

Then why did you throw your arms around like a baboon?” she snaps

A what? Which arms, where?” He knew that she saw them outside. “Are you checking up on me now?”

You’re damn right I am. I have been worried sick about you, you’re not giving me the necessary answers to my questions and now you’re trying to avoid me, acting like I’m the one in the wrong here!” She is furious. “You know what, last night when you were supposed to come home, I waited here for you with a special dinner and all, I waited and waited for you to come home so that I could tell you that they chose me for the show, and all this time I’ve been burning to tell you, but you are just not interested in anything other than your own weird business. I don’t know…

Jack interrupts her. “They chose you for the show! That’s amazing Miranda. Why didn’t you tell me?”

Miranda rolls her eyes and says: “Because you were too busy being weird!

You know what this means, right my love? You’re a celebrity chef now, and soon the whole world will focus on you and your kitchen.” Jack suddenly realizes that she is indeed going to be a celebrity chef with a lying and cheating husband. He had to come clean. Miranda was not satisfied with his answer but knew that she was not going to get anything more out of him tonight. She dropped the subject and turned to get some much needed rest.

Jack was now fully aware of the pain in the back of his head. It was very sensitive and he could feel the blood rushing through his body. He couldn’t fall asleep and tried to come to terms with Fischer and this whole ugly thing that happened. Damn you Cindy, he thought. The thought of her coming by the hospital made him furious all over again. How dare she do this to him? He tried to think of times where he might have accidentally made her think that their working relationship was not as platonic as he thought it was, but with no hope. He remembered that one time at the Christmas party last year where he stood next to her at the bar, she fixed his tie for him, but other than that, he could not think of anything else. She was always a little strange. Her eyes followed him around everywhere, he thought.

The police! Oh gosh, what am I going to tell Miranda? He thought of a plan. He was going to send Miranda out on a few errands tomorrow morning just in case the police showed up. Oh shit, what if they came in the afternoon? He knew he had to come clean. His mind was a mess. He did not want to tell her but this is definitely not the last of this topic. What was he going to tell Miranda tomorrow morning? Eventually, Jack fell asleep too. He dreamt about the accident at the gas station. He could see himself splashing water on his face and then running out of the rest room, but after that, everything turns white.

Miranda woke up at around 23:00 that evening from a very restless Jack besides her. He was making sudden movements with his elbows and knees, as if he was fighting or walking fast in a way. She sat up and switched on the bed lamp and it was obvious that Jack was sleeping and probably dreaming. As she turned it off again, Jack babbled something in his sleep. It was not very clear but as she lay there in the dark listening, she was able to make out the words he was saying. He kept on saying the same thing over and over again.

I beg you Cindy, don’t go!”


Previous Chapters:

Chapter 1: https://steemit.com/fiction/@bdmomuae/the-mistake-of-jack-chapter-1-fiction
Chapter 2: https://steemit.com/fiction/@bdmomuae/the-mistake-of-jack-chapter-2-fiction
Chapter 3: https://steemit.com/fiction/@bdmomuae/the-mistake-of-jack-chapter-3-fiction
Chapter 4: https://steemit.com/fiction/@bdmomuae/the-mistake-of-jack-chapter-4-fiction
Chapter 5: https://steemit.com/fiction/@bdmomuae/the-mistake-of-jack-chapter-5-fiction


signature

Sort:  

Keep writing. The story has depth and that's the most important thing!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bdmomuae from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

So glad you wrote again thank you.

Thanks for reading @bigbear. Chapter 7 will follow soon ;)

So happy the story continues. Was looking for it every day - it was like I lost my book. Enjoying it very much.

So sorry @anneke. I am so far behind due to the travelling and internet problems I had in SA.
Will hopefully catch up soon.
Thanks for reading and supporting my first story =)

No problem - I am waiting patiently - it is like opening a present you have to wait for hahaha

Thank you for posting the story again I am so new I was thinking I am missing out.

Haha...no @methusalem, it's me who is behind. Hopefully everything going on in my life will be back to normal soon. Chapter 7 is on it's way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63324.37
ETH 2452.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69