Fields Of Fable- The House Made Of Cake (Chapter 4)

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

 Chapter 1 can be read here! 

Chapter 2 can be read here! 

Chapter 3 can be read here!

Source
"What do you mean we have to go to the end of the rainbow?" Lucy was sobbing uncontrollably.

"The entrance is just that..........an entrance. The end of the rainbow is the exit dear." He takes a handkerchief out of his pocket.  "Don't worry, Rumplestiltskin won't find you, he can't go past the witches house because of the Cyclops." 

"The Cyclops!" Toby was excited but frightened at the same time.

"The Cyclops.....don't worry you are perfectly safe. Now we just have to get you past the witches house, out of the way of Rumple."

"Borris pokes his head around the door. The coast is clear children, step in my cloak and stay close. You as well Hermey. If he sees you, he'll be following!"

All 3 walk into Borris's cloak and then into the cart.  As they step into the carriage, they are surprised to see they have a visitor.

Hermey is busy chatting away as he straightens his trousers and waist coat. "You see I told you he wouldn't be here, he will have just taken a walk to cool that hot head.......................arghhhhhhhhhhhh..............what on earth are you doing here?!"

In front of him sat Leila, the fairy that had been watching them. "So this is how you did it then?"

"It was you...............you told Rumplestiltskin we were here!"

"Keep you hair on Hermey and no I didn't. Doesn't take a genius to work out where you are. You live here!"

Just then the cart starts to move and Hermey angrily hits the front window behind Borris. "Borris stop............!"As the cart comes to a holt, Borris pokes his head through the window. "Leila, what are you doing in here?!"

"I'm watching what you pair of baffoons are up too.  You, young man dropped you're bag as you were getting out of the cart...........I saw it all. I felt my way around until I found the door. You all need to be careful, if i saw you anything could! I assume you are taking the children on a trip through the fables?"

Hermey hangs his head in shame as she clips him once again around the head. "Do you realise how dangerous it is out here. They are CHILDREN! The witch eats children, and that's just part of it.............Oh dear lord.......... what about ..............?"

"Don't mention that, it will spoil the surprise." Hermey laughs nervously.

"Surprise................surprise!The most dangerous creature in all of the fables and it's a SURPRISE! Are you out of your tiny mind?"

Hermey cowers thinking he will get hit again. The children sit quietly silent holding hands, their bottom lips wobbling as if they were both about to start crying.

"I'm sorry children, I don't mean to scare you. These two are just irresponsible idiots, who are trying to get rich with some gold. GREED is what it is called children." She looks at Hermey and Borris in disgust as they hang their heads " Anyway you don't need to worry. You will be safe now as I am coming with you!"

Hermey jumps up. "Oh no you're not!"

"Ok...stop me then!"

Hermey stands their for a minute. " Oh very well..............but stay in here. They can only see and hear you outside!"

"I am perfectly aware of that!" Leila makes herself comfortable as Hermey sits in a sulk with his arms folded tightly.

Borris shakes his head as he pulls his cloak hood up and sets back to pulling the cart.

"Now children listen to me, there is no need to be frightened....ok ? I was just angry. They cannot get to you in here. Remember that!" She smiled as she pulled a pink shimmering bag out of her pocket.

"What's that?....Is it fairy dust?" Lucy's watery eyes lit up.

"Very clever..........and you're name is ?"

"Lucy...........and this is my brother Toby."

"Well it is very nice to meet you. Now close you're eyes."

Leila threw the dust into the air as it softly fell onto the twins. "Open your eyes. How do you feel?"

They giggled. "Happy, i'm not scared........are you Toby?"

"No i'm not scared, but i wasn't anyway!"

"You big fibber Toby!"

"No i wasn't!"

"Yes you were!"

"Children..........you're not scared anymore that's good but remember you have to be sensible. Not being scared doesn't mean you are not in danger. Don't get brave and step out of here. Do you understand?"

"Yes!" They both laugh and shout in chorus.

Hermey jumps from his seat. "Children look out your window to the left. You will see the house made of cake. There she is.............the Witch. She is picking apples from her tree. Up to her old tricks no doubt. Wait a minute.........who's that with her. It's Rumplestiltskin. Borris stop the cart, I want to hear what they are saying!" Hermey pulls out what looks to be a megphone from under the seat. "This my dears acts like an amplifier, I will be able to hear what they are saying. I just need to turn it on and rest it near the window. "

"So Rumplestiltskin, what do I owe the pleasure?" The witch was croaky in her speech, her long straggly white hair hung from beneath her pointy hat.

"Witch, my gold has been stolen. I know the elves have it. Anything that glistens and they take it, but this time someone gave it to them, I could smell they were human. And I want to know who......."

"And what do I get in return?"

"Why you can have the Queens Mirror. It's powerful and you can see what Is happening in the kingdom."

"Well if that is so, why can't you find out who stole your gold from the mirror?"

"Because my lady, it only answers to a lady, a beautiful one at that!"

Hermey looks puzzled. "Is she really going to fall for that?" 

"Shushhhhhhhhhh Hermey!" Leila was trying to listen.

The witch delicately placed her basket on the floor. " You old charmer Rumple...Ok let me see the mirror!"

"Oh....oh you cant see it yet, as the queen has it. I can get it tomorrow, but I need to find who stole my gold today so I can get it back before the criminals run away."

The witch sighed. "Very well...come help me find some frogs, I need to make a potion!"

Rumplestiltskin agreed as they walked together along the riverside.

Hermey sat back in his seat. "Phew they are gone now!"

"They will know it's us now. The potion, they will know its us!"

"It's ok, she can't see children in her potions, it's a flaw in her magic. That's why she eats them.........revenge I think. Borris let's..................hey!"

Before Hermey had time to finish his sentence Toby had jumped out of the cart and ran into the house. " Toby, get back here." Lucy shouted, but of course he couldn't hear her. 

She quickly followed him as did Hermey and Leila.


To be continued.....


Disclaimer:My writings are to extend my creative writing ideas. Call these first drafts if you like. Secondly I am dyslexic. I do struggle to proof read and I can't always get people to do it for me. So if there is some typo's, then so be it. Thank you for reading.   



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48