A Stranger Death (Ch 15)

in #fiction6 years ago

a stranger death.jpg
Previous Chapters: Ch 1 | Ch 2 | Ch 3 | Ch 4 | Ch 5 | Ch 6 | Ch 7 | Ch 8 | Ch 9 | Ch 10 | Ch 11 | Ch 12 | Ch 13 | Ch 14 |
separator.png

Chapter 15

"What do you think?" asked Darren as they made their way home.

"I found him a bit creepy, but perhaps that's just me. I'll be glad when we get the reward money tomorrow, and then we can forget about the whole thing. I wouldn't put it past him to refuse to hand out any reward at all once he has the diamonds back. And if he did refuse, there's not a thing we could do about it."

"Yes, I agree with you," said Darren. "I found the whole thing a bit suspicious. I got a look inside his safe when he got that box out to show me. There looked to be at least another ten or so boxes that looked exactly the same in there. Who in their right mind keeps a small fortune in diamonds in a wall safe? Unless, of course, it is not altogether legal."

Sarah started to get a worried look on her face. "You could be right, but that would be a matter for the police, not us, and we have no evidence, just suspicions."

"And another thing," continued Darren. "When I showed him that drawing I could have sworn he recognised the man, despite claiming not to. It was only fleetingly, but I'm sure I saw a look of recognition in his eyes. I think he lied to us when he said he didn't know him."

"I thought his excuse for not knowing the diamonds were missing was a bit flimsy as well," added Sarah. "I'm sure that if a package like that was sent by courier, and then didn't arrive, someone would raise the alarm near enough straight away. We know from how hard the boxes were to open that they had been in the ground for at least a week or two."

Darren summed up their thoughts. "When you add it all up, it certainly makes our Mr Spikes highly suspicious. I think I might pay him another visit, but not tomorrow when he is expecting me. I'll go tonight while he is out and if I can get in I can take a look around and hopefully find some evidence to give to the police."

Darren expected Sarah to object to this plan, but her reply to his proposal surprised him.

"In that case I'm coming with you. Someone needs to make sure that the coast is clear while you are trying to get in, and I'm sure it will be a big benefit to have two pairs of eyes searching. We can be in and out again quicker with two of us."

"Hey, you hold on there," replied Darren. "This could get dangerous and I'm not so sure that I want you involved. Why don't you wait at home and I'll contact you as soon as I get back to the farm and let you know what I found."

Sarah smiled. "What, and let you have all the fun? No chance. I'm coming with you!"

separator.png

Follow me to make sure that you don't miss tomorrow's episode.

separator.png

FREE DAILY CRYPTO: SWIFT FREE COINS

Sort:  

Once again another great cliffhanger! I can't wait for tomorrow's chapter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17