Another Week Another Food Fight Friday!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fff5 years ago

Hola Triple F Freaks!

So we landed in La Fortuna earlier this week. It’s a small town smack dab in the center of Costa Rica right at the base of a massive inactive volcano. I don’t know if you’ve ever laid your eyes on a volcano but they are stunning. I unfortunately booked our reservation a couple days late and the container (yep, I said container) that we are staying in is the one facing the garden rather than the volcano, like I wanted. Those shootuupid, severely nice, always smiling and waving Canadian neighbors got it first and we are left looking at a river with colorful stupid birds, chameleons blending in everywhere and wonderfully annoying perfectly orchestrated butterfly dances choreographed to the heavenly sound of bird chirps- it sucks!

Now we are in a “garden view” container for a week with NO volcano view… 👎. Whatevs… did I mention we are staying in a shipping container? Yep, the same shipping container your shoes very likely came in on, or your clothes, or your electronics, your tools, cars, maybe even your neighbors… it’s pretty rad though. The entire thing is done very nice with this strange but cool “rock looking” like cement finish and a full kitchen. It’s all brand new too. I like that :) The air conditioner works like a freezer and although it’s been raining since we got here the air conditioner is still quite necessary.

Our first night in we were starved from our 4.5 hour drive so we popped into a little cafe to grab dinner before we headed to a store for grocery items. I have a real problem with hitting grocery stores hungry and walking out with a bunch of crap that tastes good going down but is laced with broken dreams and guilty tears as you try and button your pants the next day.

I asked the server about the fajitas (all in Spanish so you can imagine the things that get lost in translation. My Spanish is still quite subpar) and if they could make a vegetarian version of them without cheese and sour cream. He was happy to oblige like they’ve done it before and offered me a cold beer with it. I don’t drink alcohol so I kindly attempted to stay with my more than adequate ice water but he insisted I get something saying “Es incluye”. All right then I’ll party, “quiero un coca cero, por favor”.

While waiting for our food Dandays and I just tripped out on all of the people eating with us that were tourists. I mean, everyone in this town is a tourist. I dig it though, the more tourists the nicer the locals are and I much prefer nice locals over the total turds we just experienced in Golfito!

4EFB63C2-4669-4195-ABCD-3DE030D21853.jpeg

Check this king sized fajita plate out… 4 corn tortillas, 3 large patacones, sautéed vegetables, refried black beans, fresh guacamole, some salsa and fried yuca… dude, my plate was massive and made Dandays plate look like a sissy in comparison.

I don’t know why they gave me so much food but after the initial introduction to my meal I got busy on those fajitas. Would you believe me if I told you I ate all 4 fajitas? To be fair I only ate half a patacone, tried to pawn off another one on Dandays but he stole my yuca instead and only ate half the black beans. Still, I think I put it down like a champ. When the bill came I was shocked to discover I actually ordered for two (it was probably meant to be a shared dish) and although I’m only eating for one it seems I’ve been practicing the skill of eating for two for most the weekend, or at least that’s what the buttons on my pants are telling me 🤦🏼‍♀️.

I probably should have taken some to go in hind sight but apparently I walk around eating shareable, twenty dollar, drink included plates like it’s nothing now.

Anyway, day two we woke up and I went for a morning jog. My friend @plantstoplanks is always bragging about her training sessions, hitting the pavement, and one of her last posts finally lit a fire under my booty. In Jaco I was jogging on the beach but here I mainly stick to around the center of town. I was able to locate all of the restaurants I wanted to eat at, the bakeries I’d get my baguettes from and the coffee joints I’d hit up later that day. Jogging in La Fortuna equals “success”!!

Dandays, of course, locates the gym every time we enter a new town. We tried working out together one time but it wasn’t that much fun. We both much prefer our own personal workout regimens being just that, personal!

Once we were all showered we jumped on our bikes and headed to wherever the day was going to bring us.

E8710124-ACCC-487A-9B6D-080777FD33E8.jpeg

What??? Don Juan Coffee and Chocolate Tour you say? Bring it!!

We stumbled upon this chocolate and coffee plantation giving tours and decided to join in the fun. Seriously, how does anyone pass up mid morning coffee and chocolate?

32B312B6-79AC-4CF9-A188-5EF7875889C9.jpeg

Rather than seeing coffee rain and chocolate rivers first thing, we are immediately confronted with banana piñatas (not really a piñata but you catch me drift). First thought was “I didn’t have breakfast this morning, maybe I should devour two of these before I get all strung out on coffee” … I’m glad I resisted because as the tour began their purpose was immediately revealed and they aren’t just there because they knew I’d be showing today.

Apparently the bananas, among other fruit trees, attract mosquitoes and the mosquitoes are the actual preferred method of pollination when it comes to cocoa…

603B80D5-19BF-4BEF-BAC1-E876A27F2462.jpeg

I, myself, didn’t think mosquitoes had ANY redeeming qualities but I guess there’s the reason Noah put two of those suckers on the boat instead of smacking them 🤷🏼‍♀️.

These are the cocoa pods that grow on the trees. Some are purple and others are green. Both are considered to produce the drink of the Gods though… (hot chocolate).

763E3DEE-F2A5-4FC4-9F01-2D7458057857.jpeg

61229E92-8111-4A34-8B86-60A728AD41FE.jpeg

Apparently those pollinating mosquitoes don’t bite people… Look at how convinced I am…

Our guide cut open one of those pods and had us suck on the garlic clove looking center. It was sweet, not bad at all.

97E2A291-75A4-4764-86A4-881382601350.jpeg

C8005CCE-8CDB-460F-AB71-3C39F7C15C80.jpeg

He went through and in detail explained the very tedious process of growing and then preparing cocoa beans so we can all make and devour our delicious chocolate desserts 😋.

Super informative and very cool but I was primarily interested in the part where we got to taste the chocolate…

5AEBB8F2-07B3-47E8-89D0-5EABE216A315.jpeg

4A1759F3-AC3E-4DB5-A4DC-4B5CA7E94D22.jpeg

With freshly ground cocoa and other ingredients laid before us he surprised me and said “now you get to make your own chocolate”.

Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! I think I died and went to orgasmic chocolate heaven…

I immediately added a little cinnamon, some sea salt, a pinch of cayenne because “why not”, sugar, Dandays made me add powdered milk, and our guide came over with the vanilla to finish it off.

After working it with my hands I determined we needed to add a little bit more of everything… now I have a very fresh homemade piece of cayenne spicy chocolate sitting in our fridge 🤷🏼‍♀️…

C8B42313-6C45-405A-82CE-D3A1AEBA714F.jpeg

I know, I know, it looks more like a turd in a bag than chocolate but it wasn’t bad, I swear. Did y’all catch that mini person size shot of hot chocolate Goddess nectar though?

F2ED39E5-87A5-42FB-B410-5765CADC7591.jpeg

So good 😋.

We finally got to the tasting part and look at everyone sitting patiently to politely try the chocolate for themselves…

0D3A3AAE-4AC3-4131-8EB1-C65E6D385C11.jpeg

… not me, I quickly jumped to the opposing side of the table and waited for the guide to say “GO”. Haha… just kidding but I definitely wasn’t bashful. Chocolate is my spirit animal 🤡.

Once done teasing my taste buds with a little sugar we headed over to check out the coffee deal… I’ll let Dandays cover that.

B72A2657-BD86-44FE-BACA-3C74C57E14A1.jpeg

When all was said and done it was time to eat some real food. I saw a chipotle in town on my jog so we headed there. Again, I ordered the vegetarian tacos without cheese and sour cream. This is what they brought me…

Apparently they celebrate St. Patrick’s day in May around here… the tortillas could’ve been rainbow colored but they were still delicious.

@dandays and I were still rip roaring and ready to go do some more adventurous stuff after lunch. We jumped in our car and headed to what is known as “the hanging bridge”.

AB31A6C5-5EAD-40E6-8F3E-07017C20B41C.jpeg

My grandma even face timed me right before walking across this thing. She had missed 4 of my FaceTime calls the night prior so I had to quickly answer her. She got to see the crazy view for herself.

0BBC4F4B-A95F-4FCC-8C43-77362CDD1072.jpeg

Walking through the jungle is so peaceful. I didn’t even mind those large rain drops that would fall right in my eyelashes. Everything seems brighter out there, the birds sing louder, the air is crisper, it’s a magical place this planet in which we inhabit.

526E65CA-3D90-419D-A4B1-D602B5ECB661.jpeg

The entire day made us hungry for some real traditional Costa Rican comfort food. After getting back into town we settled on a cute Soda called Soda Visquez. This would actually be our first real Soda eating experience. To my surprise they had quite a few vegetarian things on the menu and I couldn’t resist the sound of a good Sammie so there it is…

D71DACF0-34C4-4333-AE06-8C7CC870E2A4.jpeg

A traditional Costa Rican vegetarian Casado vegetarian sandwich. Yum, yum, yum. It had avocado so no sharing with Dandays but we did pretty good on sharing the fries :)

Thanks for hanging out with me today you @foodfightfriday booger flickers. Hope to see y’all in the ring with me.

Special shoutout to @weirdheadaches… “where’s your Food Fight Foo? You can’t go missing two weeks in a row now” :).

Catch y’all later, Pura Vida ✌️

1A87F364-F917-4962-B189-B12A07A59D5F.gif

Sort:  

OMG! Really really great experiences for you guys and I enjoyed reading post.



If you love to visit restaurant, we are pleased to invite you to join Tasteem’s contest at https://tasteem.io/. Tasteem is a playground where you can contribute your review and get back the great reward. You even can have a chance to get an awesome prize if your post is at the top three and extra curation.

You can read this post to learn about Tasteem: The Important Facts You Need To Know About Tasteem.io

For more information #how-about-tasteem, you can find out here:

Thank you and regards,
[Tasteem Supporter]

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @anggreklestari. I’ll check it out 😉

@puravidaville
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 41
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
2CEE9C63-C646-4F11-854B-AEED926F621B.gif
Good Luck

😋😋

Posted using Partiko Android

Great job @puravidaville, so much interesting stuff.
The shipping container reference, (Maybe even your neighbors), was hysterical.
Girl, if you ate even a fraction of the food in this post, you had better keep running, that is unless you have a metabolism similar to @jlsplatts.
The info on the coco beans was educational, especially how they are pollinated, but it is hard to believe that those mosquitoes don't

Full Metal Jacked, great flick.
Walking over that suspended bridge had to be a thrill.

Remember the shipping container pic from a previous post, looked like a really cozy place to stay.

What an adventurous and educational day you guys had, really enjoyed!

Continue to enjoy this very special time in your lives, and stay safe my friend.

I ate the food over the course of two days but still… I’ve had a healthy appetite the last month or so 🤦🏼‍♀️ Those containers are neat, right?!? The way it was remodeled into a dwelling was real nice too. It made me think of the opportunities should one buy a container to make a vacation rental out of it… 🤓

Thanks for the continued support @thebigsweed. We are truly blessed and grateful everyday. Who would have thought that “just living” would be such a luxury? We often get confused faces looking back at us when they ask “what do you do” and we answer “just live”. Haha… it’s also a trip to figure out what it is that we truly want to do with this time. All good stuff going on. Thanks again for stopping by my friend. Sending many blessings your way :)

Just living, I love that answer @puravidaville. Now that is a novel idea.

It’s more difficult than one would think :)

great post once again !

It wasn't all that long ago that I ate, but dang I'm hungry now. From the chocolate, to those fajitas (I for sure would have probably devoured most of that 2-person serving, as well) to the veggie sandwich--you definitely got my appetite going. One of my guilty pleasures (when I actually get some time to chill out) is to watch some of the HGTV shows where they make houses out of containers or other things. Some of them look so friggin' cool! I don't think any of those views are disappointing this round.

Ugghh, mosquito season is hitting hard here already, too. I know it's nowhere near as bad as the jungle, but it can get pretty rough when you go out to snip a few herbs from the garden and come back in with at least 4-5 bites. The little suckers tend to even get our faces. Gotta whip up a new batch of my homemade bug spray soon.

They say coco butter is a natural deterrent too 🤷🏼‍♀️

These containers are dope! Dandays was telling me they are only about 15 hundred to buy and I don’t know how much people pay to convert them but it can’t be that bad. They make for a great air B and B situation :)

Oh my gosh, what a magical place @puravidaville, those pictures are amazing!! I bet you were in heaven on the cocoa tour, and you got to take some home? Container living, hmm what will they think of next. I guess it would be hurricane proof right? Seriously good food you're having, and I don't believe for one skinny minute that you've gained one ounce! Jog on my foodie friend...can't wait to see what you cook up in that new kitchen, air conditioning and all!

The chocolate we made is till sitting in the fridge. I have to come up with a recipe to use it. The container is much more comfy than I thought it would be. Kind of like a RV but roomier.

My jogging is only helping so much because my munching has been out of control. Haha… back to the beach on Monday. Hopefully the thought of my bikini will guide me to the greens rather than the cookies :).

I really enjoyed reading this post my Sweet Pura! You guys get to see so much beauty. You are absolutely right this planet is beautiful 🌴😍🌴

So they have those containers even in Costa Rica? We have them here in Toronto and yes they are cool, although I a haven't actually sen one in reality. Only online. But poor you, what a terrible view "NOT" LOL!!! I would be thrilled to have a view like that. Bu what's fumier are those nice Canadian neighbours 😂

Anyway, the chocolate tour must of been amazing experience, but I am totally shocked about those mosquitoes. I also thought they were totally useless; although, these useful once don't bite. How interesting is that!

Haha… I thought you’d get a kick out of our Canadian neighbors. They were really sweet and in my opinion we ended up with the better container anyway. It’s hard to even see the volcano most days, there’s so much cloud coverage right now.

I know about those mosquitoes, right?!? He did say they don’t bother humans but I doused myself in bug spray anyway. Those little buggers have a real affinity for my blood 🤷🏼‍♀️ Glad you stopped by Lena! Enjoy the rest of your weekend :)

Oh Sweetie, I wouldn't miss your post for the world! You make me laugh and I love to follow what you are up to guys. Have a wonderful weekend too my Dear Pura 🌴😘🌴

Thanks Lena 🥰

I was doing my on air broadcasting in a container too few years ago😊 and it's cool when you have a window too. You are having a really good time now.. the foods, the view and everything looks perfect ..even the chameleon 😉 what a wonderful life you have.. and I'm happy following you through steemit😊 Thank you @puravidaville😍

It’s totally converted so windows, doors, bathroom, kitchen, you name it. Life is great and we are truly blessed. It’s all God! Thanks for stopping by @cicisaja 😍

Food looks good, sorry to hear about the volcano and those sneeky chameleons.

The chameleons are pretty neat. I had no idea they got so large. Upon further investigation we actually got the better container, even without the volcano view… love how that works out :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60205.00
ETH 2994.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90