FeatheredFriday ~ Sandpipers

Today I went for a walk on the beach looking for birds for @melinda010100's Feathered Friday challenge and the best shots I got were this Greater Yellowlegs sandpiper. (Tringa melanoleuca)

07nty7qno9.jpg

I watched the same bird for a while and got as close as I could. I was hoping to see it in flight but instead it ran around very quickly, in and out of the water, feeding on something too small for me to see.

98yvejinhp.jpg

Now here's another smaller shore-bird, probably a Ruddy Turnstone sandpiper. (Arenaria interpres) There were several of these birds flying around and feeding together.

dso4aaodvr.jpg

I took a bunch of in-flight shots as best I could. They're so quick and I really couldn't keep up or focus well, but this should give you an impression of what I saw as they swirled around, in and out of the light.

eixy54s34m.gif

I'll show you a little of Willows beach and Oak Bay. A fog horn was blowing and the temperture dropped as the fog rolled in.

j8ipewfd28.jpg

The kids are back in school and the beach was almost empty.

11n5u3u9du.jpg

All together it was an idyllic late summer's day in Victoria, BC. Thanks very much for visiting!

moyj415v07.jpg

All photos were taken today by me, @keithboone with an Olympus E-M1 Mk2 camera. Please click for a closer view.

Sort:  

It’s so pretty there. I love the photo with the sailboats and the fog.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 0.2$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

Thanks very much, it was cool to see the fog moving in :-)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Lovely bird photos, as always! This is such a great time of year.

Thank you, Melinda! I do love the autumn season.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Check the latest update to learn more about me.
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Great shots! Love the photos of the sandpipers, Keith.

Thanks so much, I'm glad you lied them :-)

Beautiful

Posted using Partiko Android

These are pretty good and cool shot, you must be good in taking shots

Thank you, I do my best :-)

Gorgeous as always, Keith! Beaches are always so much more fun when the kids are in school. That makes me sound like a curmudgeon, but I might be one...

I love the shots of the sandpiper! I've never seen one in person.

Thank you! There's one more reason to get down to the Oregon coast... there will be sandpipers. You can bring the goats!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50