Is my toddler screwing with me?

in #father6 years ago


Unsplash

My youngest daughter (almost 2 years old) is a bit of a chaos monkey, she always seems to have had a mischievous streak to her character. Playing funny games with us, it always seems like she is playing a joke on us for her own amusement....

It's pretty endearing, however, it can also just be a short step away from being completely naughty. In contrast to what we remember for the older daughter, she seems to be in trouble much more (in public as well...) than we ever had to do for the older child. Although that said, I can't rule out the rose-tinted hue on my memory!

Say my name!


Unsplash

So, it brings me to this thing that she does, which I'm starting to think is a big huge joke on her part (and mildly frustrating for me)... but I can't be sure!

Ever since she started making words, she's called me "Mama"! For some reason, she got her sister's name pretty much straight off the bat, and usually calls her mother "MaMa". So, I'm the lucky one with the mixed up name....

The thing is, that she says it with so much confidence, and a little smile. So, when I say "Dada"... she just laughs! Then I point to myself and say "Dada", at which point, she points to herself and says "Dada"!

AAAAAAAAAAAaARRRRRGH!

After a few times of doing this, then she will point to me and say "Dada", and then "yes", as if she knew all along that that was the way it was supposed to be.

Then I will be happy and give her hug and kisses... followed by... and of course, you guessed it...

"MaMa!!!!"

I'm hoping to train her out of this before she is two proper, but at this point, I really think she is really just screwing with me for the fun of it!

I don't know if anyone has seen this Sesame Street clip... but it is really what it feels like!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


LEAVE THIS PART AS IS



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.gamerjokerbreadder.com/2018/08/26/is-my-toddler-screwing-with-me/

Sort:  

giphy (51).gif
You just got splashed by @rewards-pool. For more information on delegating to the @rewards-pool click the following link.
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@rewards-pool/introduction-to-rewards-pool
@rewards-pool where a small delegation can get you a big splash.

Interesting story. It could be that she's just imitating you or her mother and doesn't know for sure what to do. Little kids are very good at imitating others, but sometimes, their timing doesn't work out so well.

As far as any concern that your daughter might be "screwing with you", well...

One day I was with my two kids at home while my wife was in training. I was preparing my kids for an outing and there was something that I had put on the floor (without really thinking it through), and I didn't want them to step on it.

"Don't step on that."

They stepped on it. Both of them. This is consistent with what a friend of mine told me long ago:

"The brain doesn't really understand words like 'no' and 'don't'. It only hears the other words."

Kids are particularly vulnerable this aspect of cognition, and generally, their life depends on cooperation. So I don't assume that they're messing with my head when I'm feeling annoyed by their behavior.

But once I feel that kind of a feeling, I try and figure out what I can change in me before I try to change them. I tend to have better outcomes that way.

Yes, they can be incredibly literal to exactly what they hear... Which seems to sometimes lead to garbled instructions that end up with unexpected results! It all adds to the fun...

She is playing you like a fiddle, I think she may end up a comedian or in a band.

Or homeless in the garden! If she keeps it up!

That is funny.

100% screwing with you dude. My daughter used to do all kinds of stuff to mess me around. Generally super cute but not always.

I only have one child, a 15 year old and she's getting worse as she gets older!! Good luck with two! 😂

Gaz

Ah great, it doesn't stop? Now I need to make sure they don't team up...

😂 Hell Yeah! Double trouble.

So, I should pit them against each other! Or maybe redirect their scheming to their mother!

Oh my goodness. i just realized that I read this a half hour ago and forgot to upvote and comment !

I left my comment elsewhere hehehehe

BUT... this.... is amazing. Your daughter is a jokester and as frustrated as I've been with being unable to get laughter 100% of the time from you.... SHE is spreading out the same frustration on my behalf.

OH GLORIOUS DAY!!!!

so i tell you... your name will once again be Dada.... WHEN and only WHEN you begin laughing HEARTILY and GENUINELY at my funny-ness.

until then....

Goodnight Mama!

Ha ha! You are subverting my daughters in your evil plan to get a chuckle from me? I can't believe the depths (or Heights) of your conniving!

depths, heights and everything in between
BELIEVE IT SIR.

i need laughter!!!!!!!!!!!!

That’s cute, if my son did that my wife would think he was trolling me for sure and that it was hilarious.

It is hilarious when it is someone else! In sure she is trolling me, definitely! I'm going to have to keep an eye on this one!

She's the Daddy! I think that's her game. Smart cookie :)

Ha ha, then she can go and earn some money... I will stay at home and ask for ice cream all day! Works for me!

Always the children and their occurrences. I had fun reading your little anecdote.

Heh, children are funny ones!

Haha, that's adorable.

Heh! Sometimes...

Children can be amusing and frustrating at the same moment! Loved the story!

Definitely both, in varying measures at different times!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60506.21
ETH 3313.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38