Vintage of the Day - Thrift Store Friday, How to Make Money Buying VintagesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fashion6 years ago

friday steemit 2.jpg

Meet my favorite thrift store!

It's not just about vintage, though it's my favorite. It's about resale. I buy gently used goods ALL the time. Once you start, "real" prices seem outrageous. People spend a LOT of money on things that never get used and get thrown away or donated. Resale is important no matter how old it is because in 10 years we are going to be in a very serious landfill situation.

Did you know?

An average American throws away approximately 80 pounds of used clothing per person. On average, nationally, it costs cities $45 per ton to dispose of old clothing. Synthetic clothing may take hundreds of years to decompose. (TheBalance.com)

I'm not a giant fan of thrifts. 2 reasons I like this one- 1. It's extremely local, donates almost ALL proceeds to a single local charity for mental and brain disorders. 2. They take donations from the locals who are loaded. I have no problem profiting on the rich's throwaways and spending money for a great charity.

The pickings are higher quality and you can find a gem or two. There's a big secret to buying and selling vintage. Want to know what it is? Keep reading,I'll tell you at the bottom.

Great charity, great stuff.

I'm not a fan of the thrift grocery size superstores. Too big, too overwhelming, at least for me. I managed to spend 2 hours in this well-curated small resale shop today.
friday steemit 10.jpg
Excellent quality home goods. Many are 25 years or older, others are newer but still excellent quality with life left in them.

Shoes and belts. All sizes. Heels, sandals, flats you name it.
Friday Steemit 3 thrift.jpg
Handbags are a steal. I'm not a big Coach bag fan, BUT they aren't cheap. Easily $300 to $1000. This one was authentic and in immaculate condition. Ahhhhh the steamer trunk. Not rare. No one threw them away, just like cedar chests and old sewing machines. The only thing this one has going for it is it's flat. You can make a table from it.
Friday Steemit 4 thrift.jpg
There's a lovely jewelry counter. Sometimes the prices are insane for resale and other times, to cheap. It's great fun to look and I always find something. Today, I found 7 things at the jewelry counter and 4 pieces of clothing. I will show you the finds in the next post let you know what I paid and what profit I expect to make.
friday steemit 9.jpg

Kitchen and more home goods. SO many great pieces. This is where I'd pick up things to decorate with or buy wine glasses. Just about anything you can think of.

Friday Steemit 6.jpg

The shop from another angle.
friday steemit 19.jpg

Next post, I'll show you what I bought, what I paid and what I expect to make! AND I'll give you a big tip on what to buy in terms of clothing you can make money on in the secondary market.

The secret? The biggest secret to buying and selling second-hand good is knowing QUALITY. What is it, what does it feel like. You could blindfold me and I could the difference between French vs. American dishes. I can feel the differences in fabrics. With jewelry, I don't even care what the maker's mark says, I know when it's quality. Quality holds it's value for resale. Old Navy T-shirts do not. Any questions? Post below I'm always happy to answer what I can!

Love vintage? Check out more posts from this week!

Visit my Vintage Market
The Latest Estate Sale
Unauthorized Mid Century Home Tour
Sinking of the Titantic Board Game - FUN!
Vintage Prince - Controversy
Ever Been to Estate Sale?

Sort:  

Great post! Thrifting is a blast...well my addiction actually!

This is the best thrift ever. I've found designer clothes you wouldn't believe.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 02:18:28
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 85.00/100.00
Total Photos: 16
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67315.02
ETH 3517.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.09