Vintage of the Day - Eighties Music Prince Controversy on Vinyl 1981steemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Prince vinyl 2.jpg

I won't pass up a Prince album or any 80's rock or funk.

The cover is beat up, but the vinyl inside has it's original Warner Bros sleeve. It's easier to find a new cover. prince vinyl 1.jpg

The record is SO clean. It was played carefully.

The best song on this LP is Controversy and followed closely by the 1st song on side 2......Private Joy, hands down.

Prince vinyl 5.jpg
Prince played in the background of my teenage life. Me and my best friend Amy would hide in her bedroom and listen.

It was 7th grade and my Mother never forget to check all labels for inappropriate lyrics. We dodged her.
Prince vinyl 4.jpg

We'd go to the mall with Frances (Amy's Mom) she'd go off to Lord & Taylor and we'd go for music. **Controversy **is one of my first memories with Aim (what I have always called her). There was much more Prince to come as we left middle school and entered high school. We still text each other and see each other, she's in Metro Detroit and I'm in Chicagoland. It's hard to believe we are grown-ups.

Purple Rain? Obsessed. So obsessed, I made my Mom take me to the movies and sit through it. It was ALL about the music. Never did we think it was odd he wore purple and puffy shirts and heels. He was just bad ass and we couldn't get enough.

In 9th grade, we met Kristen and Susan. Three middle schools converged to make a big high school. The love of Prince drew us to them. We spent the next 4 years together. Spanning, Prince, Van Halen, Madonna and then all the one hit wonders there were.
prince vinyl 1.jpg

He was a musical genius in every sense, songwriter producer, musician. Underrated.

I don't feel like I've grown up at all. It's surreal.

All photos are mine, taken by me!

Love vintage? Check out more posts from this week!

The Latest Estate Sale
Unauthorized Mid Century Home Tour
Sinking of the Titantic Board Game - FUN!
Vintage Prince - Controversy
Ever Been to Estate Sale?

Sort:  

Thank you for the repost! I love Prince, listening to him right now. Brings me back....

Thanks! I’ve been listening to Prince non stop since I posted! :)

I love Prince's music. He was a musical genius. Hi Album Musicology was fantastic too...thanks for the post....Long Live Vintage!

He was SO good. Purple Rain was so good. I can’t watch the movie today it’s soooo bad! Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60609.50
ETH 3014.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90