Farm Update: Still Chicken Farming One Year Later in Acapulco!

in #farming6 years ago

It's been a long time since I've really shared anything about the farm in detail and that's partially cause things got stangant for awhile. I was barely keeping birds alive and literally letting enclosures fall apart as I got overwhelmed. Recently we've made a lot of progress and today I decided to take some shots after doing my first round of bird work.

One of the things that first spurred our decision to get chickens was the green foliage you seen between those boulders. They mow that down to nothing saving us a lot of work.

This is one of the very first enclosures we ever built, now failing in some spots and in need of repair tomorrow.

You can see my bad patch on a hollow side that needs replaced. Bugs and weather do a number on wood here.

Tragedy Strikes!

Yesterday we put out a batch of like ten new white chickens into a brand new enclosure in a not very extreme location. John did a late night check and they were still alive but when I walked up and found these white feathers I knew things were not okay. All but two were gone and something had dug under the side.

Death sucks and is sadly a common part of life and farming. Even with gardening you experience death unexpected and not, it's just quieter and less smelly.

Only two remain!!

The plan was to raise them to adults for some eggs but mainly for meat....so much for that.

Rebel the weather dog reports that it's "hot as fuck".

This is what the ground looks like after a day or two of my chickens picking at it....once covered in weeds.

Rebel posing next to an enclosure I need to overhaul tomorrow, which I will share pictures of. He wanted me to throw a tennis ball I was holding in my hand, a ploy to keep him from running off while I was busy. I threw it occasionally for him to chase for fun and to keep him interested.

One of my absolute favorite batches of hens, especially the one with the white speckled chest there. They're my friendliest and chattiest birds.

The brown bits are spots birds have been recently, the green bits are where they haven't touched yet. Quite a difference. Every morning I move those enclosures over a bit so they can essentially mow the ground.

After a few week hiatus of no eggs, we've got egg production again!

Wohoo!

Somewhat famous pet chicken Judd Weiss has grown a beard to match her sideburns. She's also started laying eggs again.

An example of relatively untouched area for the birds to mow down...

Rebel says "Stay tuned for more, lots to come!"

Check out the links below for more like this one!

Farm Update: Pecking Duck Owns Muscovy Duck Pair in Hurricane Water Filled Pool
Farm Update: Hurricane Weather Filled Our Rain Harvesting Pool Making for Epic Pecking Duck Play Time
Farm Update: Both Bunnies are Boys

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

3 Ingredient Chocolate!
Acapulco Gets Stormy: Heavy Rainfall Video
Nut, Berries and Yogurt Snack Bowl

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62625.86
ETH 3333.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47