Update and Analysis to Michigan Bills On Parental Rights

Sometimes contacting your local politicians does actually work!

This morning I wrote this post about a story I heard on the news. Word was a pair of bills were heading to Governor Snyder's desk that would make some changes to the laws around the termination of parental rights. All news reporting was pretty sparse, so I didn't have a whole lot of specifics to discuss.

@vickiebarker asked if I had any information on the actual bills. I didn't even have a bill number. And that got me curious. So I called (and emailed) the office of Michigan State Senator Rick Jones. They were able to provide some information. I now know the changes are contained the package of bills SB 419-421. But I had some other questions that his office was not able to answer, so they told me to reach out to Senator Judy Emmons' office.

I got a reply from someone in her office, but it was only to inform me that the Senator will respond when she can. I mostly just want to know whether this is something that they have been working on alongside the governor's office or not. In other words, does she think he is going to sign.

I'll drop a comment in here if I get a response.

The passed version (in identical form by both houses) of the bills can be found here: 419, 420, 421.
And if you don't want to read through the actual text of the bills, here is an analysis from the House: Summary.

I've read through it and pulled out what I consider the key points.

1

When a minor is under the jurisdiction of the court, they are now required to be returned to the parents if doing so would not cause a substantial risk of harm to the minor or to society.

2

Courts are now required to hold more regular review hearings to determine necessity of displacement order. If a new displacement order is not made, then the court must order the child to be returned to the parents.

3

In a neglect case, the bill now requires that the court determine whether the parents were financially able to provide the proper care for the child. If unable, then it does not qualify as neglect.

4

When building a case based on abuse or neglect of a sibling, the court must now determine whether the conditions that led to the prior termination have been rectified or not.

5

Arresting law enforcement must now collect full biometric data, not just fingerprints

It is certainly no sweeping change to the system. The summary also notes that these changes were actually triggered by some recent court cases in Michigan. Maybe this will build momentum in the legislature to look more closely at other aspects of CPS. We will see.

Be blessed,
~Sam

Image Source: Snyder

Recent Posts:
You've Become My Safe Space—Original Poetry
How Do You Know My Name?—Original Poetry
Steps of Healing # 2: I Will Rise From The Ashes
Steps of Healing #1: My Symbol



Like most of you, I have been trying to build my Steemit account and community. It can take a lot of work to get started, but you are not without resources!

These two sites have helped me start to build a following and find great creators to follow and VIRTUALLY GUARANTEES upvotes and follows. But it is not a direct vote4vote/follow4follow. You upvote or follow accounts that you like and you earn points. These points make you visible for other users to find you and your content. Click the links are start growing your community.
Steem Follower
Steem Engine

Sort:  

This post has been Resteemed and Upvoted by @familyprotection
Governments around the world,
are using "Child Protection Agencies"
to take children away from loving families
and place them in foster care or group homes
or put up for adoption.
THESE FAMILIES NEED PROTECTING.

Thank-you @ssimkins9 for supporting @familyprotection


UPVOTE This Comment & DONATE a portion of the SBD rewards from this post,
TO HELP US HELP FAMILIES IN CRISIS

I skimmed the first 2 or 3 pages and found some language I found disquieting. I'll take a more thorough look in a while.

Yeah, reading through it definitely puts a damper on the tone of the original news story I heard.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Sam Simkins from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

They passed a national bill that's supposed to protect families- there's an article I did on my blog page dissecting it... Beware of Greeks Bearing Gifts.

Thanks! I'll have to check that out.

I truly appreciate the extra effort and time for this update @ssimkins9. This is exactly the info I was looking for, it is always best to go directly to the bills in question. Takes ALL eyes these days!

For sure. Glad to help out. Thanks for the encouragement.

Sounds positive so far. Keep us updated.

I certainly will. Thanks.

Regarding the negligence by socioeconomic status is somewhat debatable, we know that what is important for them are the consequences in the infant. thanks for sharing

Yes, I agree. And I think it is unclear how the agency will actually work with the new rule if it is passed. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76