Ulog 1 - A family birthday dinner – and a brand new silver stacker!

in #family6 years ago

You know how I’ve been very lucky lately with three lovely silver wins? Well, yesterday was an opportunity to pay it forward.

You may not know that @sift666 and I don’t have any children of our own but do have eight nieces and nephews. Our youngest nephew turned 20 yesterday, and what better 20th birthday present than something to start his own silver stack? Not something we only have one of, of course, but we thought he’d like a pretty American Eagle. He did! He liked it very much.

Not a lot more that can be said about that, but I do want to talk about his birthday dinner.

genghis-khan1.jpg

We went to what has to be one of Wellington’s oldest restaurants, as I remember going there in the 80’s and it’s exactly the same! It’s called Genghis Khan and it’s a Mongolian barbeque restaurant. Most places in Wellington, you’d be lucky to get just a main for $26, but here you get unlimited soup (chicken and corn), unlimited BBQ and a dessert for $26.

How the BBQ works is:

• Grab a bowl.
• Fill it with noodles and/or your choice of fresh veges (onion, carrot, cabbage, cauli, broccoli, tomato, bean sprouts or all of them)
• Top it with your choice of meat(s): chicken, lamb, beef, pork or a mixture
• Ladle some seasonings over the top, such as garlic, ginger, chilli, lemon water, cooking wine, soy sauce, curry powder
• Hand your bowl to one of the chefs who will toss it onto the large gas powered grill, stir it round with some enormous chopstick like things for a minute or so, then toss it back into your bowl
• If desired, top with more sauces such as sweet & sour or satay
• Go back as many times as desired

genghis-khan2.png

genghis-khan3.png

We were enchanted to see that the drinks menu included a list of cocktails, also right out of the 80’s and only $9.50 each. Cocktails are much more sophisticated now, and usually much more expensive, so it was fun to see a list that included:

• Black Russian
• Bloody Mary
• Harvey Wallbanger
• Tequila Sunrise
• Fluffy Duck
• Daiquiri
• Margarita
• Golden Dream
• Grasshopper
• And Pina Colada

I ordered a Golden Dream (galliano, cointreau, orange and cream) after also seriously considering a Fluffy Duck or a Pina Colada, and it was yum. My niece went for a grasshopper (crème de menthe, crème de cacao and cream) but didn’t like it, so I had that too. More alcohol than I’ve had all year! Everybody else happily hoovered down their Black Russians, Harvey Wallbangers and Pina Coladas.

pina-colada.jpg

The dessert menu included such classics as banana fritter & ice cream, lychees & ice cream, smoking chocolate ice cream (with a glass of dry ice underneath it), chocolate mousse and deep fried ice cream.

There were 10 of us at a big round table – my brother and sister in law, the two oldest boys with their partners, the birthday boy, his sister and the two of us. So it was a fun, lively gathering.

brothers.jpg
The birthday boy with his two big brothers and mum in the background.

banana-fritter.jpg
One of the brothers’ partners ordered a banana fritter, but wasn't quite expecting this!

If you’re in Wellington, or visiting, and don’t want to break the bank, I highly recommend the Genghis Khan for a fun night out with a group. Go early though. We booked for 6.30pm and managed to get our food before it got too busy. Later on, the queues were a lot longer!

After dinner, we went to his brother’s place for birthday cake, presents and coffee. All in all, a most enjoyable family night out, but I did indulge in several things I wouldn’t normally, so ate more sparsely today!

Thanks for reading

Images 1-3 from the Genghis Khan website, 4 from Pixabay, 5-6 by @sift666.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

Great pay it forward idea to start off your nephew's silver collection for his 20th birthday present, @kiwideb. And Congratzzz on those three silver wins, btw.

Your family always has great bashes! This one was another hit. That restaurant is a winner so when I'm doing my bus tour there, I'll definitely be going to swill a couple old time cocktails. Will probably have a BBQ mixture, tequila and either the fritter or lychee with ice cream. Yummmm. ;)

Great pictures, Deb. Beautiful family, loved the one with Mom and boys together at the table.

GREAT #Ulog!!! Welcome again and have fun with them now that you know more of what they're about. xxx

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

I'll look forward to having some cocktails with you there when you visit. I can get very silly on very little alcohol, so we can have a few laughs!

Wonderful! Looking forward to it too. And me too! Should be hilarious. ;)

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Genghis Khan!
Wow a scary name for such a fun and welcoming place.
Maybe it only scares me because I'm Arab lol but I bet it will always be one of his best birthdays ;)

Yes, down here in New Zealand, we're much further away from any Mongolian hordes, so it's not so scary for us! And hopefully his 20th will be one he remembers.

so sweet mam happy birthday to him awesome family get together always stay blessed and stay happy mam 😍😍

It's lovely to have these family get togethers to remember!

I like the sound of this, shame its so far away. :)

Maybe one day you will get to visit us colonials. And maybe @len.george, @kiwiscanfly and @andysantics will trek down to have a cocktail with us.

I would love to meet you all, would be... Hopefully one day :)

I so love mongolian bbq!!!! and look at you - a ulogger ;)

hehehehehe even though i can probably eat all of this stuff EXCEPT the banana fritter. gahhhhhhhhhhhh it looks so delish hehehehe

i hope you had a fabulous time!

I was a bit naughty, but I can get away with it occasionally. The banana fritter would have been a bit much for me though! I had the mousse, which was yum.

Yeah...I have some gluten enzymes that helped to break down the smallest traces of it ... If say...something was fried in oil that also had gluten....

But it's not the visible symptoms that made me cautious. It's what I know is happening to my gut lining and the 4 month immunological cascade happening for the next season of my life. Lololol

Ugh. Gluten. Why must you be so delicious and so poisonous to me!?!?! TEMPTRESS!

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Congratulations @kiwideb! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52