Facebook Invests Millions in Community Leaders - What Steemit Inc Should Learn From This

in #facebook6 years ago

Who cares more about the community, wine with Facebook execs, and why @ned should learn a thing or two from Mark Zuckerberg

(Source: https://steemit.com/funny/@mynameisbrian/ned-scott-vs-mark-zuckerberg)

About a year ago I was working for a startup that got an invitation to an FBStart event in Tel-Aviv. It was a Facebook event, but one with a very specific audience - developers. That didn't stop me from (drinking two glasses of wine and) chewing off the ear of a Facebook exec about the need for community moderation to replace automated and very bad censorship mechanisms, as well as better tools for community management and groups. Said exec listened and nodded.

Last week, Facebook announced that it will be awarding up to $1 million to five community leaders and $50,000 to 100 more. The goal, according to the company blog, is "to empower leaders from around the world who are building communities through the Facebook family of apps and services". In addition, the company plans to invest more in hiring additional humans to manage community guideline violations and prevent abuse of the platform. Supposedly.

Community First?

At this point, Facebook is focusing on Facebook Groups and their admins. Facebook claims the goal is to empower leaders, but it's not secret that one of the goals is to divert attention from bad publicity the company has been getting lately. But isn't just that. Community managers are assets to social platforms, and Facebook understands that.

I am not surprised that Facebook is targeting group admins as I myself currently limit my use of Facebook to the Israeli Steemit group I admin there, as well as chat with friends and family. Many community leaders are doing just that, and it's a hard job that takes up time. Time is money and Facebook understands that, which is why they're offering monetary incentives in addition to tools to the community leaders on the platform.

What Steemit Inc Should Be Doing

Unlike Mark Zuckerberg, @ned doesn't have a big pool of cash in his house (I am assuming, correct me if I am wrong). He doesn't need to. I don't know the math, and don't care much about politics, nor do I believe that waiting for SMTs is a good reason to ignore an obvious problem with the power distribution on the platform and abuse of said power. I am not the first to say that, nor am I the last. 

With the vast majority of the stake in the platform in the hands of a small percentage of users or one side, and plankton users encountering bandwidth limitations - Steemit Inc should be doing SOMETHING.

If Facebook can throw millions of dollars at community leaders, why can't Steemit Inc and @ned do the same thing with power delegations? Are they using them for something else?

Community leaders on the platform are not hard to spot - look for dolphins and minnows guiding others onto the platform, encouraging good content creator and curating a lot. These people are the main reason for the growth of the website's user base (and retention) at this point. 

(Steemit Community Leader in Actions)

Facebook vs Steemit

I fully expect (yet another) argument on the merits of steemit as a truly decentralized and democratic platform that rewards authors instead of selling its users to advertisers. There's no doubt steemit has the advantage over Facebook in that field. But when I see Facebook dedicating budgets to community development, while the founders of steemit inc bicker in comments on the blockchain? I feel embarrassed to admit that there's a lot @ned needs to learn from Mark Zuckerberg when it comes to strategic empowerment of the most valuable asset a social platform has - its users.

-=-=-=-

Sort:  

Wow, this is a great idea. It doesn't upset the apple cart, but it would give some power where it's needed. I think the problem now is that,in the face of whales, too many newbies are being tempted into giving up their voting power to automation and curation schemes, instead of encouraging diverse content. It so frustrating to see 100 views and 20 votes, but 40 people commenting. I truly think this is a symptom of the imbalance you're mentioning here.

I also agree that plankton retention is essential to platform growth, which is the key to lifting the rewards cap through a higher steem price. I think. Anyway, that's part of what I tried to do with @dolphinschool bootcamp. I just wanted to stop by and say thanks for supporting me and return the favor with a small upvote and comment. Thanks, and keep it up, this is great content! @makrmorrisjr

I think you're doing important work so I support however I can. <3

Thanks! Well, I'll be looking for some "buddies" to adopt a plankton the next time through. More personal attention. Let me know if you might be interested. It will likely only be five days, instead of 10, 10 was waaay too much.

So long the power distribution problem exists on Steemit, it's the sort of "Capitalist Robber Baron" way of "decentralized," which is to mean, the people with all the power act as if they're poor sheep and you better not allow a sheriff into town or they'd shoot the sheriff, and you too.

I think the biggest problem with Steemit is that it seems unwilling to learn. Facebook is constantly evolving. Not always for the better, but it is learning from its mistakes - again, sometimes to its betterment over us - but where is Steemit's learning, and especially its opportunity for free experience - learning from its predecessors' mistakes?

it's a pity all that steem remains dormant when it could be delegated to so many awesome people that work really hard for the platform. But what is even more pity is that out of the few times there is a delegation it usually is to greedy people that abuse it to make themselves and their close circle rich..

Lots of interesting points. Steemit does have a bit of that "Committee" feel - like a town hall debating stuff endlessly, nothing really getting resolved, and only the loudest voices getting heard.

I'm not a fan of Facebook, but they do have the advantage of a CEO who can make decisions and turn the ship decisively when the winds change. And there's no shame in looking to the biggest social media site going for a few ideas on how to make things better here. After all, we don't have to copy the bad habits.

Now if enough of us could agree on what the good and bad habits really are...

I am by no means a fan of Facebook, but I agree that Steemit is not working as advertised. I put a lot of thought and effort into creating thoughtful content yet my payouts are very small. And yet I see some people post meme after meme and earning hundreds. If things don't change I am not sure how much of a future Steemit will have.

the answer to that is investment,
Steemit is investment in time and treasure, did you invest?

What do you mean by "treasure"? I invest a lot of time in Steem, which is evidenced by my long, well thought out blog posts. I don't see the same investment of time spent by people just posting memes. So I am still not sure how those earn more, as they are not better quality.

steemit is not about only blogging, it is also a facebook like, a tweeter like, a 9gag that promote memes, a you tube like, a github like etc.

you can't compare your own post that rely only to other steemians who have high stake.

  • steemit is decentralize, This steemians that can upvotes their own post using their own stake have their rights to used it that's why they invest.

Treasure? people used their own pocket to buy steem and power up to support their own content to have a voice.

Always remember that curator's are investors and giving their upvotes to somebody they like. No one can dictate them or force them to upvote your post.

better stop complaining rather than keep on finding the better way. The best way? buy more steem and power up! this will speed up your growth

  • it's not steemit gives you rewards, it's the user like you.

nonsense. usually arrogant tripe. Steemit sells its rewards as an inducement to gain members. Many members from less wealthy backgrounds join to improve themselves and work hard, This member invests time, who the fuck are you to tell them to spend money buying more steem...many people are because they dont have money, certainly not to gamble on crypto. So @albertvhon , try haing some empathy and wind your neck in.

it is you @nathen007 is arrogant, can you hear want you are saying?

I am not telling her to spend money, what I told that this steemians gains so much rwards because they invest with money! she is complaining why she earn less, didn't you just read and jump into conclusion, then she replied that it does not worth his money, meaning she has the money but steemit is not worth to invest for.

This member invests time, who the fuck are you to tell them to spend money buying more steem

you are rude enough, if people are work harder in steemit, then why complain earning less?

  • are you?
    I am telling her the truth, what empathy you want from a complaining one than telling the truth.

You must know who rewards your post? is it the steemit? or the co-users like you who invest in time and money.

Compare her posts to your posts, tell where the value to the community is ! She provides great content, works hard and gets almost no reward. People like you post crap get loads of reward. Whats so difficult to understand ?
Steemit, and all the older members constantly tell new members to post great content and be rewarded....you post 'how to be a great member posts' , but it doesnt work. The system is broken. As for dmania, total dumbing down of the ecosystem. and now big you tubers are arriving gaining 1550USD for one crap video...where is their investment, following your logic ?
People dont buy SP just to be benevolent, they buy it to make money. Like you. Thankfully people like this OP provide brilliant content to help the community, her talent is paying you.

Sound like BIG Youtubers having friends with nice SP and it very beneficial.

Thats the real problem here, you keep comparing and complaining!

Your good content is bad for others, your bad content is good for others, How do you know what is good or bad?

Why not start working what's a better way to success,

  • Is it we come here for the the same pupose,the REWARDS?

Again, who gives the REWARDS?

Like What I said, Steemit is not about blogging only,

are you upset?

I am not telling anybody to buy sp, yet I am telling that they buy sp and upvote themselves to gain visibility.

Successful people don't complain, they work hard, by jack ma

I would never buy more SP, that really would not be worth my money. And Steemit does work the way you explain, but that is not how it is promoted to work. That is the issue. Steemit is pegged as this amazing blogging platform where you earn money for quality content (like I do with my own website). The reality is how you describe it: a glorified facebook where friends upvote friends. I don't like facebook and twitter already works well for me, so I joined Steemit looking for a different experience.

I agree on parts of your points and as I pointed out in my latest blog post, Steemit itself has possible tools to balance those kinds of things.
Nevertheless, you have to see Steemit differently.
I'd more advertise it like this:

  • On the long term, quality content eventually will get you money.
    Since, on the short term stupid memes might bit you out, but after you build a certain followership you will grow with them.
    I would like to point out 2 things here.
    a) It is definitely worth investing in SP, since it gives you back through curation (which is probably more than what you get at your bank at the moment) and you are able to grow with the price of steem, which might get you some extra $.
    b) It is like opening your own blog, at the beginning, even if you post a lot of good content, it might not get you rewarded, but as you grow and continue to post good and interesting content you will.
    And the chance of this happening in Steem is 1000 higher than in a regular blog.

I would never buy more SP, that really would not be worth my money.

see, you are selfish

you want yourself to be given and not giving back. Better read @raycoms reply

It is definitely worth investing in SP, since it gives you back through curation (which is probably more than what you get at your bank at the moment) and you are able to grow with the price of steem, which might get you some extra $.

how do you know she can afford it ? Arrogant muppet

I totally agree with you, Last night I couldn't sleep, was doing a lot of researches to come up with a brilliant post that doesn't get flagged, and the end of the day my payouts are really small, it's discouraging. @ned and the Steem Inc should really work on that.

Oh that sounds like a brilliant idea! Plus I know that Ned actaully cares about Steemit and the community, whereas I can't say the same about Mark Facebook guy ;) Power delegations are such a great thing and something that can help the community grow so much.

I had an idea a while back about Dolphins, Orcas and Whales taking a team of Minnows and Red Fish under their wing and helping them out from time to time with the odd upvote and delegated power here and there to help them grow faster. There would be requirements to be elligible to be part of a team, and teams would switch up, but it could be a fun way to help people grow and entice new folk to the platform, knowing that even if they start with nothing, they can get teamed up and guided to become great Steemians themselves. There are so many people here who help others, and I myself got some pwoer delegated from someone who felt I deserved it. So if there are people who actively work for the community, like the witnesses, and who get delegated power for their work and their contributions, then more people can help improve the platform.

And I mean, someone like me could create videos ads for Steemit too. I've worked with corporate companies to create commercial ads. I have resources available to me. If I and anyone else who works in video production create a video ad for Steemit, in a pro and savvy way, and then we share that everywhere we can, toehrs share it, and my payment is delegated power, I'd do it. As little "spoons" as I haave, I would dedicate time for that, not just promote it in videos for YouTube, but the whole shebang of a proper commercial ad.

Everyone can do something and get rewarded for it, without Ned spending a dime.

And the more people are enticed to join, the more they will see how it is here and want to stay, because on Facebook, I don't feel valued the same way I do here. I feel I count, I feel I make a difference to people's lives and contribute to their well being by being here and being me. If everyone saw and felt that, then they would swoop in by the millions.

THis is a great post and somehting the needs to be looked into by Ned to focus on growth of users of Steemit, it seems to me he has switched focus to SMTs and left Steemit Floundering to be honest

THe key for growth of Steemit into a more mainstream site is the newcomers t the site feeling welcomed and seeing the potential here and growing with it, that is why even as a small fish on the site i focus on trying to help new comers, with a small part adopting a new comer and trying to help them grow but also through a couple of communities I am active in

Lets hope Ned may see this and realize the good he can do

Amen. I had a friend promise me he'd send this post to the steemit slack group. I told him: "Either @ned listens or he downvotes me to death. I'm willing to take that risk."

I would Hope would see your post is purely with good intent and no Malice and it may prompt him to take some action

Yes, waiting for magical SMT's does not negate the current climate of Aquatic Dysfunction and the need for improvement.
but, but.......Lambos

I've only been on Steemit a couple of days, but after reading this post I'll pay more attention to how this is really being structured. I guess Steemit is still in its infancy. Remember facebook is nearly 15 years old. Steemit is less than 2 years.

Indeed they did give some delegations but a lot more are kept with them.

It would be better if they delegate it to a lot more dolphins and minnows who are building communities and inviting more people to Steemit.

There are a lot of communities and advocacy that would benefit and we would have more people encouraged to join, stay and build projects.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70