Facebook is getting desperate after the Cambridge Analytica fiasco! And why this is good news for decentralized internet!

in #facebook6 years ago

instashiks.PNG
Yesterday I saw facebook advertising itself on its sister brand Instagram

After the Cambridge Analytica fiasco came to light Mark Zuckerberg has been scrambling to save face for his social media behemoth. He has been issuing public statements and giving slightly awkward TV interviews. Now facebook is getting desperate! Just as people are running the "delete facebook" hashtag, facebook is trying to remind users even on Instagram that they should get back to facebooking. Talk about desperate moves!

As someone who has been on facebook since 2006 and been a fan of all that Zuckerberg has accomplished I feel not just let down by but genuinely sad for Zuck. He was the original nerd of my generation.

zucka.PNG
Back in the day my love for Zuck knew no bounds

In fact, I am one of those strange creatures whose favorite movie has been The Social Network for the longest time. But let's get to the meat of the conversation - facebook and Zuck have let us down and there should be consequences.

The #deletefacebook thing sounds rather meh to me but I won't deny that it is having some sort of an impact on people from what I have observed. One of my friends who has been an active facebook user actually did delete the app from his phone. But not before he posted he was going to do so on facebook. We will have to wait and see how long this separation lasts before the urge to check notification kicks right back in.

For my part, I have used facebook not just as a communication tool but also for my business ventures. I won't deny that Facebook and Twitter have brought value to my professional life.

I think, or at least I hope, that this incident and the various troubles facebook has been getting in of late will contribute to the slow but certain downfall of centralized social media powerhouses like Facebook and Twitter. And this will be the consequence that I as a crypto-human would like to see facebook deal with. I would love to hear what others have to say about this.

I strongly believe that decentralized internet powered by crypto tech such as blockchain will replace the majority of the centralized internet. And that it will happen fast. I predict that well over 50% of all websites will be replaced by block explorers of some kind, or similar tech, by 2025, if not sooner. You can quote me on that. Just don't be a mainstream media fanboy/fangirl and misquote me.

When I say "replace" I don't mean that companies like facebook will shut down. They will adapt and do what they do best - manipulate data and continue to make money through advertisers. But they will not remain the dominant forces they are today for sure because advertising as the most powerful revenue source on the internet is being disrupted by crypto even as I type this.

As awesome as Facebook, Google, and Amazon have been, these centralized powerhouses have done the one thing no business should do - breach customer/user trust repeatedly. Users are far more educated today than they were about data and privacy concerns when facebook was born. This is why I believe that a decentralized internet is coming with more of the centralized internet's benefits and less of its drawbacks. Wait for it!


Check out some of my previous posts:


If you like my work kindly follow me - @shikharsri . Upvote, resteem it to your friends, and consider adding me to your Steemvoter

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63228.07
ETH 3244.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90