New Steemit Collaboration: Poem of Mine Set to Music & Sung by Creative Steemian @caleblailmusik

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

image

elegance.png

One of the joys of being an artist is collaborating with other artists. In most cases, the final product is a pleasant surprise, the whole greater than the sum of the parts. This was the case, when fellow Steemian and creative soul, @caleblailmusik decided to turn one of my poems into a song. I'd heard Caleb sing before, his own original material, and was impressed by his passion and intensity. Following that, we discussed the possibility of a collaboration. Rather than suggest something, I thought it best if he chose a poem of mine that resonated with him, which he might turn into a song.

I admit I was, somewhat, surprised when Caleb settled on "Embracing, We Let Go". As you can see from the words, below, Embracing is a somewhatdifficult poem, in the sense of inward and hinting at elusive metaphysical truths regarding spiritual maturity and evolution.

thick line.png

Embracing, We Let Go

Perhaps, we are negotiating
not just with one, but always two
-who share the same soil, it is true-
one who lives, another who is dying

A shift in balance begins to take place
once a love of silence is confessed
its roots run deep, its shade a world
and her fruits impossible to forget

From the first, we surrender something
and, gradually, consent to be emptied
transfixed by so much soundless music
drunk and sated through lipless mouths

What use to name this silent master
preparing us for dying or the Divine
(I’m not sure there is a difference)
but know in embracing, we let go

I'm pleased with the direction Caleb has taken this piece, and hope you will be, too—the way he's opened it up, lightening the mood with unusual instrumentation and atmospheric music, as well as finding the inner beat in the words, and turning it into a kind of rap/spoken word piece. In lending the poetry his breath, I feel that the words acquires a new urgency, vulnerability and beauty.

If you agree, you'll see that my young friend has also released the recorded version as a single which you can listen to, here, or check it out on Spotify, iTunes, Apple Music, YouTube, Amazon, etc. in the next few days, where it'll be available to stream in those avenues!

Thank you, for listening and supporting art/ists!

(Cover art by @caleblailmusik)

leaf flourish.png

If you're interested in other collaborations of mine with creative souls on Steemit, I hope you might enjoy these as well:

Carl.jpg
@Carlgnash

My first creative collaboration involved submitting a short poem of mine to @Carlgnash for his consideration. To my happy surprise, Carl then put it to music & sang it, in addition to composing a stirring prose poem/prayer of his own alongside it.

I'm delighted with the outcome, which you can check out, here: https://steemit.com/dtube/@carlgnash/1mwk8ljv

For my second collaboration on this platform, I shared a longer poem of mine with another young artist (studying at Harvard University) that I met on Steemit, @tninh, who created original art work, inspired by a stanza in my poem. You can view the evocative final product, here: https://steemit.com/@tninh


(art by @tninh)

More recently, I had the distinct privilege to collaborate with distinguished Canadian music producer, @rok-sivante, on this platform on 3 poems of mine, which he transformed into fresh and transporting works of art:

If

Breath

Dawning

Also, because I think conversation is also an art, below, is a wide-ranging, video exchange with the thoughtful, sensitive and very accomplished (off Steemit) musician,
@benleemusic on "the power of language and the responsibility we have to contribute to positive change in the world"

Lastly, a short interview with @thenewalchemists touching on the role of the artist a activist, or artivist

yahiala.png

leaf flourish.png

If you like what you see/here, I hope you might consider sharing/resteeming this post with other art lovers. Thank You _/|\_

Sort:  

A shift in balance begins to take place
once a love of silence is confessed
its roots run deep, its shade a world
and her fruits impossible to forget

My beloved son is with his dad for the next few weeks and it is a time of great festivals in Vancouver ... I could party all night and day if I wish. I find myself instead drawn to solitude and silence. Parenting is a blessing but it is also hard work and challenging to the psyche. When we let go and embrace the quiet so much fortitude is found and seeds are sown for what comes next. The delightful hurricane I call my son.

A truly wonderful piece of poetry, Yahia:)

When we let go and embrace the quiet so much fortitude is found and seeds are sown for what comes next.

Beautifully-stated, Pryde. I'm not a parent, but as an uncle of nearly a dozen and a half 'delightful hurricanes' I fully understand the need to withdraw and recharge, my friend.

Wishing you a companionable solitude and fruitful silence. Love to the kid, you're lucky to have each other. <3

We are indeed ... I imagine you are the favorite uncle to many of those hurricanes:)

It would be bragging to admit to it... (butyesandmyheartistheirsforstompingon).

It is always interesting to get a peek at what some one else sees in your own work. A very different direction than I was expecting having read the poem but really an awesome and urgently felt collaboration!

Thanks, for making time for this, Carl. Hope all’s well your end 🙏🏼

Really amazing poem and know you are the great poet ,nice your writing. Nice singer as well @Carlgnash and music also amazing, thanks to share.

DQmcFx2yfQ8NC6RzhUWFJD5ShcTa6wrDK8Hn5XBvici31Pa.gif
Congratulations my friend! You are indeed a wonderful person.

A very beautiful and clear poem was deeply touched. Then, when your poems are sung, I can deepen my understanding, and this is a great collaboration.

Really cool, my friend. I do not bewitch you with my words.

Again, very cool and very amazing. 👌

Sincerely! 🙏

what a creativity!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84