Pink BougainvilleasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #esteem6 years ago

Pink Bougainvillea

They're pretty. They're colourful. And they are very prickly. It is best to admire bougainvilleas from a distance as their thorns are solid and very sharp as anyone who has to prune them will tell you.

pkbtr4stm6.jpg

The Bougainvillea plant is a genus of thorny ornamental vines, bushes, and trees. The flowers are actually very small and each cluster is surrounded by a variety of coloured bracts which include pink, magenta, purple, red, orange, yellow, and white. There are 18 species in the genus and are native to South America and Southern Argentina.

th5ecnzdfi.jpg

The vines grow from 3 to 40 feet tall and will easily take over other plants. They are also characterized by their spiky thorns which have a black, waxy substance on their tips. They are evergreen in climates which receive rainfall all year around and deciduous if there is a dry season. Bougainvillea Glabra are often referred to as “Paper flowers” because of the thin, papery texture of the bracts.

93vh32omup.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VIEWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

Source:

Posted using eSteem Surfer

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you @pixresteemer...…... our mystery ex-tsuvian

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on .

Why join discord room?
Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

I’ll always associate the Bougainvillea to me getting married. My husband and I eloped to the Daintree Forest and the boutique resort we stayed had them everywhere. I love them, but I’ve never successfully grown them in my garden in Victoria. Maybe I’ll try again. They are very pretty in all their different shades, and as you’ve mentioned, very prickly! I enjoyed the little reminder of this climber. It’s been a while since I’ve thought of them. :)

Hello @linnyplant I'm glad my post reminded you of your elopement (what fun) and what will obviously be happy memories for you. The Daintree forest sounds like a perfect backdrop for a romantic occasion.

Wonderful photos, Trudee. I love this flower and I would love to have it in my garden but the kids are always playing among the plants and the sap of bougainvillea may cause skin rash. 😢
I cannot wait for them to grow up and banish them from my garden. 😂

Thanks so much @roxy-cat I'm sure your kids would not like to play near them once they have been stabbed by their sharp thorns. I hope all is well in your garden (lol)

Everything is quiet in the garden...plain white. 😂

I'm sure there is a poem there somewhere Roxy......waiting.........waiting........(lol)

Everything is white
In the garden plain white of
Silence around us

Oh........I didn't really expect you to rise to the challenge Roxy but you have just proven once again just how talented you are. Well Done!

I'm glad you like it, Trudee. I was hoping to summon the haiku bot but it looks like my poem is not for its taste. 😂

I think @haiku must have been snoring when you wrote this poem @roxy-cat Hopefully he will not miss your next Shakepearian- worthy poem. (:

They’re an awesome defensive perimeter 😆 and the bastard things are impossible to kill! We’ve got one in the yard that has survived every attempt to murder it so far 😳

Posted using Partiko iOS

Bougainvilleas certainly do create an awesome, defensive barrier @ryivhnn Who needs barbed wire when you have plants like these? They'd make very effective deterrant walls for jails I reckon. A prisoner would have to be crazy or very determined to try and scale a mature wall of bouganvillieas.

If your bougainvillea plant refuses to be murdered after all your attempts, I'm assuming if you ignored it completely, it would probably thrive just to spite you. (lol)

I reckon that’s exactly it 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

You always pick these lovely flowers to post well i must say this flower we have lots over here in Thailand and in many beautiful colors :)

Oh....thats good to hear @hangin Glad you enjoyed viewing these images. We have such a wide variety of interesting and colourful flowers here in Oz don't we? And from what I have seen Thaliand has so much to offer as well.

They are such beautiful flowers! Great photos. Don't forget to enter the Advent contest every day through December @esteemapp

Thank you Melinda. I'm glad you like them. I'm not familiar with the Advent contest but I assume since I didn't start on December 1st I wouldn't qualify anyway. I'll check it out though.

It's a day by day thing and a very generous Christmas gift from @esteemapp

I've just seen your reply Melinda. It is probably not too late to check it out then? I must do that.

@esteemapp will be having the contest until the New Year, I believe. Plenty of time to enter!

Fantastic! Thanks for that Melinda.

They are gorgeous! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75