My ArtVenture: Watercolor vs Soft pastel "Lamberthi fountain in Münster"

in #esteem6 years ago

Helo dear Steemians,

I miss one day of my regular posting, as you sometimes know life is life and we sometimes busy with other more urgent stuff. So this time I was working with watercolor and as you know it is a new medium I am learning that is why I was very careful and cautious. I spent much time with the layers for them to get dry and put more layers to make colors more intense.

The topic came very easily, I love our mother city, beautiful student city Münster in north west Germany in the state called Nordrhein-Westfalen (North Rhine-Westphalia) or NRW. I love city centre with its old beautiful restorated buildings and multiple sitting ourside opportunities and multiple sightseeing places.

I love the old fountain, because it is situated in front of of old Cathedral called St. Lamberti Cathedral, the Fountain is called Lamberthi Fountain that was built by Heinrich Bäumer jun. in 1956, after the old one was destroyed in WWII, the old one was built by his father in 1909. The figures are the farmers family of four persons three adults and one kid, I hope you will be able to recognise on my painting.

The same place I have already painted using my soft pastels and it was in my previous post last year, I will attach a link to that post and also the picture so you can see the difference in those two medium. I would be really interested to hear your opinions about them.

So my watercolor color painting that I finished today.



Watercolor vs Soft pastel "Lamberthi fountain in Münster" by @Stef1

fu7s6niwm4.jpg

jsli7g4632.png


My step-by-step process:

snxc8xe0rx.jpg

jsli7g4632.png

qjui6m2enr.jpg

jsli7g4632.png

np7hrnslhu.jpg

jsli7g4632.png

66rnyt6pfy.jpg

jsli7g4632.png

Watercolor "Lamberthi fountain in Münster" by @Stef1

j271tteq6e.jpg

Watercolor textured paper 30.5x40.5 cm, paper weight 300 gsm, watercolors colors in pans and tubes, flat and round brushes.

jsli7g4632.png

Soft pastel"Lamberthi fountain in Münster" by @Stef1

cxym4w7m0c.jpg

Here is the link to my original post with the process steps:

https://steemit.com/deutsch/@stef1/mein-dank-an-euch-and-my-pastel-drawing-lamberti-fountain

jsli7g4632.png



Test-1ab.jpg


DSC01062.jpg


hf9bijdca2.png


I hope you enjoyed my post and thank you for viewing :-)

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thank you @artzone for your support :)

Ohhh I have to say that I prefer the pastel version, but your watercolour one is definitely not bad.
                       
I like the shininess of the watercolours, and the space that you left blank in the picture work very well also :).

Because I amvery confident with pastels I know how to apply it I decided that time to use for more realistic way, as to watercolor I am still a bit scared of it, so I decided to go like the childish way, but I feel that at least my colors look well and in total the painting also not too bad. You can't imagine how many works in the past I had to destroy :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you C2 for support :)

Beautiful picture, @stef1 :) I really like the detailing of the arches and windows on the background's building... The step by step is always beautifully presented, and I also like the colours you used here... It feels like a soft afternoon! :)

Thank you @veryspider for your thoughtful comment, it is always nice to hear what you think, there are a lot of important tip I can use for my future works :)

Beautiful work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42