Home Stead: Planting Veggies and my Celebration

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

1. First Celebration: Happy Eid Mubarak to all friend who celebrate it.

Today I would like to celebrate 3 things, I will be very happy if you can feel my happiness. First thing I would like to celebrate today is Eid El-Mubarak (Hari Raya Qurban). The way I celebrate it is by cooking 3 giant pots of “Goat Curry”. And all of those curries are for give away for the villagers instead of giving them the fresh meat. 3 giant pots were enough for 1000 people, but we gave it for 50 poor people, it would be enough for 10 people to eat twice for each pack we gave. Our pack was included rice, that was Our Way for “Qurban” in our village this Eid El Adha (Eid Mubarak). To fulfill the duty of qurban, firstly we gave fresh meat for some people and then those people return it and asked me to cook (base on the villagers meeting). So, I participate as cooker again. Sorry I don’t have photos for completion. That is not a big deal any way. You have seen the recipe for 4500 people on my previous post. Besides, I did not take any photograph this time.

2. Second Celebration: Cleaning the farming land for Planting Papaya

And the second things I would like to celebrate is I have managed to clean half of the area for papaya plantation, and on preparing for seedling. The seeds are on the poly bag as the nursery pots for seedling.
I am a lazy farmer, I don’t work whole day in the farming land, nor use other man power to do what I need to do, but I work when I have time and plant what does not need full day attention, I choose to plant something easy..LOL. Since I don’t have time to work full day while I need to earn something for daily income, so I work 2 or 3 hours a day in farming land, but I have cleaned the land about 50x100 m2 for 10 days, that is really an achievement since I work manually using hoe, after cleaning the bushes using machete. I am really sure when those seeds ready to plant, the land also ready to accommodate it. Business is not only about talking, but about action, I am right?, so, I took action to start it since 2 weeks ago. ( I will update it on the complete post)

npxkm2pzem.jpg
These are Brazilian Tramontina and Homemade Kukri, I used these two sharp blades to cut the bushes and then using the hoe to clean the weads, until it completely clean.

aouq0i9kl3.jpg
This is the land I need to clean for planting papaya

nxwvadszrt.jpg
This is the land I have cleaned so far

3. Third Celebration: My green mustard almost ready for harvesting

In my area green veggies is not something expensive and difficult to find, most of those veggies in traditional market is brought from Berastagi-North Sumatera by the broker, and some of it (really small quantities) are planted in the area. Here, I took a chance to grow something in the yard I borrow from my brother @steemitcountry. My brother and his partner have cleaned the upper land to plant papaya, and I use the lower land to plant veggies. Meanwhile, I am cleaning the other side of the land for planting papaya with some support from our sister. I will use her land to plant papaya, while waiting the land to be cleaned (it will take longer time than I expected because I work 3 hours a day to clean it by myself). I plant veggies for financial support of main project.

zr2zmvn7du.jpg

I grow green mustard on the land after I clean it from bushy and weeds. I choose to plant it because this commodity is not planted by many people in my area, so I can expect good market price and will be able to compete with other supply from Medan. It is important strategy to apply for better price of my product.
Actually, It is not really difficult to grow green mustard as long as you work and take care of it properly, here is the step by step of planting green mustard.

A. Preparing the nursery dyke.

The mustard seed is really small, even smaller than a single sand, so we need to prepare the dyke for nursery because I plant it on the ground instead of hydroponic system. If I plant this species using hydroponic system I won’t need the nursery dyke, I only need to put a single seed of mustard directly on wet sponge, and then it will grow up faster. But, that system is use for no space or no land at all to plant veggies. I have land (not mine), so I use cheaper way to grow it. The nursery dyke needs to be well plowed and watered before spreading the seeds. The size of the dyke is depended on how much seed you want to spread. I made 1.2 x 15 m dykes to spread 100 gr of seed.

erib88z55n.jpg
This is the surface of nursery dyke before spreading the seed on. The actual size of the dyke is 1.2 x 15 m2. But you can make smaller and larger according to the quantity of the seed that you are going to sprinkle.

jcemxt3t5s.jpg
These are the sprouts after 12 days on nursery dyke, they are ready to plant on the growing dyke. Actually, they are the remaining sproud that left. I started to plant it when they were 7 days old.

B. Sowing the seeds

Since the seeds are very small, I need special way to sprinkle it in order to maintain the density of the sprouts, the easiest way to do it is by mixing the seed with dry sand/dirt before I spread it. Take 1-1.5 kg dry sand and mix it thoroughly with 100 g of seeds and then sow it on the nursery dyke. But, the land needs to be flashed well before the seeds are sprinkled. It is to increase the growing rate of the seeds. If the growing rate reaches 90% then the sprout will be enough for 8 growing dykes.

C. Growing dyke

Preparing growing dyke is similar to nursery dyke, the dyke need to plow well enough before we plant the sprout of green mustard. Splashing with water is also necessary if the land is dry. Size of the dyke are also similar with the nursery one.

svi5ikfkel.jpg
This is the growing dyke preperation stage.

bcfkc9ogny.jpg
The view of the growing dyke after a few days planting

D. Planting

It will take about 10 days for the sprout to grow before we move it onto panting dyke. The young root must be well protected while the moving progress. Whenthe root part is broken then it will not grow up as we expected. Take it carefully from nursery dyke and put it in the small hole that has been made on the planting dyke. It is why the planting dyke need to be watered very well, by that way the soft root of green mustard will not broken and it will grow well.

As you see on the picture above, a day after planting the leafe of green mustard will wither due to dehidration, but it will be uprighted and fresh within a day if it gets enough water.

c9ih21v9mx.jpg

On the photo, it shows the space in between. The ideal space is 10 cm to for air circulation and soil nutrition purpose. This space is to ensure the maximum growth since each of the plant need similar nutrition until it is ready to harvest.

7f7iukexkt.jpg

I am very excited for harventing time, that is why it is worthy of celebration.

E. Harvesting Green Mustard

It is the most excited moment, and I am waiting for it for the next 5 days, today I saw the green mustard grow well and it will be ready within 5 days. The growing rate will not be same for the whole plants, but we should take the most grown one, and wait for the next day to harvest. Naturally, it will give good income for 2 weeks at least, while I plant other veggies to ensure the earning sustainability.

f0snhg8my8.jpg

6kpjrziuia.jpg
Green Mustard close up, I took this photo 3 days ago using my stupid phone. :D. It has been 7 day on the dyke.

()
I am almost there and really excited to pick it right from my owm farming land.

If you don't have land, please no worry, here I try to show you how to plant it in the pots.

First thing you need to do is prepare the pots/platic bag as a nursary or you may want to make a small wooden nursery plate. When it is sprouted out, move it into plastic bags or pots. One thing you need to ensure if you plant it in the pots or plastic bags is "do not over watering" since it cause the nutrients flowing away from the pots/plastic bag. It is enough watering one time per day, either in the morning before the sun getting hot or at the afternoon after the sun is not really shining bright.

5b8qf36bnh.jpg
You can grow 3 of them in a big plastic bag, and it will grow well

x7cgxygsl1.jpg
In smaller plastic bag, you may plant 1 to ensure enough nutrients to grow.

But if you have capital you can grow it using hydroponic sytem, and you can find those information on google. But, sure it will cost you reasonable prize for equipment and instalation sytem, and you may need electricity to pump the fartilizer liquid through the system.

Final thought

Well, those 3 things are not a big deal for you out there, but for me, that is a great achievement so far. The price of the veggies also not really expensive, it is about Rp 3000 IDR (it is about $0.2 USD) in the local market. But, I will be able to harvest about 7 to 10 kg per day. Small but nice for your own hand!. The most important thing out of this is I am happy to do it, and my family also happy to have green organic veggies from the garden. All matter of our life is finding happiness, isn’t it?. I am not talking about luxury car or fancy house and any other things, but I am talking something that makes me feel useful for my family, for neighborhood and the people in my village.

Thank you for reading this, I hope it will give you more information about farming and gardening things

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside) <<< please click to read.

@el-nailul

Hope for the best and prepare for the worst

Sort:  

Great work :) I love how the mustard looks :)

Thank you for what you have done to my post @rifkan, :D. I knew it since I saw the first support was from you!, have a great day and I would love to see your rank for this week on curation achievement. wish you all the best bro


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you very much @c-squared, wish you all the best

Thank you very much for your attention @c-squared

Happy Eid El-Mubarak @el-nailul! You have a very good start of your farming!

That spot on the second photo. That will be tough for papaya to grow properly. The bamboo roots are well rooted on the ground and will compete with anything that is planted on it. I guess you need to dig and remove the bamboo roots before you can plant papaya in that lot.

There! That is one of the vegetables that my mother used to plant. She said it is one of the easiest to maintain while fastest to harvest.

Though I thought it is more of a pechay (cabbage) variety than a mustard. I could be wrong because most of the time, the variety that my mother planted is this one with white stem. We call this pechay.

Source

I try hard these days to look for this vegetable when I go home to the province. For some reasons, farmers rarely plant this variety now. I see more of this fat-type of pechay which to me does not taste like the above.

Source

How is your irrigation when the seedlings are transferred to the plant beds? Do you use sprinkler or hose?

I use manual water sprinkler, if you notice the blue hose, that is used for watering my brother's papaya actually.

The main problem is that bamboo, that is really hard to rid off. but i can be manageable when the shout burn out completely.

The fat pechay is normally growing on hydroponic system, instead on the ground. But, I prefer mustard to this fat one. that is why for the first step is this variety. BTW, I will need to seat tight for week 21...LOL, I saw you have found really good post. Keep it up my friend

If you have good irrigation then I think you can make an improvised automatic sprinkler through a small hose. That will help you a lot instead of the manual sprinkler.

There is still much time until deadline for you to look for authors to feature. Get on!

Sure that will help a lots, but need more money to do so. I have designed it before using electric pump. But for this mustard is fine since it really close to the river/swamp. I will need to find it tonight. it getting more difficult to find good quality contents. You may pay attention when you find good quality post from low rep author, some of them using copy past or they use photograph without proper cite. the easiest way to check it is by right click on the photo and choose "Search Google for image" option then it will show you if it from other website.

Yes. I actually have a post about how to search for image using Google: https://steemit.com/blog/@macoolette/help-curb-plagiarism-take-another-look-before-you-upvote

And then I found out about that copy/paste featured by stever82. I am actually drafting another post about watching out and tips to somehow identify plagiarized contents.

I need hydroponic fartilizer

That is normally sold in the market for organic or non organic. But if you want to make it by yourself you can use NPK fertilizer, it consist mostly of this:
Nitrogen (N) : 15%
Fosfat (P2O5) : 15%
Kalium (K2O) : 15%
Sulfur (S) : 9%
Seng (Zn) : 2.000 ppm
(depend on what kind of plant you want to grow). Dissolve it in the water about 2.5% concentrate it will be okay, and you can watch the growing rate and then you can adjust as necessary. You may look at this web :

https://www.maximumyield.com/the-how-to-of-organic-hydroponics/2/1299. hopefully it will help a little more.

What are you growing @ganjafarmer?

Ganja is marijuana in our language (Aceh)

:D

I guess this guy is Indonesian. 😀

And you have a mistake it's fertilizer.

And I've grown the best that the Cannabis community has had... Come to Oregon and see!

Bro. You need to put a line of space after the header codes ( # ) for them to take effect. Example:

Ini Header

Ini isi.

See? That's the secret to the magic.
Cheers! 😀 Look at the picture below.

image

Ahaaa...that is my mistake, and thank you for your attention and guidance bro capt. @aneukpineung78.

Now all is good!
Have a happy Eid for you and family.

Hi, @el-nailul;
Selamat hari raya idul adha.
Mohon maaf lahir batin.


Artikel ini telah dikunjungi oleh akun komunal @arteem. Untuk mempelajari tentang akun komunal @arteem dan apa yang ditawarkan kepada steemian Indonesia level redfish (SP di bawah 500), silahkan kunjungi artikel ini.

@arteem memiliki server Discord di https://discord.gg/t4Zw44c, semua steemian Indonesia diundang untuk bergabung di sana.

Terimakasih.

Inisiatif Arteem : Tumbuh Bersama

Posted using Partiko Android

sama-sama bang @arteem, Selamat idul adha juga untuk keluarga besar arteem

Hi el-nailul,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

It is really awesome, and thank you for you generosity @curie.

Eid Mubarak to you @el-nailul! You've done a great thing by donating food to the poor. I'm assuming the goat curry was great and will keep the people, who got it, satiated for a few days. Also there is another thing you should be happy about - getting the blessings of those people.

Kudos on clearing land for papaya. I really have lot of respect for independent farmers. They toil hard and face tough competition from big firms and ensure people get to eat healthy food, without making much. Theirs is a sacrifice, peoole dont appreciate enough. Congratulations and a big thank you from me.

Thank you @karamyog, for you kind words and appreciation fro what I am doing, have a great day for you and your family

Hi my sis, Eid Mubarak for you too. I would like to encourage you to participate in Pay it forward curation contest. it is nice to have you in the loop sis

Thanks for the info @el-nailul but I think my reputation doesn't qualify anymore

Nope, all reputation are welcome to participate, but you only curate/review 2 or 3 (bonus) blogs from the rep of 55 or below. And again i encourage you to use #ccc tag for you post if you want to, you can read the post from @freedomshift

It's grandiose! Labor colossal! May God bless your crops!

Thank you very much @barski, how is your day over there? I love to see you in #ccc

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60