Nights at The Shop

in #esteem6 years ago

Hello Steemit Fellows 😉

image
My Supper, Fried Bihun by Cak Foday


Most muslims in the world celebrate the birth of Prophet Muhammad Bin Abdullah Bin Abdul Muthalib (may peace upon him) once a year and the celebration could run for 3 months from Rabiul Awal to Jumadil Tsani (the 3rd-5th month in Islamic lunar calendar system) we call the celebration as Maulid Nabi.

There's many tradition in celebrating Maulid Nabi in my country and every regions has its own way, but the common activity of that celebration is serving foods for everyone. Every household could invite their own guests for the celebration but there's always one big celebrations held by the community of a village. Sometimes, even if it is only a birthday celebration of a prophet, people from several regions who are working at different region from their hometown would go back home to enjoy the festives. I just found out about it few days ago. I thought that only the Acehnese who would do that, but another ethnic also does that tradition, it is Madura Ethnic.

image
here are 2 of them, Kojat and Foday


Remember the Fried Rice sellers who used to came to our shop everynight before they headed home? They're all are Maduras. From 5 fried rice sellers who work around the neighbourhood, 3 men already left for their hometown to celebrate Maulid Nabi, including Kojat and he won't comeback to Pamulang anymore. I think it would be hard for us to have some fried rice or fried noodles at midnight for a next couple months. Uhmm.. shall I sell fried rice too?😂

image
regular customers still enjoy their night at the shop, smoky place for sure


The topic of neighbour's talk in the last 2 days is about a young man from next block who raise a flag which considered as a symbol of radicalism and last week friday pray's speech. Though it is a serious thing to discuss but still everyone found the funny side of the story and share their laughs.

image
at least we will never run out of mangoes😉


Just like other issues around the neighbourhood, everything will soon pass and other issue will arises. We just continue our daily life and the shop is becoming more and more popular around the neighbourhood now. Well, we don't have many new customers but I love it when new little customers came to try coffee or ice cream and listen to my speech 😂😂 well, actually they came to learn something from me. I can share many good information😉 especially about coffee and plants around while at the same time I learn how they see the world through their story too.

image
but I won't coach them about steemmonsters 😆 theur parents would come to sue me for virusing them with it later😅


The tension caused by the 2019 election is on the way to our neighbourhood, but everyone looks like they don't really care about it. It is not because they're apolitics but merely because they're too busy with their own struggling in life. They have enough information from their gadgets, but to discuss about it they need to come to our shop😊.

image
this two little monsters might lost their favourite's sofa at the shop during the night, but they can have it during the day😂


Thanks for stopping by, I feel like I have to create some crappy post to keep me on steemit and forget about the battle and rumbles due to RC run out after a hundred lost in the battle field with my level 1 water splinters to complete the daily quest😃

Sort:  

You have such a good command of the English language but with all respect I feel the need to explain that you are using the word "crappy" wrong!
This isn't a crappy post! It is an excellent, interesting post! Your 'ordinary life' is exotic to others, and you write about it so well!
I am sad that some of your food sellers have gone home and won't return. I am concerned now about your election coming up! And a holiday (with feasting) that lasts for months! All of these things I didn't know until I read your post!

Thank you @donna-metcalfe 😊 I find some many posts like this everyday from my fellow steemians Indonesia and not really have a good attention from others because it's nothing special to compare with travelling and adventure's posts or even with the ulogs and freewrite.

But thanks for considering my post as interesting one 😊 I hardly found interesting subject to post lately except about steemmonsters 😅 about the holiday... while we who live in our neighbourhood have no spesific time to celebrate the Maulid, in other regions of Indonesia, people already start big feast and it would end on january 😅

I read your posts about Steemmonsters, you are doing so well, congratulations!

I know that you and I both like reading @barski's posts. Many of them are about simple things - a dog he meets, or a cat, a tree in the forest, his children's art - simple things but he makes them so interesting to read! I am reminding you of that, and reminding myself too, when I can't think of anything interesting to write about, that it doesn't have to be about big dramatic events! I know I like reading about your neighborhood! It is so different from mine. And I think my life is too ordinary to write about, but maybe it would be very different from someone else's. I need to remember that!

You are absolutely right @donna-metcalfe 😉 your garden story or bird bathing also something simple and common.. but I enjoyed it when posted about that too..
So.. how's the meeting and gathering ..maybe thanksgiving tradition.. something that I haven't seen on tv 😉

I have celebrated a traditional Thanksgiving for most of my life, the kind you see on TV. My husband's mother was a wonderful cook and instead of us spending one year with his family and the next with mine, which is a usual way of handling it, his mother solved it by inviting my whole family to their gathering. And we were happy about that because, well, she was an excellent cook!

His parents passed, and now mine have, so for the past few years we have a quiet celebration, just the two of us. I have never cooked a turkey in my life and I wasn't about to start now! Turkey isn't our favorite anyway. So I bake a ham and make his mother's recipe of dinner rolls - so good! - and we will eat the ham and rolls for a week afterwards!

I never remember to take photos while I am cooking, or of the filled plates before we eat them clean! But tomorrow I will keep my camera handy and see what happens!

So I bake a ham and make his mother's recipe of dinner rolls - so good! - and we will eat the ham and rolls for a week afterwards!

Why would bake the turkey when you don't even like it, right 😉 we'd better not waste our energy and money on something for nothing. Thanksgiving doesn't mean has to be a turkey on your plate 😊

I never remember to take photos while I am cooking, or of the filled plates before we eat them clean! But tomorrow I will keep my camera handy and see what happens!

I didn't have camera.. but handphone really help ke to documenting my kitchen adventures @donna-metcalfe 😆 now I get used to it because I like to share it on steemit or just a way to remind me that I can cook if I want to 😄

Sooo.. my suggest! Keep your camera close and take some pictures then share it... we'd like to know your life too💖

Why bake a turkey when we don't even like it - exactly!

Oh I had so much trouble with the photos yesterday! I took photos with my camera and my computer wouldn't read them from the camera chip! Then I used my phone's camera and it wouldn't let me email them to myself! But I was determined to get them and I finally worked around these problems. I didn't try to push my luck and take photos of anything else, but I will be posting about the rolls. Stay tuned!

What a celebration, Foday must be a very good cook but i would like to have a taste of indonesian fried rice 🥗doh.😁😁

I'll share you my recipe @guchidan 😉 if you want to try it. It is super easy and no need too many ingredients too.. make sure you have rice 😉

I would love it 😁😁 share..Rice isn't a problem

Hi, @cicisaja!

You just got a 0.41% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Wow delicious food..
Beautiful photographs..
Nice post my friend..

Thanks @tussar11 😂 it is not beautiful photographs at all, nothing to compare with your photography works. I'll support you with my tiny vote then

Happy festivities! I didn't think this post was crappy at all, I actually felt like you enabled me to get a look into your life. I guess some of the most mundane and underrated things for ourselves often end up being the most educative ones. Also, I was wondering about the flag symbolizing radicalism, what does that entail?

Thanks for your lovely comment @nocompassnorway 😉 I wish that I could write something inspiring rather than about my life around😊.. about the flag, this is something related to the president election on 2019, we only have 2 candidates, same as 5 years ago and some islamic factions or groups use this situation to influence the voters and get their idea to build an islamic country or Khalifa through the youth movement leader in our neighbourhood. I'll write about it later when I got every details of it.

well, I live my life studying aspects of your life (development studies with an additional focus on South-East Asia), so this is 1st hand knowledge for me :D Also, our syllabus don't say much about Indonesia as its often overshadowed by the more assertive countries e.g. India/China, and I have unfortunately not had the pleasure of visiting yet - so I found this post both interesting and useful!

I'd love to hear about the election in 2019, - from your comment then it sounds a bit like it will be a make or break outcome?
Is it correct to assume that your reference to an Islamic country means the Sharia law?
Also, my impression is that the majority of Indonesian people are Muslim, but doesn't Indonesia have a lot of ethnic groups (similar to Vietnam/Philippines) ?

See, I know so little. I want to know all this :D !

Just Made me hungry now dear 😉

😂😂😂 you must stop visiting my post if you ee the food's photo first @brittandjosie my dear.. I'm afraid I'd make you hungry all the time 😊

You are doing great @cicisaja. I hope they rectify the RC thing soon too. It’s not fun when people can’t engage in the community. Hey, at least there’s always mangoes 🥳

Thank you @puravidaville 😉 You're right... mangoes solving all my trouble and couldn't wait to see how Rambutan effect on it😂

I got headache today.. and hubby bought me another mangoes 😂😂😂

Congratulations @cicisaja! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 7000 comments. Your next target is to reach 7500 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

hey @cicisaja enjoy the days dear

You to my dear @visie 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64249.62
ETH 3184.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48