Saturday, in the park: Walking with Bozz

in #esteem6 years ago

This past Saturday morning I was laying in bed when my wife poked me and asked if we could go for a walk after I fully woke up.

I thought about it for a second and realized this would be a great opportunity to get some material for a post. I have been following @steevc and @slobberchops with their various running and hiking posts.

The truth is, I would have went with my wife anyway, she is pretty religious about exercising and I need to be better about it myself.

We got our dog Jovi ready and drove down the road to our local park.

They close the park during the Winter, so even if there isn't snow on the ground my wife and I have to find someplace different to walk when we want some fresh air. That is the only bummer about our favorite park.

We pulled in the parking lot and on this Saturday morning there was only one other car there.

z9qvcj8fbs.jpg

We got Jovi out of the car and had her do her business so we wouldn't have to stop as much during our walk. After that, we were all ready to go!

f35vnd75n6.jpg

I know she looks a little scared, but she actually really loves to go on her walks. I think she was more confused about why I was taking her picture instead of walking.

She is a wild child though and if we just used a regular collar she would drag me all over the park. Instead we use a pinch collar on her.

The pinch collars are better than standard choke collars because they don't actually restrict the dogs airway. If the dog gets too far ahead or if you pull back to correct it gives them a little pinch much like a mothers bite on their scruff.

It works really well to keep her in step with us. We also work with her on commands while we are walking like heel, etc. Her memory is short like mine though!

817dx9k3u8.jpg

The park is actually quite big with a path going around the outer perimeter of the park. There are then additional "fingers" through-out the park that connect the long sides to each other.

A better explanation would be to describe it as a track around a football field with paths going down the 20 and 40 yard lines on both sides. When we are felling really brave we go up and down each finger and jog the short parts between each one.

tjb10k1m9a.jpg

Through-out the park they have various areas. There are two playgrounds in addition to a soccer field, volleyball court, baseball diamond, and horseshoe pits.

9o5q6w2a9e.jpg

xdxh1urimy.jpg

y6bqkmawz9.jpg

They also have sitting areas where you can rest or just relax and enjoy nature. Spread here and there in the park are charcoal grills so you can enjoy a cookout with your family or friends as well.

v0ropoa641.jpg

g9lrw07ult.jpg

mydisywkxd.jpg

7bhgb84ys0.jpg

The park has a pavillion you can rent out to hold larger events if you want to.

My wife enjoys walking here in the Summer when she is off work and I still have to report in. The workers do a really good job of keeping the grounds nice. In fact if they are mowing while people are walking, they will stop so the people can pass by without getting grass clippings all over them.

There is a set of railroad track at the back of the park, but my wife says she can't recall a train ever going by while she was walking. The same track run near our house and we usually only hear trains late at night.

4dlggkg4bs.jpg

That is the kind of small town hospitality we enjoy at our local park.

I was telling @steevc about this a while ago, but there are also little exercise stations through the park that you can stop at. Here are some pictures of a couple of them:

2l7pxafqyh.jpg

3qnl6xyxen.jpg

8gxtkv5nq6.jpg

It was a nice morning getting out and getting some exercise with my wife. It was really funny too because she kept pointing out things that I needed to take pictures of.

She would say, oh there is a mushroom, can't you take a picture for mushroom Monday? I told her it was #fungifriday and took a picture!

Then we came across this hornet nest and she said "ooh, that is a big nest, you should take a macro shot of that".

So I did...

i8jf34hey3.jpg

Thanks for coming along on this walk with us. We love our local park and I hope that you enjoyed seeing it.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Some great shots of your walk. I have been thinking lately about how fast the summer went and how we will be in the dead of winter before we know it. It is cool to see the fields and parks so empty and quiet. Go back later that day and I bet the are bustling and full.

That was on Labor Day Weekend, so I think a lot of people were out of town :) It probably got a little busier through the day, but it was also very hot, so that might have kept some inside the house in the A/C!

Looks like a greta place for a walk, nice getting there with only one other car there, places like this are better without many others around i think

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk tip!

Yes, it really is. It can get pretty packed with lots of people walking and running during the day. Lots of people bring their dogs here for some play time. Thank you!

Thats why I love sunsets at the beach hardly anyone there but during the day on weeends they get crazy busy

@bozz wow! very nice clicks with full of details. The photos look very crispy and sharp. I like your dog very much, very cute!! Where is this place? Looks very calm to walk. Very clean too... A perfect place to walk and enjoy yourself in the lap of nature. 1 thing I didn't figure out, what is that stone about that is behind the benches? Is it some kind of memorial?? Very good post dear, enjoy your photographs. keep it up!

The park is in a small town in Michigan. Thanks for the compliments. It is a very nice place to walk. Yes the stone is a memorial. Each of the little sitting areas were donated and are maintained by families in rememberance of a loved one.

wow! very romantic. loved your photos mate.I also do photography posts.. and love to watch beautiful photos by others!

Thank you!

welcome mate! keep posting... I would love to see more of your photos! keep it up! and thank you for supporting me! appreciate it!

Beautiful place to hang out or make a family party!! wowo 😁 or my brother's wedding. hmmm.....

Thank you!

You had the entire park to yourself, which definitely makes the pictures a lot better :) Luckily that was an abandoned hornets nest!

Yeah, if you look in the middle I think you can see a couple in there, it is hard on the lower quality upload though. I just took the shot then kept moving!

Your weather is a little gloomy, is summer over there? It is here.

It is hot as balls here right now. We are supposed to get some relief tonight though. Sunny today!

Hi @bozz! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57038.56
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65