New Years Eve Baby SittingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #esteem6 years ago

@mrsbozz and I don't usually do too much special for New Year's. Occasionally, we have some friends over or go to a friend's house. Typically, we take my mom and dad out to lunch for my dad's birthday.

This year, we ended up on baby sitting duty. Some friends of ours both had to work and because it was the holiday, their daycare was closed. My wife and I told them that we would be more than happy to watch their kids for them.

They got dropped off at around 8:00 AM and had already been at our house for a couple hours. I was downstairs cleaning out our home office when @mrsbozz asked me if we wanted to take the kids putt-putt golfing.

I told her I was fine with it, but it was ultimately up to her. She then asked the children and not surprisingly, they absolutely wanted to go.

Down the road from where we live is an area that used to be a pretty large resort. Now it doesn't get as much traffic as it once did. There used to be a movie theater, but now all that is left is a couple of hotels, a campground, and a large bowling alley.

The bowling alley has actually added a lot of features in the past couple of years. Besides just being a bowling alley, they also have an arcade, indoor mini golf, laser tag, bar/restaurant, and escape rooms. We got there an I quickly paid for our round of putt-putt. I think the total was about $19 USD for two adults and two kids. Not too bad...

As I mentioned before, the putt-putt is fully indoors, but don't assume it is lame by any means. You can see in the picture here it is jungle themed and the holes are actually pretty substantial. Difficulty is average with some holes being much harder than others.

We started out pretty slowly as the kids learned their way around the course and the equipment. I think they have been before, but I can understand it taking a little time to remember what to do if you don't play a lot.

I won't be posting any pictures of the kids as they are not mine. Trust me, they were there though and they had a blast. By hole 5 I was the first one to get a hole in one. The picture at the top is me holding my ball after I got the ace.

You can see they put various obstacles in the way to try to throw you off. Additionally, there are bumps and valley's in the green to make things a little more difficult. We were the only group in the facility up until about the sixth hole.

After than another large group started playing behind us. It consisted of about three to four adults and three or four kids. It wasn't long before their kids were running all over the course like crazy. We had to stop at one point and let the two girls play through because they had blown through the first half of the course.

This is the waterfall hole where the other kids first caught up with us. As I said, we let them go on ahead but shortly after that we found one of the other little boys hot on our heels.

We were still finishing up around the hole when the little boy dropped his ball on the starting pad and started to swing his club. @mrsbozz wasn't having any of that though and she quickly switched to work mode (she is a elementary school social worker), politely letting the boy know that he needed to wait his turn.

He did do a great job of waiting his turn, but he proceed to be at our heels every hole after that which made us feel a bit rushed and kind of ruined the outing. Meanwhile the adults in the other group were doing their own thing and not paying any attention to their kids that were running around all crazy!

@mrsbozz got her own hole in one on hole 14 and our friends daughter got a hole in one as well on the last hole. Like I said, the kids had a great time and I think it would be something we could totally do with them again in the future.

@mrsbozz was the big winner on the day shooting just seven over par. I was a close second with a ten over par, and the kids were not too far behind. The sixty nine by Alex really wasn't that bad as he was playing with a handicap for some of the game. About halfway through our round he wasn't paying attention to what he was doing and he accidentally stepped in the creek. This left him with an extremely wet shoe and sock until we got home!

After our round of golf we headed to the restaurant to get some lunch. Keep an eye on my blog as I will have a review of that in the future.

In all, it was a really fun day. The kids crashed when we got back to the house and took a two to three hour nap. I think they would have slept for another hour or two if we hadn't sent our dog Jovi to wake them up!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

What a fun way to spend the day! $19 for the 4 of you to do putt putt is a deal! It costs much more around here. And the nearest course is about an hour and a half away... :/
Happy new year!! :D

We have a couple of outdoor ones about a half hour away from where we live, but it has been so long since I have been there, I couldn't tell you what they cost.

Jeeze that sounds like big fun! And a great way to start the New Year.

For the record, I could be the kid that stepped in the water :)

I haven't played putt putt since the best ex's kids were pre teens. Since the oldest just turned 50 I guess that officially makes it a while. I miss it...

Thanks for sharing your outing with us. I really enjoyed it.

Oh wow! Yeah, I guess that was a while ago. I have to believe you pass by them all the time on your travels, you should take the time to stop once and shoot a round. It takes much less time than a real round of golf! Funny you should say that, because I am actually surprised that I didn't find myself in the water :)

Sounds healthier than the way I spent mine. Probably more memorable, too. :)

Yeah, it was a good time :) We did a little of the unhealthy stuff later that day, but we were still in bed by 10 :P

Nice!

What a super cool mini golf course one of the coolest I have ever seen, and glad the kids and you and mrsbozz had a great time

!tip

Most welcome
Have a great day

🏆 Hi @bozz! You have received 0.05 SBD reward for this post from the following subscribers: @ilsaione
Subscribe and increase the reward for @bozz :) | For investors.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

That looks like a lot of fun. We do have them overhere but not so cool as on your pictures. Great way to spend some time :)

It was a great time! Thanks for the comment!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congrats to @mrsbozz for winning the game! Looks like you guys had an awesome time! I know I used to love mini-golf as a kid :)

Yeah, I was a little bit bummed because I wanted to keep working in my office, but we had a good time, so it was all worth it!

🎁 Hi @bozz! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Einstein Loves Nyc Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62893.52
ETH 3354.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47