Inside the mind of Bozz

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

It was actually a pretty boring weekend for @mrsbozz and I, so I was mildly worried about what I was goign to blog about today if anything.

I just commented on @robertandrew's post that I don't feel a overwhelming sense of failure when I don't post every day during the week, but it still nags at me a little.

I have some thing that have been kicking around in my head lately and I figured this might be a good time to get them out.

Steemit

The first one has to do with Steemit in general. I know there are a lot of poeple that have been upset lately that @ned has been a bit non existent. While I don't disagree with this sentiment, I just commented on a post by @exyle that I can also kind of understand it.

I work in the tech field and I am bascially a department of one. I have no secretary, no staff, it's just me agains the world. When we have issues or outages, sometimes I will physically "hide" in my server room so I can focus on the issue.

My reasoning for this is pretty sound. The more I have to explain to each person that comes to me what is wrong and how I am going to fix it, the more time that takes away from me actually fixing the problem.

Ideally, I would have a secretary that could get this information out to everyone while I work on the problem. Sometimes I shoot out a quick email letting everyone know how things are going, but people still stop me in the hall or come to my office because they didn't bother to read the email.

Although Steemit inc. has more than one employee (albiet less now), perhaps a similar situation is happening there. Instead of explaining everything that is going on, they want to focus on fixing it first, then they can fully and thouroughly explain to everyone what the issue was.

I am not saying that is what is going on, or that it is even right (we have seen the power of a pinned post lately and I don't think it too much effort for them to do that again). My theory might be something to keep in mind though the next time we wonder where @ned has gone.

Post Rewards

This one has been "bugging" me for a while now, but I haven't been able to articulate it yet. Hopefully I can do an okay job of explaining my concern today.

Take a look at the picture I posted from Steemworld.org of the post that I published a week ago. You can see that my total reward is $1.88 which really isn't that shabby these days.

My main concern is that $1.46 of those rewards are from groups that I delegate SP to. I am pretty careful about who I delegate my SP to and I usually only delegate to groups that I am a member of. Sometimes in return for those delegations said groups offer upvotes for your posts in return.

I understand that Steem is down right now and people aren't as active as they used to be on the platform. Perhaps I was a bit misguided to think that by a year on Steemit and growing my account to close to 2000 SP, I would be getting more than $.42 in organic votes. Quite honestly it is probably even less than $.42 because some of those votes are from trails that follow the delegated votes.

I have to believe I am not the only one struggling with this and it concerns me because what "alternative facts" does that lead you to believe about the value of your content. I will be honest, it is really nice to pull in $2.00 in rewards for a post. I know some people can't delegate or choose not to and their rewards are much less. The sad part comes when you start getting in your own head and tell yourself that probably less than 20% of those rewards were from actual people that maybe follow you and made the choice to upvote your post.

I don't know how to fix this. I know there are quite a few dolphins out there, even more so now that the price has been so low. At first I thought more of them should step up. Then I started to realize the more they step up, the more they have to spread around the same amount. People like @slobberchops have found a way to help with things like his @chops-support account that auto upvotes under appreciated authors. I am trying to do something like that with the @mrsbozz account as well.

If you read this, I want to hear from you. Let's start a discussion in the comments. Maybe a debate (though I am horrible at debating). Am I right in feeling that 20% is demoralizing? Should I just "get what I get and not throw a fit"? Is my math wrong or my viewpoint in general?

That's my mind today, hopefully you can find your way back out!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Well, when they call you CEO and you call you CEO you might ought to consider either not being CEO or pretending that you are one and issue a certain minimum standard of communication. If you were the superintendent of your school you would NOT hide from your staff and school parents. You'd honor your schedules and provide answers even if they were hard or made you feel ooky.

Support is after all support. I support them, they support me. Right now, I have 89 votes on my current post and probably 50 of them pay 0.000. I have people that vote me at 5% which means they can vote 200 times a day and the effective payment is nada. So, I figure it balances out. If/When Steem comes back the 'supported' votes won't be as big a % but I'm damn glad to have them now.

Thanks for a good topic. I hope to see more replies.

Very true, I hope to see some more replies too. As I replied to one of the other comments, it is hard to see your SP grow but not your following and interaction. It's also hard when you find yourself actively following other people, but you don't see as many followers in return. Account growth has seemed to stagnate to a degree.

I have thought the same about incoming votes, and it is a bit troubling shall I say I think some are very calculated in who and what percentage votes they giive out to maximise their return i have to be honest and maybe I am slack I have never taken the time to look into that I am pretty basic I just vote and comment on posts I like LOL

I agree with you. I pretty much just try to do my own thing. As I replied to someone else's comment though, I'd like to see more of us helping each other otherwise we just end up delegating and not interacting. Actually keep an eye on my blog this week, I just got an idea...

Posted using Partiko Android

I will watch for your post, always open to new ideas :)

This thought has been bugging me as well, although I haven't really written about it. The idea that most of my rewards are from my own delegations or otherwise, and that it seems that most of my replies are from communities that have obligations to reply. I guess that is the sort of thing that would change as the platform grew bigger... but seeing as we are relatively small, then this sort of thing is bound to happen../

Thanks for the great comment @bengy. It is refreshing to know I am not the only one that feels like this. I guess in the end rewards are rewards though and I shouldn't complain. My concern is what is the point of growing your account if this is the model that earns the best rewards. I don't want to delegate all of my SP away to get the best payout. I would rather grow my account so I can give larger upvotes to people with good content and vice versa for them.

I don't mind the comments because it is part of the community. Many times what starts as an obligation or requirement turns in to a legitimate follow and return follow.

Posted using Partiko Android

The majority of my rewards are also from upvotes based on delegations. While it isn't the ideal scenario, I'll take it and be thankful. I view my SP as working capital and it is working for me. I remain positive about the future of Steemit, the bear market is forcing the company to address the problems with the platform. Steemit will emerge from the bear market strong than before.

I miss the interaction with many of my followers who have left the platform (although they put me on autovote.) I'm positioning myself for the future. I plan to be a dolphin by the end of January. I have also found new people to follow and interact with during this time.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the great comment. I was trying to be careful to not come across as ungrateful. It can be frustrating to be growing the SP of your account but not see growth in other areas. I am very optimistic about the future of Steem as well.

I didn't see your post as ungrateful, but an expression of frustration that I think we all feel about the lack of growth in other areas of the Steemit experience. I'm glad that you remain optimistic. I believe that those who left during the bear market will return and be kicking themselves for missing out on an opportunity to grow their account. Then they will become active again and that is when more interaction will occur in the posts, allowing us to grow in other areas.

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope you are right! That would be awesome! Thanks for the great comment!

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 2.65% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 176 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 344 (12/18/18)

Hi @bozz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.582 which ranks you at #5840 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 50 places in the last three days (old rank 5890).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 246 contributions, your post is ranked at #87.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60291.00
ETH 2583.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55