Bozz Revisits Boid: The Social Supercomputer

in #esteem5 years ago

Many moons ago, I wrote my first and only post about Boid. Boid is billed as a social supercomputer.

Basically you run the app either on your computer or in your browser and it processes small packets of data. For example, instead of paying for several supercomputers to process all of this data, they split it up into chunks and have volunteers process it.

Much like the SETI@home they are able to leverage distributed computing power to process much more information at a much lower cost. I have been participating in the project for several months now and even though it is still Alpha, I am excited about the development that has been going into it.

I forgot to mention that as you complete work units(right now I am working on a project that maps cancer markers), you earn BOID tokens. These BOID tokens are on the EOS network and if you held EOS during the genesis snapshot, you probably got an airdrop of some of them already.

You generate BOID power based on the number and ability of the computers that you have the app running on. They also have a web interface that you can use, but I prefer to use the app. The more power you generate, the more BOID you earn. Some work tasks take longer to complete and some generate more or less BOID power.

This is an example of what the app looks like that is running on your computer. You can see that this particular device is generating a little over 5000 Boid power. There are some people on the leaderboards that are generating 150k Boid power with all of their devices combined.

Inside the app you can adjust how the work unit progress impacts your daily computing. You can have it pause the work when it knows you are using the computer or you can have it run all the time. You can also adjust how much processor power is given to the app to run.

Recently, they have made some pretty big announcements about the future of Boid and what they have been working on these past couple of months:

In addition to the things above, they are close to completing a native Linux app and they are also close to implementing GPU mining into the app. Right now you can GPU mine BOID, but you have to use a third party miner. Some of those can be hard to setup and pose security risks to your machine, so having it built in to the app will be a welcome addition.

I have two Ubuntu boxes sitting on my desk ready and waiting for when the Linux app becomes available.

Here you can see that the total of all of my devices that are mining BOID and working on work units is close to 8847 Boid power with is pretty lame. I am not in it for the profit as much as I am in it for the idea of solving real world problems though, so I don't mind too much.

Additionally, you are not only competing for yourself, but you are also competing with your team. I am a member of the EOS Detroit Boid team. If you want to join our team, you can use my referral link here.

As you read above, they are also getting ready to implement staking with the innagural season starting on Feb 7th. Despite my not having a ton of computing power, I have done a pretty good job of generating BOID over the past couple of months and I was able to stake a large portion of my BOID.

The way I understand it, this staking will just allow me to generate more Boid power during the season. It works on some form of multiplier. I don't really understand all of the math.

I am looking forward to seeing what seasons bring. This is a new concept and apparently at the end of the season there will be some exciting rewards. In the future they also plan on allowing you to earn other coins/tokens besides BOID through the completion of work units.

Being a cancer survivor, is the main thing that drew me to this project. The idea that the idle time on my computer can be used to map cancer markers and maybe one day help find a cure is really cool. If one day BOID happens to be work a significant amount, all the better. Right now you can trade it on a couple of exchanges including EOSDAQ though it isn't really worth a ton.

Based on the commitment and dedication I have seen from the development team though, who knows...

Many times we find ourselves missing the boat or arrivign to the party late when it comes to blockchain based projects. Boid is still pretty young though and now is a great time to get on board if you are interested. Even if you decide it isn't for you, you might have processed the work unit that changes a lot of people's lives one day.

Don't forget to use my referral link if you are interested. Full disclosure, I think I get a 5% cut of your Boid Power or something like that. If you have a lot of spare machines sitting around though, you will probably never notice the loss.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

I am running behind tonight but found this so interesting, but I found this so interesting and for a good project, I may fire up my wifes PC and set it up and leave it running on the weekend when I have more time, she never users it so its a good thing to try it out on

It is a great project and if BOID ends up being big it could be worth it aside from the real world benefits.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes indeed, and doing good work as well so all a win win option to try

This is amazing and incane here to see your tasteem and found all this great techie info! I’ll share this with folks I know who may be ready to join your team. I need help getting a computer that can handle this kind of thing. Looking for puter recommendations.

Really you can run it on anything, you just don't generate as much Boid power. I know some people run it on their smartphone in a web browser. I have been really happy with the Lenovo machines I have been buying lately. Depending on what you are using it for, Chromebooks can be decent options too that are pretty inexpensive.

Thank you for your input and reply. Much appreciated. I saw the thinkpads. Most Lenovo are rated low which was disappointing

You just need to find the right components for you. A lot of people buy them expecting them to be more than what they are willing to spend the money for. If you know what you are getting from the beginning you shouldn't be too surprised. Most of the parts come from the same factories and get shipped to the different manufacturers, so really you just need to find the specs you like and the manufacturer that provides the best customer service.

Great suggestions and I do appreciate your thoughts on all of this!

Great suggestions and
I do appreciate your
Thoughts on all of this!

                 - eaglespirit


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I think I've already signed up with your referral link? Or was that something else? Could you check it for me, if I haven't I'll get some EOS and join you there :)

I think that was Initiative Q that you did. You just need to have an EOS address for this because you have to link to your account with Scatter. I can help you out if you decide to move forward with it. Otherwise, no worries!

So. I'm counting on you to let me know when they have the linux app ready. I have a laptop and maybe an old computer that could be tasked here.

I will for sure! They keep saying soon so hopefully within the next couple of weeks!

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Congratulations @bozz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 6500 comments. Your next target is to reach 7000 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 4.12% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I will keep this in mind at the moment my connection is so slow I can hardly do anything

Posted using Partiko Android

I hear you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82