Bozz listens to: INXSsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #esteem6 years ago

This picture is a little misleading because I am actually listening to the music through my computer speakers.

I wanted a picture that fit well with the theme though, so I decided to take this. When I can't use my desktop speakers, I don't mind wearing these headphones. They are a set of Sony MDR-7505 Studio headphones.

That's right, professional grade headphones like they use in the studios for only $100 USD. I'd pick these in a heartbeat over the more expensive brands out there like Beats, etc.

Sadly, this model is discontinued, but I still love using them when I need to be a little more discrete in my office. Sometimes blaring gangster rap in the middle of the day just isn't appropriate through regular speakers.

Anyway, on to the music...

source Wikipedia

INXS (pronounced "in excess") were an Australian rock band, formed as The Farriss Brothers in 1977 in Sydney, New South Wales.[1][2] The band's founding members were bassist Garry Gary Beers, main composer and keyboardist Andrew Farriss, drummer Jon Farriss, guitarist Tim Farriss, lead singer and main lyricist Michael Hutchence, and guitarist and saxophonist Kirk Pengilly.[3] For twenty years, INXS was fronted by Hutchence, whose "sultry good looks" and magnetic stage presence made him the focal point of the band.[1][3] Initially known for their new wave/pop style, the band later developed a harder pub rock style that included funk and dance elements.[1]

For some reason that I can't begin to fathom, I always seem to forget the awesomeness that is INXS. Whenever I listen to them I am always pulled in by the raw emotion that exuded from Michael Hutchence.

Though he wasn't in as many big name bands and his genre was a little different, I really feel that Hutchence could be that generations equivalent of Chris Cornell.

If you have been following me, you know that I really dig singers with unique voices. I also really appreciate bands/musicians that tend to write the bulk of their material themselves. Taking his own life much too young at 37 Hutchence reminds me of some of the artists @verhp11 has covered and the fact that fame and fortune doesn't always bring happiness and can't fill the void many of us struggle with.

I think a lot of us are familiar with the hit songs they had on the radio in the late 80's and early 90's, but only recently have I started to listen to some of their earlier stuff going as far back as 1980. Though their "hit years" produced some of my favorite songs, there is something about their earlier stuff that I know will have me digging deeper into it.

Some of the early songs I have listened to so far have hints of The Clash and other similar bands in my opinion. If you have access to Spotify, they have a INXS Collection, 1980 - 1993 that you should really check out.

The Stairs

I love the story this song tells of two people living in the same building "sharing the same spaces", but being strangers. I am sure there is a much deeper meaning intended. Unfortunately we may never know. Sadly, my go to site for stuff like this Song Facts is pretty light on INXS songs.

Never Tear Us Apart

There are two lines that really stand out to me in this song. Actually, they are right next to each other and the power of the lyrics always gives me reason to pause and be in awe of how great INXS was.

We could live
For a thousand years
But if I hurt you
I'd make wine from your tears
I told you
That we could fly
'Cause we all have wings
But some of us don't know why

There is something about INXS that kind of reminds me of U2 and maybe that is part of the reason I like them so much.

Shine Like It Does

I actually own the Listen Like Thieves album on vinyl and this is probably my favorite song off of it. Sure the hit "What you Need" is on there, but I feel this song stands out above that one. It is a bit faster than the other two I mentioned, but not quite as fast as other hits like "Suicide Blond".

If you get a chance, do some digging into INXS. I think you will find at least one song that you like. If you are feeling really ambitious, start at 1980 and listen for the gradual evolution of their music from there into the 90's. I think you will find yourself saying "oh yeah, they sang that" quite frequently as well.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Before I even heard the first song of theirs I loved the name so creative, and I have then in a few play lists including the three songs, not to bad for a band from that Little country in the Pacific, sorry as A Kiwi I had to say that

I thought you might have something to say about them 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL even though i haven't lived in NZ for 30 Years, the Kiwi Aussie rivalry is still strong in me

I like INXS just fine. That's got to be one of the most clever names in music, if nothing else.

There is a woman in my past that will be forever known as 'the suicidal blonde'. I'm not kidding when I say she was crazy, but damn did we have some fun :) Every now and again one of my long time friends will mention her. Not ever by name, just as 'the suicidal blonde'. And no, she didn't, but may have caused others to.

I have a pair of wired, noise cancelling phones from Able Planet. There is just nothing like them, but I understand that the new Sony wireless phones are the real deal. But at $300 mine are just fine. I got them from Woot in the old 'one deal each day' time.

Thanks for a great review that made me smile for more than just the music.

No problem! I have a friend with a kind of similar story. The lady is long gone, but his brother reminds him every year of the day he drove down to Florida to help her move up to Michigan. It is pretty funny, I will see it pop across my Facebook feed when the brother posts to his wall :)
Those sound like some really cool headphones. I don't think mine do much in the way of noise cancelling, they are just really good quality for the price.

It's been a long time since I heard 'The Stairs' or any of their album tracks. I was a bit of an INXS nut in the mid to late 80's and did see them in concert around 1990 in Manchester. I know all their back catalogue right to the roots.

They opened with 'Suicide Blonde' and even though it was a big venue I had a fine view of them.

That is awesome. I wish I had gotten the chance to see them at some point. I know they got a new lead singer for a bit, but I honestly have no desire to go down that road. There was something special about Michael.

The singer is often the catalyst of the band. If they die/leave/have their vocal chords removed it's often curtains for them, but not always.

Hello @bozz, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice! I have a pair of Audio-Technica studio headphones that I use as my go-to. Always a nice crisp sound. Much better than the cheaply made iPhone or Beats headphones

Posted using Partiko iOS

Audio-Technica makes some good stuff. I have an AT2020 USB mic that I use for certain circumstances. It was recommended to me by an AV guy I know.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

A typical example of sadness in music industry... I must admit never really listened to INXS that well, will do cause of your post.. I really do believe that a lot of musicians are musicians for them it is a art form of a way to express themselves and that the fame isn't something the would hunt... But with good music the fame comes with it and they are soaked up into the world of agressive promoters, agency's and record labels... I only can imagine the pressure it gives... Fame can cause lives and yet the industry keeps on going.....

Congratulations @bozz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3500 replies. Your next target is to reach 3750 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I had never heard The Stairs. Thanks for posting this.

No problem. It is a good one!

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 4.34% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66038.35
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61