1995 an #x-daysofmusic hit or miss?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #esteem6 years ago

Depending on your point of view, 1995 was kind of a drill to the head as far as music was concerned. According to Google search for "hit songs of 1995" adult contemporary was pretty hot on the charts as well as the precursors to boy bands (Take That, All-4-One, Blessed Union of Souls).

Rap and hip hop also had some mainstream showings there, but there were also some real crapfests like Cotton Eye Joe by the Rednex and various angry songs by Alanis Morissette.

The Rembrandt's hit the big time thanks to a little show called "Friends" and American's were just being introduced to the family circus that was Oasis with "Wonderwall" being on the charts.

There were some gems in 1995 though and I am going to cover some of them here as part of the #x-daysofmusic challenge started by @backinblackdevil I think.

Green Day - Brainstew

I came in to work this morning and I felt like I needed something to get me motivated and pumped up. It was about 6:30 AM after all and I had been up since about 4:00 AM.

I haven't listened to Green Day in a while and I thought it might be cool to listen to a couple of songs nice and loud.

I've long since lost my copy of their "International Superhits" CD, but if you want a good collection of some of their best songs, it is definitely the one to listen to.

Brainstew starts with an awesome guitar riff and then just progresses into a driving rhythm that keeps you rocking through the song.

Not knowing when it had been released, I did a quick Google search and found it was 1995. Eureka!, I now had a year for an #x-daysofmusic post.

U2 - Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me

By the time Batman Forever came out, U2 was pretty significantly into their electronica phase. It really kind of started with Achtung Baby and carried over into
Zooropa. This song landed smack in the middle of Zooropa and Pop.

While I don't enjoy all of their music from that time, they did have some winners in my book and this was definitely one of them. Part of what I really like about this song is the orchestral feel to it. One thing that U2 has always done well is mix driving guitars and beats with the flowing drawn out(not in a bad way) vocals of Bono.

Bon Jovi - This Ain't A Love Song

If you haven't been following me, you probably don't know that @mrsbozz is a huge Bon Jovi fan. This song happens to be my most favorite of theirs, so I knew I had to include it when I saw it was released in 1995.

I guarantee I have highlighted this song before in another post. This is how special it is to me though that I had to include it here.

I am not sure what it is, maybe it is the story it tells or the slow buildup to the crescendo towards the end, but this song does it for me every time.

If I had to compare it to something, I think I would compare it to a wave. It slowly starts to build and grow and then finally at the end it crashes on the beach. The vocals as always from Jon are fantastic and the agonizing "yeah I'm wrong" at the end make this a definite winner.

Coolio - Gangsta's Paradise

I'm going to let you in on a little secret... I didn't listen to a lot of Rap music growing up. Besides the hit's that they played on the radio and at middle school dances like "Wild Thang" and "It Takes Two", my knowledge of this genre of music was pretty limited.

If you asked me, I would have had no clue who Tupac, Biggie, Faith Evans, Lil Kim, or any of those people were. Along comes the movie "Dangerous Minds" in 1995 and I was soon exposed to a whole new world of music.

The sound track for "Dangerous Minds" is an awesome album, but this song stands out as the main hit.

I have always said that I am a fan of all genres of music including Rock, Pop, Jazz, Blues, Classical, Show Tunes, R&B, Rap, Ska, Punk, you name it. As I mentioned though, this song opened my musical pallette to a genre that until then had been closed to me. Therefore, it will always hold a special place for me.

That's all for 1995! Did you have a favorite song from 1995?

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

I have to admit I knew none of these but for a good part of the 90s I was in the field and we didnt have any radio stations playing music there so I guess I missed this era of Music, perhaps why I find myself mostly listening to 60s through 80s music these days

I think I was pretty solidly in a country phase during this time which may be why I didn't have many to pick from.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm glad I was only 3 during these dark times...

Phish was raging MSG during New Years in '95! that's a bright spot...
and Dave Matthews Band was young and thriving

For sure! I didn't find out about Phish until much later though! I got to see them for back to back shows in Indiana and it was pretty fantastic! I saw DMB at the Palace in Auburn Hills. That was a great show too!

As much as I enjoy Phish, I still haven't seen a Phish show and I've had plenty of opportunities.
As for DMB.... I'm in the 30's for show count, although I'm on a hiatus of a couple years.

been too busy with the Disco Biscuits!

:) It was an eye opening experience for me no doubt. They do put on a heck of a show. The crowd is really what makes it awesome. Wow! That is a lot of DMB shows! I saw them the year that Macy Gray was opening for them.

:) It was an eye opening experience for me no doubt. They do put on a heck of a show. The crowd is really what makes it awesome. Wow! That is a lot of DMB shows! I saw them the year that Macy Gray was opening for them.

So. I had to do some thinking about what I was listening to in 1995. I was heavy into live blues and particularly Too Slim and the Taildraggers. Life was just damn good for me and I'm particularly fond of this:

Thanks for making me look at 1995. A most pleasant time.

Glad it was a good time for you! Thanks for sharing! I will have to check this out!

@bozz, a well written article to hear this from the point of view of a musician.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Congratulations @bozz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 2000

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 5.3% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @bozz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.582 which ranks you at #5844 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 11 places in the last three days (old rank 5855).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 216 contributions, your post is ranked at #60.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 348 (12/22/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57156.19
ETH 2431.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41