Essential Oils

in #essentialoils7 years ago

One of the areas I have been playing around with lately is essential oils and coming up with different combinations to diffuse in my diffuser.

I came to essential oils in a somewhat shallow way. I enjoy "smelly" things. Particularly scented candles! However, my husband @eulersidentity often complains that my beloved scented candle give him a headache. On a mission to keep things smelling good in my home, I stumbled upon essential oils and the method of diffusing. I figured since these oils were "natural", Norman would be less likely to complain about the scent.

I use this diffuser which I bought off of amazon. It is a diffuser that works with water:

https://www.amazon.com/InnoGear-Aromatherapy-Essential-Ultrasonic-Diffusers/dp/B016WEO4MM/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1498330418&sr=8-2-spons&keywords=diffuser&psc=1

It works really well and is an affordable option for those thinking about getting into diffusing essential oils.

Initially I played around with oil combinations just because I liked the way they smelled, but along the way I started doing more research and experimentation, and found some blends that also have more holistic or healing purposes.

Here are some of my favorite combinations and what I use them for.

EssentialOilOne.jpg

Cedarwood and Lavender

Ok so this smells amazing, think woodsy with a bit of that floral lavender creeping in. However, this one has some serious power as a sedative. If you are feeling stressed, want to relax, or are looking for a good essential oil combination to diffuse before bedtime, this is a great option. I use about three drops cedarwood (it is strong) and four drops lavender.

You can read more about the benefits of cedarwood here:
https://doterra.com/US/en/blog/spotlight-cedarwood-oil

EssentialOilTwo.jpg

Lavender, Rosemary, and Lemon

As you can tell, I am really into lavender! Honestly, it smells so nice and fresh, and Norman enjoys it too, so I diffuse it a lot. I like to use this blend as a room deodorizer. It is a really refreshing and clean herbal scent and the lemon adds that nice hint of brightness as well. Rosemary is very good for the respiratory tract, so I like to think of this blend as "cleaning" the air vs. masking unsavory smells.

For this blend, I typically do 2 drops rosemary, 3 drops lavender, 3 drops lemon.

You can read more about the benefits of rosemary here: https://doterra.com/US/en/blog/spotlight-rosemary-oil

EssentialOilThree.jpg

Eucalyptus and Peppermint

Ok. During the month of Mid-May/Early-June, I gave up drinking, but that is a different story for a different day. Early June I ran a 10K and then went house hunting with my husband and mother in tow. I was incredibly stressed from the house hunting experience and decided to have a glass of wine afterwards to calm my nerves. Well, it turns out not drinking for a month, undergoing physical and emotional stress, and then downing a glass of wine in a matter of seconds is not a good idea. I wound up with a RAGING headache.

Most normal people would take Advil to alleviate the headache (which I did); however, about six months ago I bought two giant bottles of Advil on super sale thinking I was getting a good deal. Turns out, the joke was on me because the Advil was going to expire in three months, and as my engineering husband so astutely pointed out, no two humans can consume 1,000 Advil within the time span of three months. So here I am with a horrible tension headache, expired Advil, and no hope for relief...until it dawned on me...essential oils! After some quick research on the interwebs I discovered that a lot of oils can help with headaches: peppermint, lavender (see this guy is good for everything) and eucalyptus among them.

I whipped out my diffuser and dropped in four drops peppermint and three drops eucalyptus. Within thirty minutes my tension headache was gone--expired Advil be damned!

You can read more about eucalyptus here: https://www.organicfacts.net/health-benefits/essential-oils/health-benefits-of-eucalyptus-essential-oil.html

Last but not least, I leave you with an essential oil which you can certainly blend, but that I have been using on its own quite often recently.

EssentialOilFour.jpg

Bergamot

This essential oil has a citrusy and woodsy smell. It blends well with citrus essential oils like lemon and lime. I use this oil for stress relief. The more I write this post, the more I realize I sound like I am stressed out most of the time. While not exactly the case, I do become stressed or anxious fairly easily, so hey, that's why I diffuse oils right?

You can read more about bergamot here: https://doterra.com/US/en/p/bergamot-oil

I am always on the quest to find new essential oils to use! What is your favorite essential oil or essential oil blend ? How and why do you use essential oils? Share YOUR knowledge with me in the comments section below.

Sort:  

really wish there was a way to get a sandalwood-type-blend. the regular essential oil is ridiculously expensive, something like a few hundred bucks for a sixteenth of an ounce

Peppermint oil can be used for sinus infections and toothaches. I love essential oils. Lavander is one of my favorites also. A few drops in a hot epson salt bath is great for sore muscles.

I noticed you referred to doTERRA, I like their products too. Very high quality and purity. One of their blends that I love is Balance. It has a woody aroma and gives you a sense of calm. It has spruce, Ho Wood, Frankincense, Blue Tansy, and Blue Chamomile. Spruce was/is used by Native Americans for spiritual reasons and to promote harmony. I believe this blend also helps cellular health; you can see an amazing effect on a video posted on YouTube after using Balance (search Blood cell Balance Essential oil). I use it by putting it on my feet (for absorption) every day.

Congratulations @jmetz013! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58083.18
ETH 2578.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42