Sort:  

And the more we can allow each other to be who we are, be forgiving , and listen as much as we speak, perhaps forced political correctness can turn into informed, natural respect.

BINGO!

I missed the convo in discord but, for me, being PC is just covering up the issue. I get why it's supposedly important. Let's be politically correct (although I'll argue it should be called Socially Correct) so that people are not offended. Great.

But the problem, in my humble opinion, is that being PC doesn't necessarily open up the real issue. What it has done is allowed us to be somewhat civil to each other by HIDING our 'isms without really addressing them.

Say I'm homophobic (I'm not in the least, but humor me). By using a PC term instead of something derogatory am I any less homophobic? No. I've learned to socially cover up my incorrectness, but it does nothing to change how I really feel.

The key is listening. We need to start to hear what people feel and not necessarily what they say. It's not an easy skill, but I think your post pretty much says it all. Context matters. Intent matters. The words actually matter very little. It's learning to accept and understand that will make the difference.

This:

The key is listening. We need to start to hear what people feel and not necessarily what they say... Context matters. Intent matters. The words actually matter very little. It's learning to accept and understand that will make the difference.

I feel like this age of communication is helping us evolve as a global society, continually building more tolerance and understanding. Obviously, we have a long way to go, but it's happening. More people are speaking and listening than ever before. Thanks for being part of the conversation! :)

It is absolutely happening! Perhaps more slowly than I'd like but it is definitely happening!

Hallelujah! ;)

Political correctness is a cancer!

This was an awesome vignette to share, lady @katrina-ariel. <3

I can hardly keep up with the interesting dialogues that are endlessly unfolding on the several dozen servers I pop into each day. (That was a mouthful!) So many of them deserve to be extracted and kept somewhere for posterity's sake – excellent idea to weave them into the blockchain.

Also – I see what you did there. ;)

Screen Shot 2018-03-09 at 4.26.51 PM.png

I know. Discord is its own little world. So much awesome happening everywhere! And, yes... you do you. Always. :)

I like this discussion, thanks for sharing it with us. I agree that PC ness - like all manners - was created out of respect and I appreciate that. However, I also completely agree that what's behind it matters more than anything. If I am interested and curious and respectful but say something offensive without intending to, it's very different than if I mean to or just don't care enough to find out how someone else feels. And AMEN to

We all eat and sleep and shit and cry and want to feel loved ... far more in common than different.

Yes. Intention counts so much, and willingness to communicate. But the quote you picked out, @ancapbarbie has a way of cutting to the heart of things.

Thank you @katrina-ariel for sharing this dialogue you had at Discord today.

As for me I think sometimes people can go a little overboard with being too PC.

That being said what is really the big deal with all this ??

... If someone doesn't want me to take the Rainbow Flag and use it as toilet paper and wipe my butt with it guess what ?? I won't use the Rainbow flag as toilet paper and wipe my butt with it.

... If someone thinks a meme with a racoon on it talking about Antifa is racist then guess what ?? I won't post that meme of a raccoon talking about antifa.

.... If someone doesn't want me to draw a cartoon with 72 virgins and a guy with a turban raping them then guess what? I won't draw a cartoon with 72 virgins and a turbo clad guy raping them !

My point is this stuff is made way more complicated than it is. It's really NOT very hard to take a second or two and use that thing call a brain and just use your damn common sense.

Now Iam sure there are instances where people sincerely didn't realize something was offensive and a group went ape- shit on that person for not knowing that. I can see where that would be frustrating to the person who was unintentional with what they did. I totally get that and this should be rightfully addressed ,and they should be given the benefit of the doubt.

But in this day and age with the internet and social media most of us know things that probably shouldn't be thrown out there.

So what's the big deal to be a little more diligent in what comes out of our mouths or on paper or computer or whatever.

This stuff ain't rocket science, people !

Thanks for your comment, Robert. The benefit of the doubt isn't always given, and I've spoken out of confusion on Twitter and taken a backlash for it, but I learned some important things, too. Thinking first and considering the impact of one's actions is a very good idea. I know I sometimes speak without thinking, but at least online we can often use the backspace button, edit and proofread before sharing our thoughts. You do you, but do no harm (or at least try to do no harm, eh?)

If people get something out of this I hope it's one of the first things you mentioned:

But does it matter so much, what our labels are? I think what really matters is how we treat each other.

Set the tone for the whole article. Great conversation. And I love @catweasel, he always cracks me up, but is quite the intelligent one too.

Yep. That look right there. 😊 And I agree, that's the crux of the conversation. I'm glad I found these two chatting and decided to jump in. It was my first time getting to chat with @catweasel for any length of time, and I enjoyed it, for sure.

I wrote several long responses to this but without taking the time to formulate my thoughts concisely, they just came across like rants. So, thank you for the compliment.

lol! I'm pretty sure my long-ass answer here was a rant, but all good. Thanks for taking my mind off other things today. :)

Oh, I needed this post tonight. I’ve had a similar conversation today and this was the perfect thing to read as I go over it. Thanks for posting this and for your kindness and openness.

Thank you for reading, for caring, and for being you!!!

I enjoyed this post @katrina-Ariel and everyone’s openness on the PC subject. Many people are confused by this PC and what is the correct way to address certain people or nations without getting into hot water.
it seems the world has lost it’s sense of humor.

I think a sense of humor is important, as is a willingness to learn, and to ask when we don't know. Also, to not take offense if someone is asking, and sincerely wants to learn. Thanks for coming by! :)

I like this discussion, thanks for sharing it with us. I agree that PC ness - like all manners - was created out of respect and I appreciate that. However, I also completely agree that what's behind it matters more than anything. If I am interested and curious and respectful but say something offensive without intending to, it's very different than if I mean to or just don't care enough to find out how someone else feels. And AMEN to

We all eat and sleep and shit and cry and want to feel loved ... far more in common than different.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56965.36
ETH 2498.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34