How do I get my EOS back: Bought it on Kraken, mistakenly sent it to ICO contract address.

in #eos7 years ago (edited)

A few weeks ago I bought some EOS tokens on the Kraken exchange. I had them safely stored in my Trezor.

Then a few days ago I read on steemit about the need to "register" my tokens so that I don't lose them when the EOS blockchain is created.

But in reading tutorials about registering, I was following advice as if I'd bought my tokens on the ICO, and I mistakenly sent my Kraken-bought EOS tokens to the eos.io ICO contract address.

(At the time, I was under the impression that this was what had to be done no matter where I got the tokens. No one said, "Don't do this if you got your tokens on an exchange.")

I believe that all I really had to do -- with tokens bought from an exchange -- is map my wallet address to a public EOS address, and I've done that. But I think this mapping to my wallet will be meaningless unless I get my tokens back into that wallet.

In the etherscan page below, the four most recent "EOSCrowdsale" transactions are me trying to reclaim my tokens using "create custom token" etc., in MyEtherWallet (and wasting ETH gas in the process).

The transaction previous to those four is the one in which I sent away my EOS tokens to the ICO contract address. (The one before that is the one where I bought the tokens on Kraken.)

https://etherscan.io/address/0x5dc50d3dd3003ac94fd2042e749d040fb4c9c2a2

You can see the same transaction in ethplorer:

https://ethplorer.io/address/0x5dc50d3dd3003ac94fd2042e749d040fb4c9c2a2

My question is: How can I reclaim my tokens from the contract address I sent them to, and get them back into my own wallet?

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

We have all been waiting for you, we are glad you could make it.
I have given you a upvote to help you out!

Hope you love Steemit as much as we do.

Give these a read:

Chat with us:

If this post was helpful, please leave an upvote. It helps me to keep helping new users.

I'm sunnybooster, a booster for accounts not posts. Send me 0.5 STEEM or SBD to get a week of upvotes! If you don't yet know what this is its fine.

I am a bot and this was automated. I exist to help out new members and attempt to get them hooked

Did you ever figure out how to retrieve your EOS tokens sent to the contract address? I did the same thing last week and have not been able to get support from EOS on the matter.

Congratulations @watchp0cket! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Did you ever manage to get your tokens back?

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @watchp0cket! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33