EOS Programming tools we *must* build to attract a broader range of developers

in #eos6 years ago (edited)

I've been very excited about EOS since my friend @yuhjtman first introduced me to this technology. I've also installed their platform in my system and started doing some research. I am a professional developer with ~15 years of experience. I've worked mostly on the mobile world (iOS/Palm/etc) though I've worked on several other platforms too (Gaming, Web, C++, etc).

After installing the EOS platform, there are many things as a developer I would love to see, and would make me try to jump inside the ecosystem. I don't mean diminish the work the guys at eos.io are doing, I know it's a lot, but to build a successful ecosystem that thrills the developer community and thrives in the long run, many things will have to be developed on top of the work it's already been done. I am sure that many people in the community are also thinking on this and we might see many projects in the near future that start to address this much needed tools

Installer

I would expect to have an intelligent installer for the platform. A software tool that allowed me to choose which packages I want to install and selects them automatically. I would love this to have some kind of "wizard" where I can choose whatever I want (or don't) to install in my system. This should also alert me if some of the components are incompatible and warnme to about interdependences. It should also allow me to configure in a very basic way my TestNet, so that it gets to run out-of-the-box more or less.

Debugger

I would love to being able to debug my C++ contract with a specific EOS debugger. I should also allow me to walk the program through, inspect it's variables. Generate brakepoints, conditional breakpoints and maybe even being able to run small scripts that help me debug my program (conditionally brake or even perform some conditional login). We should have some special class to help us track the memory leaks in C++

TestNet Explorer

I would love a tool that allowed me to explore the blockchain my own testnet is generating. I'd love being able to filter the blocks I want to see, or maybe just the blocks in which the Dapps/Contracts I am building interact. This tool should also allow me to manage my accounts and my wallets, check the transactions done on them and even modify those transactions for debugging purposes.

EOS.IDE

I would love to have a platform that integrates de eosiocpp compiler, the debugger and also the testnet explorer. With one single F5 to compile and debug mi program on the fly. Once a program runs I'd like to have it running in my TestNet Explorer, I would be able to walk my code through to check for bugs. Something that would be very cool is a tool that integrates eos.stackexchange and inside the IDE suggest solutions to the compiler error/warnings, even some answers could have scripts that update my code on the fly.

I know the EOS team is doing a great effort. They've just recently released their first production version of their code. I know it's a lot of work, but to make profesional developers hump into a new ecosystem many of this things should be addressed and I am sure they will in time. I know that some of this ideas might be far fetched at this point, but to build the ecosystem we all want it to be we have to dream big.

Sort:  

Hallo brather, what will happen to crypto?

you received an up vote from danlupi with voting power of 9.36%. Estimated dollar amount of $0.37

@fachrul21 My guess is this won't stop growing in the longterm for sure. There are many applications for Dapps that will benefit enourmously with this technologies, that is for sure. The future seems bright!

Great post. As a beginner to C++ it is interesting to see what tools you believe will attract more serious talent.

Congratulations @timotteo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58091.16
ETH 2357.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44