EOS developers innovating even further off the successful ICO airdrop model

in #eos6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-10-05 at 8.50.30 am.png

EOS has done it again. On top of its successful model for ICOs - ie release on EOS, and airdrop to the EOS community to build the foundation of your own engaged community while keeping a number of the tokens for sale later (and thereby receiving development funding) - clever developers have come up with an innovative twist on this approach which works particularly well in the gambling area.

I hate gambling (yes I know all of crypto is a bit of a gamble). But I love the community building model of this EOS-based gambling DApp https://www.myeosvegas.com/

What it's doing is a clever variation on the ICO model briefly outlined above. The My EOS Vegas team too have kept aside tokens which they have called MEV (myeosvegas). The community earn these tokens by playing. But here's the kicker: At the end of each month, the site distributes all EOS profits to the community by proportion of how many MEV tokens held.

But here's a warning too: there's a built in incentive to gamble. Yes, you are in effect turning the EOS you gamble into MEV (at a pretty good rate in these early days), but while this is happening you are also potentially developing a gambling habit - which can soon turn to addiction if you're not careful.

The golden maxim in crypto (never invest more than you can afford to lose) has never been more appropriately applied than in this instance.

play-3116751__480.jpg.png

Still, as an innovative business model, it's pretty cool and I expect the model to be picked up by other developers.

EDIT: if you want to set up an EOS account I have described the process below in my response to the fabulous @cardboard - Please let me know if you require assistance as I'm happy to help!


May all beings be happy.

Screenshot of My EOS Vegas website: https://www.myeosvegas.com/
Photo supplied by pixabay.com

drwom-01.png

DQmampd9mQbBZuWMnd1uSm37WSjquEWDcwKGZjz15dpivgQ.png

@drwom footer by the awesome @ryivhnn !!

Register for Universal Basic Income here: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=3ac18f2d78

Screen Shot 2018-03-12 at 12.45.33 pm.png

Sort:  

This post is supported by $2.76 @tipU upvote funded by @cardboard :)
@tipU voting service guide | STEEM Monsters Lottery | For investors.

At the end of each month, the site distributes all EOS profits to the community by proportion of how many MEV tokens held

Ohh, I like that. Is it done automatically? If I don't know anything about EOS but I would like to buy those tokens - where should I start?

Also @tipu upvote this post with 2 sbd :)

@cardboard I should mention too that I'm not sure if you can buy the tokens - you only get them by playing as far as I'm aware. I got 100 MEV just for setting up, too. I think they won't be so generous when it ramps up and becomes more popular.

And yes - I believe it's on the blockchain so it's all done automatically at the beginning of each month.

Thanks Cardboard! @cardboard

You need an EOS account to start. You can create one pretty easily here: https://contracts.mywish.io/create/eosWallet?network=10 You can use any name you want (12 letters or numbers between 0-5) - my EOS address is eosbattlewom 😁It's still early days so you should be able to find one you like!

Once you have your address sorted, you then need a desktop wallet. Pretty much everyone uses Scatter: https://get-scatter.com/docs/select-type

Basically, once you've set up Scatter you can interact with all the DApps on the EOS blockchain without having to give your private keys over (Scatter acts as an intermediary). It's pretty complicated at first, but super easy and cool when you get the hang of it.

Here's a guide to setting up Scatter: https://steemit.com/eos/@eosnation/eos-nation-utility-guide-how-to-use-scatter - set up the desktop version as the Chrome extension isn't supported anymore.

There is a Telegram for Scatter where you can ask for assistance https://t.me/Scatter

So once you've got Scatter, you go to MyEosVegas and log in through Scatter and away you go 🙃 (a pop-up box will appear from Scatter asking permission for MyEOSVegas to access Scatter).

It's a bit clunky at the moment, but things are literally improving everyday on EOS (the $4B warchest is attracting a lot of awesome developers to the chain) - plus more airdrops for account holders etc.

Let me know if you need anymore info! Good luck!

That’s a badass business model. The MEV token will have a lot of value if the profit being distributed is worthwhile!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah - I think so 👍

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62302.26
ETH 2994.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96