Registering your EOS tokens with a Ledger Nano S

in #eos6 years ago (edited)

No matter which guides I followed, I could not get my EOS tokens registered, nor was I able to transfer them out of MEW. If you're experiencing the same issue (particularly if you see the error "Invalid status 6a80"), here's how to fix it:

  1. Connect your Ledger wallet and open the Ethereum application.
  2. Press the right button on your Ledger to scroll to Settings.
  3. Press both buttons on your Ledger to open the Settings menu.
  4. Press both buttons on your Ledger to open the Contract Data menu.
  5. Press the right button on your Ledger to scroll to Yes.
  6. Press both buttons on your Ledger to select/confirm Yes.
  7. Press the right button on your Ledger to scroll down to ↩ Back.
  8. Press both buttons on your Ledger to select/confirm ↩ Back.
    1. Repeat steps 7-8 until your reach the "main" application menu.
    2. If you are done using your Ledger, press both buttons to select ▫ Quit app.

Despite @sandwich's many helpful guides on the subject, I found myself incredibly frustrated this afternoon as I tried to alternately register my EOS tokens using the Ethereum wallet they were already stored in, or transfer the same EOS tokens out of that Ethereum wallet and into an EXODUS wallet that made the EOS registration process literally click-a-button simple. Unfortunately, both were resulting in an error with MyEtherWallet that made no sense to me ... until I finally looked it up and found a simple solution directly from Ledger.

Of course, if I'd bothered to do a little more research before and not ignore any video-based guides (since I personally just don't like following video-based "how tos"/"tutorials" -- maybe I've just had bad luck with them in the past, but since I've seldom found them helpful for me, I'll opt for a written article every time, thanks 😉) I'd have looked more closely at @crypt0's post.

So, while I realize this isn't necessarily new information, I'm hoping this post will help people like me, who look for simple, text-based, step-by-step guides when trying to learn something new, as I was quite frustrated for a few hours this afternoon until I found the page on Ledger's site. 😁

After registering your EOS tokens, you can verify that everything went smoothly by checking eosauthority.com.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43