My First Post: Who am I, How I Grew Up on 3 Different Continents By Age 13.

in #entrepreneur7 years ago (edited)

10294338_305167453000602_5664337573390033713_n.jpg
Hi there! My name is The Globopreneur and this is my first post. Whenever I meet someone new I tell them my past experiences, the things that formed me into the man I am today. I don't want to ramble too much so I will keep this as short as possible. I was born in Nigeria, circa May 1988 to some pentecostal missionary parents. At age 6 we moved to the United Kingdom so my father could continue his ministry and because he said God told him to go to the UK. His encounter with the heavens was confirmed when we somehow won the green card lottery to become Americans Yay, it was a yay back then haha although America isn't doing so amazing right now. So off we went to a new country a new accent and a new school, everything was foreign, I don't remember much, it must have been a scarring time, I remember I hung out with all the other immigrant children, one of the boys was Jamaican. So much stress during that time I think I suppressed a lot. I remember one thing, I used to pick up my baby brother from the Jamaican grandma next to my school who was our minder (babysitter for you non British English speakers). Then I'd hold his hand and we'd walk home. At home, we would wait for hours till our parents returned from work often watching the sun set in our panoramic window view with no curtains. Society is not kind to the immigrant and my parents worked HARD to keep us fed. So lets just fast forward to America, 5 years later..Age 13 my father tells the family he is called to the United States to pastor a church there. What was I going to say to him, "Dad just ignore what God told you I made new friends." So off we went to the United States of America. Only now I was a teenager, growing pubes, having emotional feelings and some healthy doses of "BO" BAD ODOR. The only memory I have of this time is my one and only fight with the school bully, "Ricky" wouldn't stop bothering me. Here's exactly what happened: I told Ricky to leave me alone after keeping quite for so long, big mistake. I'll see you outside ma N****". " verbatim, again you can't make this up. I knew I was in trouble, I think my heart was at 200 beats per minute the rest of the school day, the most fear I've every had course through my body. So the bell rings after the last class and it's time to walk home. My heart is racing. I walk out the main school entrance, look left look right, look through the row of school buses that lay ahead. I think I tried to use them as cover but I don't remember. My house was actually only 2 blocks away from the school. I should make it right? As I stepped on the sideway outside the school gate, Ricky emerged from the corner of my right eye. "Fight me N****..." I froze in fear but with some underlying rage (adrenaline). You see this is where the story gets good (you can't make this up) I had been reading some Karate book and practicing in the living room when my parents weren't home. Guess what happened, as Ricky walked in front of me to prevent my straight path home he took the first swing. What followed was something remarkable, I blocked his punch with my forearm, grabbed his shoulders with both hands (Ricky was shorter) and threw a knee to his mid section. He fell immediately and I walked away hurriedly due I think in fear and mostly embarrassment for hurting another human being. This next part I could have left out, I could have described my most triumphant moment and pretended that's how it ended but what occurred next must be shared. As I crossed the road almost starting to breathe a breath of relief a voice shouts out to me, an older boy, very muscular, he looked like a high school kid that got held back and played (American) football for the middle school, I don't even remember his face. All I remember is him telling me "finish him N****," he wanted me to go back and hurt Ricky further. I said no, I wasn't going to go back and further harm the kid who was already on the floor. Before I could say a third No, I was punched in the face and lay there crying, again more in embarrassment and fear that in pain although my face did swell slightly. I think its one of the only times I've ever cried. I eventually picked my tired and hyperventilating body off the ground to go to the home phone and call one of my mothers friends because she was the only one I could reach.

This nakedness I've shared with you is something that won't ever occur again and as you'll see from my upcoming discussions I am not that little boy anymore. This platform I think will be used to share my triumphs and my encouragement to you all, to the entrepreneur community, to the people who need to be told they are loved and they are worth something. There was a point in my life I felt like nothing and I don't ever want to see anyone go thru that. Maybe I said too much. I've had people tell me i'm too open, I share too much of my life but this is how I've always been. In my upcoming posts I will tell you of my developing teenage years to early 20's growing up in Ohio and how I somehow made it to sunny California, how I am building a networking group consisting of the literally the top business men and women in the world and what my vision is for the rest of my life and what impact I want to make. Come on this journey with me.
(
Omnia Vincit Amor
#TheGlobopreneur

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @theglobopreneur I have sent you a tip

Cheers!

Very interesting story and I feel I can totally relate with what you've shared. I think that being open about such subjects will be a good opportunity on a platform like this. This is a good chance to share and have your voice be heard (in terms of the unshared stories I mean). Props to you for sharing. You've just inspired me to share my own :))

Amazing Sara! So happy to hear this, thanks for the kind words :)

Welcome to Steemit @ theglobopreneur!

You'll find this place a bit more friendly than those school bullies. Especially because you are being emotionally available -- that's the right way to do it :)

You were a cute little baby! lol
@shayne

Haha thanks so much Shayne, yes I'm so excited to join this community.

Hello and welcome to Steemit ^_^
tips for newcomers are here:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@alphacore/welcome-to-steemit-this-may-help-you

Glad to have you, STEEM ON!

Will check it out thanks so much for your comment! :)

Welcome to Steemit @theglobopreneur :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


See what this is all about and support the bot: SteemGreet the second - submit your links!

Thanks bot, you da best lol

What an incredible story! I'm glad we connected and happy you shared this here on Steemit. I welcome you to the community and can't wait to read further blogposts from you :)

I'm excited. So ready to learn. I finally found something that intrigues me again. Just when I thought I'd learned all the new things.

This was a great introduction and having such a hard time when you were little made you the man you are today! I wish you all the best and huge success !
Welcome to Steemit !

Welcome to steemit community.
I’m @jyoungking2 Start by following people and they will do the same.
Good Luck

I've Upvoted for sure. happy to meet you in this big family.
looking forward to your next post.
You can follow my food blog to know more about me @fatkid

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67